Tulsa II: Race results

Wright Notches O'Reilly ASCS Win Number 100 in Tulsa Go! TULSA, Okla. (July 30, 2005) -- He had to work for it, but Gary Wright was successful in capturing O'Reilly American Sprint Car Series National Tour presented by Love's Travels...

Wright Notches O'Reilly ASCS Win Number 100 in Tulsa Go!

TULSA, Okla. (July 30, 2005) -- He had to work for it, but Gary Wright was successful in capturing O'Reilly American Sprint Car Series National Tour presented by Love's Travels Stops & Country Stores career feature victory Number 100 in Saturday night's 25-lap feature at Tulsa Speedway.

Wright outlasted Nick Smith in a spirited mid-race duel for the point then raced away in the final rounds to secure an unprecedented fifth consecutive ASCS National Tour victory, his tenth of the season overall aboard the Wesmar-powered Southwest Express/The Shop/Richwood Construction No. 9 Maxim.

"It feels even better than number 99, it's really just nice to get the 100th win and now we can move on," the defending series champion and current point leader commented after the landmark triumph. "Now we've just got to go after 101 and 102 and 103 and so on, hopefully we can keep this going."

While Smith and Cody Branchcomb led the feature field to the green flag, Wright found himself fifth row inside on the starting grid. Wright moved up a row before a lap completed when second row starters J.P. Bailey and Darren Stewart tangled in the first turn, with Natalie Sather, Jimmy Taylor and Jake Martens also involved. Sather and Martens were done for the night, with the other three rejoining the chase at the tail.

As action resumed, Smith battled ahead of Branchcomb to lead the opening round with Branchcomb spinning to a halt in turn one on the second round. Back under way with one lap in the books, Smith paced the field in front of seventh-starter Travis Rilat, sixth-starter Sean McClelland and Wright.

Wright needed just two laps to dispose of American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region point leader McClelland for third, then took second from 2003 ASCS National champion Rilat the next time around.

Wright set his sights on Smith, but the fleet Smith was able to maintain a half dozen car-length advantage until lapped traffic came into play after nine rounds. Wright quickly closed the gap at that time and began challenging for the point.

Mired behind a pair of lapped cars, Smith and Wright diced for the lead for several circuits before Wright was able to take command on the 14th lap. Wright then worked his way past the pair of lapped machines by the time the caution flew after 17 laps for Jimmy Taylor, who spun in turn three and collected seventh-runner Toby Brown. Brown rejoined the chase at the tail.

Wright checked out on his rivals on the ensuing restart and cruised to the checkered flag with ease. Rilat battled past Smith for second on the 19th lap and held the runner-up slot to the stripe, with Smith settling for the show position. McClelland crossed the stripe fourth, with Jason Martin rounding out the top five.

Zach Chappell snared sixth, with Sam Hafertepe, Jr., earning Hard Charger honors by racing from 16th to seventh. Kevin Ramey raced from 15th to finish eighth, with Stewart rebounding from the early tangle to salvage a ninth place finish. Foster Landon completed the top ten.

Smith, Branchcomb, Bailey and Stewart topped heat race action for the 31-car field, with Sather winning the 12-lap "B" Main.


First Heat (8 Laps): 1. Nick Smith, 2. Travis Rilat, 3. Toby Brown, 4. Tony Bruce, Jr., 5. Kevin Ramey, 6. Natalie Sather, 7. Terry Henry, 8. Mike Sitzmann, Jr.

Second Heat (8 Laps): 1. Cody Branchcomb, 2. Dex Eaton, 3. Gary Wright, 4. Sam Hafertepe, Jr., 5. Kerry McAlister, 6. Earnest Jennings, 7. Jimmy Taylor, 8. Derek Cottrelll.

Third Heat (8 Laps): 1. J.P. Bailey, 2. Jason Martin, 3. Zach Chappell, 4. David Stephenson, 5. Foster Landon, 6. Jake Martens, 7. Rafe Essary, 8. Marcus Jackson.

Fourth Heat (8 Laps): 1. Darren Stewart, 2. Sean McClelland, 3. Jamie Passmore, 4. Brian McClelland, 5. Danny Jennings, 6. Earl McDoulett, 7. James Mosher.

B Feature (12 Laps): 1. Natalie Sather, 2. Kerry McAlister, 3. Jake Martens, 4. Jimmy Taylor, 5. David Stephenson, 6. Mike Sitzmann, Jr., 7. Earl McDoulett, 8. Earnest Jennings, 9. Rafe Essary, 10. Marcus Jackson, 11. James Mosher, 12. Terry Henry, 13. Brian McClelland, 14. Derek Cottrell. DNS: Danny Jennings.

A Feature (25 Laps): 1. Gary Wright, 2. Travis Rilat, 3. Nick Smith, 4. Sean McClelland, 5. Jason Martin, 6. Zach Chappell, 7. Sam Hafertepe, Jr., 8. Kevin Ramey, 9. Darren Stewart, 10. Foster Landon, 11. Cody Branchcomb, 12. Jamie Passmore, 13. Tony Bruce, Jr., 14. Toby Brown, 15. J.P. Bailey, 16. Danny Jennings, 17. Dex Eaton, 18. Jimmy Taylor, 19. Kerry McAlister, 20. Natalie Sather, 21. Jake Martens.

O'Reilly ASCS National Tour presented by Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores Points (Top Ten): 1. Gary Wright 3,296, 2. Darren Stewart 3,168, 3. Tony Bruce, Jr., 2,927, 4. Sam Hafertepe, Jr. 2,891, 5. Toby Brown 2,488, 6. Jake Martens 2,387, 7. Jimmy Taylor 2,001, 8. Jan Howard 1,991, 9. Kevin Ramey 1,518, 10. 9. Lee Sowell 1,498.

American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region Points (Top Ten): 1. Sean McClelland 2,154, 2. Danny Jennings 2,114, 3. (tie) Kerry McAlister and Cody Branchcomb 1,924, 5. Brian McClelland 1,839, 6. Foster Landon 1,719, 7. J.P. Bailey 1,615, 8. Derek Cottrell 1,585, 9. Dex Eaton 1,437, 10. Preston Peebles II 1,393.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Darren Stewart , Preston Peebles , Cody Branchcomb , Travis Rilat , Nick Smith , Dex Eaton , Danny Jennings , Kevin Ramey , J.P. Bailey , Sean McClelland