USCS: National points update 2005-04-25

GRAY AND ADAMS STAY CLOSE IN O'REILLY USCS NATIONAL CHAMPIONSHIP BATTLE FAYETTEVILLE, GA - Defending and four-time United Sprint Car Series National Champion Terry Gray of Bartlett, TN and 2000 O'Reilly USCS National Champion...


FAYETTEVILLE, GA - Defending and four-time United Sprint Car Series National Champion Terry Gray of Bartlett, TN and 2000 O'Reilly USCS National Champion Kenny Adams of Malabar, FL stayed close in the 2005 series National Championship point battle. Gray leads Adams by four points going into this Saturday night's event at Senoia Speedway in Senoia, GA.

Gray and Adams finished first and second respectively in the O'Reilly USCS event last Saturday night at Oglethorpe Speedway Park in Savannah, GA. The leading O'Reilly USCS National points pair put some ground between themselves and the third-place driver, Danny Martin Jr. of Sarasota, FL.

Martin had a disastrous night at OSP, as engine failure kept him out of the 30-lap feature race. Martin now trails Adams by 70 points going into the Senoia Speedway races, as the O'Reilly USCS makes the switch from dirt to pavement this Saturday night. The O'Reilly USCS is the only winged outlaw sprint car series in the country to compete on both surfaces for national points.

Several drivers in the top 15 of the O'Reilly USCS National point standings will welcome the change of surfaces for Asphalt Thunder Tour action at Senoia Speedway this Saturday night. The first five series events were held on asphalt tracks, and the last three events have been on dirt tracks.

Matt Tiffany of Daytona Beach, FL moved up to the fourth spot in the O'Reilly USCS National points chase, and the 16-year-old drivers is also the series' top Rookie of the Year Candidate. Tiffany, who has showed better results on the pavement, is 83 points behind Martin.

Along with Tiffany and the 19-year-old Martin, there are four other drivers under the age of 25 in the top ten of the O'Reilly USCS National point standings. These drivers are known as the SpeedMart Young Guns.

Just four points behind Tiffany in National points is the 2004 O'Reilly USCS Rookie of the Year 18-year-old R.J. Johnson of Decatur, TN. The sixth spot belongs to another 2005 Rookie of the Year candidate, 18-year-old Bryn Gohn of Malabar, FL.

Another driver that has shown better results on the O'Reilly USCS Asphalt Thunder Tour is 18-year-old Ryan Myers of Eldorado, OH, who is seventh in the National points, 44 points behind Gohn. Myers has put together a string of four-straight top three finishes in series pavement races, and he is second in the Asphalt Thunder Tour point standings.

Brice Wrenn of Lexington, SC holds down the eighth spot in the O'Reilly USCS National point standings, 32 points behind Myers. Another SpeedMart Young Gun and Rookie of the Year contender, 17-year-old Stephen Darvalics of Venice, FL is ninth, 50 points behind Wrenn.

Wayne Reutimann Jr. of Zephyrhills, FL made his first O'Reilly USCS Outlaw Thunder Tour dirt start at OSP on Saturday night, to stay in the top ten of the series National points, just two points behind Darvalics. Reutimann had his troubles on the dirt at OSP, having a wing collapse in his heat race, and then having his car turn over on its side during the 30-lap feature race.

The switch to pavement this Saturday night at Senoia Speedway could be just what Reutimann is looking for. The third-generation driver is the O'Reilly Asphalt Thunder Tour point leader with two wins, four top five finishes, and he has top ten finishes in all five Asphalt Thunder races this season with one fast time honor.

All five drivers in the 11th through 15th spots of the O'Reilly USCS National point standings have run both dirt and asphalt this season. Four of them have had better results on the pavement, and will be looking to move up the points list this Saturday night in Senoia, GA.

Brian Thomas of Auburn, GA is 11th in O'Reilly USCS National points, and has three top ten finishes on the pavement. Thomas is 58 points behind Reutimann Jr. and sandwiched in between a family affair. Wayne Reutimann Sr. is 12th in National points with two top five and three top ten efforts in five Asphalt Thunder starts.

J.J. Dutton of Tampa, FL made his first-ever dirt start with the O'Reilly USCS last Saturday night at OSP, but he is more at home on the asphalt tracks. Dutton is in the 13th spot in National points, just eight points behind Reutimann Sr., and has two top ten finishes on the pavement.

Tom Winegardner Jr. of Pierson, FL moved into the top 15 of the O'Reilly USCS National point standings with his first top ten finish of the season last Saturday night on the dirt at OSP. The 20-year-old SpeedMart Young Gun is 14th in National points, 18 points behind Dutton. Dutton's car owner and teammate Skeeter Faulconer of Lutz, FL rounds out the top 15, 42 points behind Winegardner.

In the O'Reilly USCS statistical categories, Martin leads in two standings. Martin leads Adams by three points in the Huggins Cams Hard Charger points. Drivers earn points for each position they improve from the start of a race to the end of a race. Martin also leads the SpeedMart Young Gun points over Tiffany, Johnson, Gohn, and Myers.

Tiffany leads the O'Reilly USCS Rookie of the Year point standings over Gohn, Darvalics, Kevin Swindell of Bartlett, TN, and Bruce Cline of Apex, NC. Gray tops the series' Laps Completed list having completed 254 of a possible 255 laps.

Swindell has led the most laps with 60, followed by Reutimann Jr. with 48, Adams with 44, while Myers and Gray are tied for fifth at 26. Swindell also has two K&N Filters Pole Awards, and three fast time awards.

Adams leads the Air Flow Research Power Dash point standings followed by Gray, Martin, Myers, and Reutimann. The O'Reilly USCS runs a six-lap AFR Power Dash at each event for the top six finishers from the previous main event. The top ten in AFR Power Dash points will be eligible for the $5,000-to-win AFR Super Dash at Florida's Volusia Speedway Park in October.

Bobby Courtwright of Evans, GA leads the Koolbeans Trophy Dash points. The Koolbeans Trophy Dash was inaugurated last Saturday night at OSP. A Championship Koolbeans Trophy Dash will be run in on October 1 at I-20 Speedway in Batesburg, SC.

For more information about the O'Reilly USCS visit the series web site at


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Kevin Swindell , Wayne Reutimann , Kenny Adams , Bryn Gohn , R.J. Johnson , Brian Thomas
Teams DAMS