USCS: Batesburg results 2005-07-09

ADAMS GETS O'REILLY USCS WIN NUMBER EIGHT AT I-20 BATESBURG, SC - Kenny Adams of Malabar, FL picked up his eighth O'Reilly United Sprint Car Series win of the season Saturday night at I-20 Speedway. Adams took the lead from...


BATESBURG, SC - Kenny Adams of Malabar, FL picked up his eighth O'Reilly United Sprint Car Series win of the season Saturday night at I-20 Speedway. Adams took the lead from his outside front row starting position coming off the second turn on the first lap, and then led all 30 laps of the feature race driving the Milk Movers, Inc./Goodson Farms Shaw/Ott.

The K&N Filters Pole Award winner Johnny Bridges of Cherryville, NC settled into the second spot, but could not mount a challenge for the lead with his Bridges Motorsports J&J/Bridges Ford, even with four caution flags and one red flag that bunched up the field. Bridges ended up in second at the checkered flag, a full straightaway behind Adams.

Behind the top two cars, there was a good battle for the third spot among several drivers on the fast and tacky ½-mile clay oval.

The defending and four-time O'Reilly USCS National Champion Terry Gray of Bartlett, TN ended up with the third spot driving the C&B Mushrooms/Wendy's Maxim/Wesmar. Steven Graham of Sydney, Australia finished fourth in the Richard Petty Driving Experience Maxim/Graham, despite stalling on lap 21, and having to come from the back of the pack.

Brice Wrenn of Lexington, SC was fifth at his home track in the Stainless Fabricators Maxim/Gaerte, and Bryn Gohn of Malabar, FL finished sixth in the Milk Movers, Inc./Goodson Farms Shaw/Ott. The 19-year-old Gohn was the SpeedMart Young Gun of the Race for drivers under the age of 25, and the Robison Racing Products Rookie of the Race.

R.J. Johnson of Decatur, TN started his Tinsley Engineering/TCF J&J/ZRE 14th and finished seventh to earn the Huggins Cams Hard Charger Award. Bruce Cline of Apex, NC rode in the fifth spot for most of the race, but his 31-W Insulation Stealth/Engler dropped a cylinder late in the race, and he had to settle for the eighth spot.

Another driver that came back from a mid-race spin to post a top ten finish was 16-year-old Matt Tiffany of Daytona Beach, FL.

Tiffany was running third when he spun down the front straightaway on lap 14, and hit the wall, bending the left-rear wheel. By the time his crew bent the wheel back in order to change it, he fell a lap down, but came back to finish ninth. Tom Winegardner Sr. of Pierson, FL rounded out the top ten in the Snap On Tools/WRP J&J/Hampshire.

The most serious incident of the race occurred on lap 16 when Bobby Courtwright of Evans, GA tangled with Josh Harris of Denton, NC in the Sticker Shocks Lightning/Harris on the front straightaway. Courtwright's K&N Filters Maxim/Wickens flipped end-over-end. Courtwright climbed from his destroyed race car uninjured, and earned the Weld Racing Hard Luck Award.

Adams grabbed the lead at the start of the race followed by Bridges, and Danny Martin Jr. of Sarasota, FL in the Martin Structures, Inc. Schnee/ZRE. While Adams pulled away, Martin was closing on Bridges to challenge for the second spot. On lap eight, Martin slowed to a stop with a mechanical problem in turn four to bring out the first caution flag.

That moved Tiffany up to the third spot for the restart followed by Graham and Gray. After Tiffany was forced to the pits after his lap 15 crash, Graham charged around Gray on the restart to take over the third spot. Graham brought out the fourth and final caution when his car slowed on lap 22, but he was able to keep it running, and the problem went away.

On the restart, Graham went to the high side of the track, and put on a passing clinic, charging all the way up to the fourth spot in the last nine laps of the race.

Adams won the six-lap Air Flow Research Power Dash, and the six-lap Koolbeans Trophy Dash was won by Brett Cole of Green Cove Springs, FL in the Cole Racing Okie/Wheeler. Graham won the Engler Machine and Tool first ten-lap heat race, and Martin won the ButlerBuilt second ten-lap heat race.

The next event for the O'Reilly USCS National and Carolina Thunder Tours will be on July 16 at Fayetteville Motor Speedway in Fayetteville, NC. The O'Reilly USCS event scheduled for July 15 at Sugar Creek Motor Speedway in Buffalo, SC has been cancelled.


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Richard Petty , Kenny Adams , Bryn Gohn , R.J. Johnson
Teams DAMS