USCS Garnertown preview

USCS Returns to Familiar Ground at Garnertown Speedway in Luray, TN this Saturday Night FAYETTEVILLE, GA - The United Sprint Car Series will return to Garnertown Speedway in Luray, TN this Saturday night for the first time in two years. Moss...

USCS Returns to Familiar Ground at Garnertown Speedway in Luray, TN this Saturday Night

FAYETTEVILLE, GA - The United Sprint Car Series will return to Garnertown Speedway in Luray, TN this Saturday night for the first time in two years. Moss Miller has reopened the 4/10-mile high-banked clay oval, refurbished facility located southeast of Jackson, TN, and given the USCS winged outlaw sprint cars an opportunity to return to an old standard.

For the defending and three-time USCS National Champion Terry Gray of Bartlett, TN, it will be an opportunity for him to continue a hot streak that has put him once again on top of the USCS National points chase. Gray also leads the USCS Outlaw Thunder Dirt Tour, Asphalt Thunder, and Sunbelt Tour point standings.

Gray will be looking to begin a streak of victories close to home. The Saturday night race will begin a four-race, eight-tour that travels to Clarksville Speedway in Clarksville, TN on Sunday night, then travels to North Alabama Speedway in Tuscumbia, AL on June 4, and winds up at Columbus Speedway in Columbus, MS on June 5.

Mike Ward of Memphis, TN won the last two USCS events held at Garnertown Speedway in 2001. Gray won the last event for USCS at Lancaster Motor Speedway in Lancaster, SC on May 15. Gray has three USCS wins this season, two on dirt, and one on asphalt. USCS is the only winged outlaw sprint car series in the country that run on both dirt and pavement.

Pound-for-pound, the USCS winged outlaw sprint cars are the most powerful short track racing cars in the world, and will be turning the fastest speeds ever recorded at Garnertown Speedway this Saturday night. The cars weigh 1,300 pounds and are powered by 700 horsepower, fuel-injected, methanol-burning V-8 engines.

In addition to his success this season, Gray has ten total national championship and over 350 career wins on his resume. The National Sprint Car Hall of Fame pollsters voted "The Bartlett Bullet" their 2000 Driver of the Year.

Joining Gray as the USCS "Top Guns" will be Kenny Adams of Malabar, FL. Adams has five USCS wins this season, three on asphalt and two on dirt. The "Malabar Missile" is the nation's winningest sprint car driver over the past four and a half season of competition with 95 victories. Adams was also the runner-up for the National Sprint Car Hall of Fame Driver of the Year in 2001.

The Florida "Fountain of Youth Gang" will ride into Clarksville Speedway led by 18-year-old Danny "The Hammer" Martin Jr. of Sarasota, FL. He'll be joined by 16-year-old R.J. Johnson of Wesley Chapel, FL, and 19-year-old Tom Winegardner Jr. of Pierson, FL.

Martin is currently third in USCS National points, and in the second spot, only 34 points behind Gray, in the USCS Outlaw Thunder points. Martin, who will graduate from high school on Saturday night, is fresh off his best finish of the season, a second-place on May 15 in Lancaster, SC.

Johnson, a second-generation driver, is the leading USCS Rookie of the Year candidate in 2004. Johnson is fourth in USCS National points and fifth in the USCS Outlaw Thunder Dirt points. Winegardner is eighth in National points, and sixth in Outlaw Thunder Dirt points.

There should also be some Sunshine State veterans making the trip to Garnertown Speedway, including the 1997 USCS National Champion Red Stauffer of Winter Park, FL, Jerry Jones of Clermont, FL, and Daryl Smith of Riverview, FL.

Brice Wrenn of Lexington, SC is the leader of the "Carolina Cruisers." Wrenn is third in the USCS Outlaw Thunder points, and fifth in the National points. Other top ten USCS Carolina Cruiser drivers include Bill Moore of Denver, NC, Chad Allum of Kannapolis, NC, and Butch Pendergrass of Winston-Salem, NC.

Also look for Johnny Bridges of Cherryville, NC. Bridges won the 2003 American Outlaw Action Series championship. USCS co-owners Pete Walton and NASCAR Legend Ernie Irvan purchased the AOAS in January of this year.

The Georgia "Peach State Gang" will be led by the 2003 USCS National Championship Runner-Up Jim Raptis of Marietta, GA. Also look for "Flyin' Brain" Thomas of Auburn, GA, Jeremy Scott of Franklin, GA, Aubrey Black of Lookout Mountain, GA, and Randy Helton of Palmetto, GA.

Joining Gray is the quest for defending the "home turf" will be a strong contingent of other West Tennessee drivers.

Those drivers include 2001 USCS Outlaw Thunder Dirt Tour Champion Marshall Skinner of West Memphis, AR. Skinner will be joined by a pair of young guns, 16 year old Ricky Stenhouse, Jr., who voted the 2003 National Top Rookie driver by the National Sprint Car Hall of Fame pollsters, and 19 year old Scott Bolden of West Memphis, AK.

Other top entries expected this Saturday night at Garnertown Speedway include Darren Stewart of Bixby, OK, Mike McElya of Bartlett, TN, Kenny Coke of Olive Branch, MS, Ronny Howard of Southaven, MS, Skip Andrews of Huntsville, AL, Ray Bugg of Iuka, MS, and Shane Nelson of Chattanooga, TN.

The USCS winged outlaw sprint cars will compete in the six-lap Air Flow Research Power Dash, heat races, a consolation race, and a 30-lap main event.

Garnertown Speedway is located approximately halfway between Jackson, TN and Lexington, TN on State Road 200. For additional information call Garnertown Speedway at (731) 217-9797, or visit the track web site at

For additional USCS "Outlaw Thunder" information call (770) 313-3477, (404) 886-5913, or visit the USCS web site at


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Ernie Irvan , Darren Stewart , Kenny Adams , R.J. Johnson