USCS: East Bay results 2004-11-05

Martin Takes O'Reilly USCS East Bay Win TAMPA, FL - Danny "The Hammer" Martin Jr. of Sarasota, FL held off a hard charging Sport Allen of Pinellas Park, FL to win the opening race of the O'Reilly United Sprint Car Series "Fall...

Martin Takes O'Reilly USCS East Bay Win

TAMPA, FL - Danny "The Hammer" Martin Jr. of Sarasota, FL held off a hard charging Sport Allen of Pinellas Park, FL to win the opening race of the O'Reilly United Sprint Car Series "Fall Brawl" at East Bay Raceway Park. Martin led all 25 laps in the Martin Structures, Inc. Schnee/ZRE to post his fifth O'Reilly USCS win of the season. Martin also won the Air Flow Research six-lap Power Dash.

Allen came from the tenth starting spot to finish second in the American Drilling Eagle/ZRE. Allen was the Huggins Race Cams Hard Charger of the Race. Greg Wilson of Benton Ridge, OH took the third position in the Kaser Motorsports Maxim/Hampshire.

The 2004 and four-time O'Reilly USCS National Champion Terry Gray of Bartlett, TN was fourth in the Goodson Farms/Wendy's Maxim/Wesmar. Kenny Adams of Malabar, FL drove his Goodson Farms Shaw/Ott to a fifth-place finish after lap two spin in turn two sent him to the rear of the field.

Adams was the C&B Mushrooms Fast Qualifier among the 26 entrants with a lap around the 1/3-mile clay oval in 13.846 seconds for an average speed of 86.668 miles per hour.

Another driver with early race problems was Johnny Gilbertson of Tampa, FL, who finished sixth in the JHT Performance Graphics Maxim/Gaerte. Gilbertson was scheduled to start on the outside of the front row, but stopped on the track during the line-up laps after being pushed off. He had to start from the back of the pack in the 22nd starting spot.

Paulie Milum of Bradenton, FL finished seventh in the American Drilling Eagle/ZRE, and he also won the Koolbeans Trophies first ten-lap heat race. Daryl Smith of Riverview, FL took the eighth spot on the Buddy's Home Furnishings Beaberbuilt/Gaerte. Stephen Darvalics of Venice, FL was ninth in the CineMoves Clincher/Gaerte, and Ryan Myers of Eaton, OH rounded out the top ten in the Garrett Farms Stealth/Garrett.

Adams brought the field down for the green flag from the pole position, but spun the tires and Martin took the lead after he moved up to the outside front row after Gilbertson went to the rear of the field before the start. Martin led Gray, Adams, second heat race winner Greg Leonard of Tampa, FL, and Milum on the first lap.

Coming off turn two on lap two, Adams spun to bring out the first of two caution flags. On the restart, Martin held the lead, but Leonard powered by Gray to take the second spot. Wilson passed Milum for fourth on lap three. Allen moved up to the top five on lap six, passing his teammate Milum for fifth.

Martin has his car handling well, as he was able to thread the needle through lapped traffic early in the race while Leonard, Gray, Wilson, and Allen tried to keep pace. On lap 13, Leonard banged the first turn wall with his Snap On Tools/WRP J&J/Hampshire, and collected three other cars in the process to bring out the caution flag.

Leonard was done for the night and earned the Weld Racing Hard Luck Award for the evening. Martin led the field down for the restart followed by Gray, Wilson, Allen, and Adams, who had wasted no time racing through the pack, and back into the top five.

Allen was on the move during the second half of the race, as he passed Wilson for the third spot on lap 15, and then picked off Gray for second on lap 17. Allen closed in on Martin, who by now was running a consistent line at the top of the track on the cushion. In the final six laps of the race, Allen waited for Martin to make a mistake, but it never came.

Driver earned points throughout the evening in time trials, heat races, and the feature race. The top six in points after Friday night's action were Martin, Adams, Gray, Gilbertson, Wilson, and Milum. They will be locked into the first six starting spots for Saturday night's O'Reilly USCS feature race at East Bay Raceway Park.

Those six drivers will determine their starting spots in the O'Reilly USCS season finale at East Bay Raceway Park on Saturday night through the six-lap Air Flow Research Power Dash.

R.J. Johnson of Decatur, TN took a provisional to make the race, but only made five laps in his Leaf Race Wear/Pin Rings J&J/ZRE, and finished 22nd. It was good enough for the 2004 O'Reilly Rookie of the Year to earn the Rookie of the Race honors. Tom Winegardner Jr. of Pierson, FL won the third heat race in the Snap On Tools J&J/WRP, and Danny Curry of Tampa, FL won the 12-lap Consolation Race driving the Reeves Import Motorcars Schnee/Suncoast.


POS  STRT CAR#  DRIVER                  LAPS
1.   4     00   Danny Martin Jr.        25
2.   10   42x   Sport Allen             25
3.   5     98   Greg Wilson             25
4.   3     10   Terry Gray              25
5.   1     4a   Kenny Adams             25
6.   2     21   Johnny Gilbertson       25
7.   7     42   Paulie Milum            25
8.   14     3   Daryl Smith             25
9.   11    32   Stephen Darvalics       24
10.  15    56   Ryan Myers              24
11.  6      2   Red Stauffer            23
12.  18    2d   Doug Day                23
13   19    4b   Bryn Gohn               23
14.  9   11jr   Tom Winegardner Jr.     23
15.  17    1w   Brice Wrenn             21
16.  8     11   Greg Leonard            13
17.  12    82   Brian Maddox            13
18.  13    77   Danny Curry             12
19.  16    20   Frank Carlsson Jr.      12
20.  20    19   Jerry Jones              9
21.  21     5   Dave Thorman             8
22.  22     71  R.J. Johnson (R)         5


C&B MUSHROOMS FAST QUALIFIER: Adams (13.846 Seconds, 86.668 Miles per Hour) HUGGINS RACE CAMS HARD CHARGER: Allen (started 10th and finished 8th) FSR PERFORMANCE AWARD: Wrenn WELD RACING HARD LUCK AWARD: Leonard ROOKIE OF THE RACE: Johnson

USCS NATIONAL POINT STANDINGS THROUGH 11/5/04: 1. Terry Gray 5054 2. Danny Martin Jr. 4734 3. Kenny Adams 4598 4. R.J. Johnson (R) 4252 5. Brice Wrenn 3394 6. Tom Winegardner Jr. 3010 7. Chad Allum 2934 8. Red Stauffer 2224 9. Bryn Gohn 1842 10. Dave Thorman 1826 11. Jim Raptis 1754 12. Butch Pendergrass 1742 13. Doug Gold 1648 14. Bruce Cline 1582 15. Randy Helton 1562 16. Bronzie Lawson 1504 17. Brian Thomas 1388 18. Will Ragsdale 1380 19. Doug Day 1302 20. Jeremy Scott 1206

R - Denotes Rookie of the Year Candidate


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Kenny Adams , Bryn Gohn , Greg Wil , Doug Day , R.J. Johnson , Brian Thomas