Trail-Way Speedway results 2004-04-30

Youngest Dietrich Claims First Win HANOVER, PA, 4/30/04 -- "I'd rather watch those guys race than race myself," said a beaming Dan Dietrich who joined son Danny, Friday night's 358 feature race winner. Danny held off a very experienced field to...

Youngest Dietrich Claims First Win

HANOVER, PA, 4/30/04 -- "I'd rather watch those guys race than race myself," said a beaming Dan Dietrich who joined son Danny, Friday night's 358 feature race winner. Danny held off a very experienced field to take the 20-lap feature win.

"Those guys are tough!" exclaimed a breathless Danny Dietrich referring to Mike Lehman, brother Billy Dietrich, Brad McClelland and Scott Tate, all within several feet of taking the lead. Danny's first win is surely bound to be a memorable one as family surrounded the youngster out of Aspers, PA in victory lane.

"He was awesome, he did great," said brother Billy Dietrich after pulling up behind of Danny's #88 Racers Used Part Warehouse machine.

"It's great, I just can't say enough. It's wonderful," concluded father Dan after a night filled with many high's for the entire Dietrich family.

Billy completed the night second on a last lap pass around Mike Lehman. Lehman fell in second followed by Mike Ressler and Dan Richcreek completing the top five. Scott Tate, Bob Howard, Brian Allman, Billy Heltzel and Mike Duncan rounded out the top ten.

Bryan Wagaman kept the Wagaman streak running in the 25-lap street stock championship feature race. Wagaman, who had been struggling for sometime now, came into tonight's race with his normal all yellow paint scheme and held off an anxious Mike Walls to take the $500 paycheck.

Brother Craig Wagaman who in the past two Friday's that the thundercars ran, ran perfectly, taking the heat wins and also the feature wins. Bryan kept that Wagaman streak going by winning the feature tonight.

Walls, Duane Hahn, Nat Tuckey and Gregg Messersmith completed the top five. John McDonough Jr., Jerry Bingaman, Sam Gallagher, Ron Shultz and Craig Wagaman rounded out the top ten.

Dan Furman picked up his first win at Trail-Way speedway in the 15-lap street stock feature race. Furman, who resides in Gettysburg, PA held off Gordon Swan and many time race winner Chris Holston for the win.

Swan finished second with Holston finishing in third. Ron Myers Jr. and Ted Forsythe completed the top five. Top ten consisted of Doug King, Robert Stough, Kevin Sprague, Danny Beard and Josh Wildasin.

Trail-Way Speedway Race Results Friday -- April 30, 2004


Feature (20 Laps) - 1. 88-Danny Dietrich; 2. 8D-Bill Dietrich; 3. 7V-Mike Lehman; 4. 7-Mike Ressler; 5. 80R-Dan Richcreek; 6. 9-Scott Tate; 7. 49-Bob Howards; 8. 5A-Brian Allman; 9. 28-Billy Heltzel; 10. 11D-Mike Duncan; 11. 96-Woody Linton; 12. 01-Rick Horn; 13. 6-Brad McClelland; 14. 29-Joe Ross; 15. 19D-Zeal Hinkle; 16. 11-Jeff Rohrbaugh (DNF); 17. 98-Troy Becker (DNF); 18. 11E-Mark Zellers (DNF); 19. 57S-Tony Strine (DNF); 20. 20-Jon Keller (DNF); 21. 52-Steve Clabaugh (DNF); 22. 12-Mike Bittinger (DNS). No time.

Lap Leaders - Danny Dietrich (1-20)

1st Heat (8 Laps/6 to qualify) -- 1. 9-Scott Tate; 2. 52-Stephen Clabaugh; 3. 88-Danny Dietrich; 4. 49-Bob Howard; 5. 11-Jeff Rohrbaugh; 6. 57S-Tony Strine; 7. 28-Billy Heltzel; 8. 29T-Neal Amspacher (DNS). No time.

2nd Heat (8 Laps/6 to qualify) -- 1. 8D-Bill Dietrich; 2. 7V-Mike Lehman; 3. 20-Jon Keller; 4. 29-Joe Ross; 5. 19D-Zeal Hinkle; 6. 11D-Mike Duncan (DNF); 7. 11E-Mark Zellers (DNF); 8. 01-Rick Horn (DNF). No time.

3rd Heat (8 Laps/6 to qualify) -- 1. 6-Brad McClelland; 2. 7-Mike Ressler; 3. 80R-Dan Richcreek; 4. 96-Woody Linton; 5. 98-Troy Becker; 6. 5A-Brian Allman (DNF); 7. 12-Mike Bittinger (DNS). No time.


Feature (20 Laps) - 1. W-Bryan Wagaman; 2. B52-Mike Walls; 3. 70-Duane Hahn; 4. 52-Nat Tuckey; 5. 34-Gregg Messersmith; 6. 19-John McDonough Jr.; 7. 21-Jerry Bingaman; 8. 20-Sam Gallagher; 9. 31-Ron Shultz; 10. 30-Craig Wagaman; 11. 3-Michael Gladfelter; 12. 34M-Jim Martz Jr.; 13. 83-Fred Lloyd; 14. 81-Mike Zeigler Sr. (DNF); 15. 2-Randy Zechman (DNF); 16. 1-Neil Smith (DNF); 17. 8B-Robert Bopst (DNF); 18. 41-Howard Williams (DNF); 19. 4J-Jeff Racine (DNF); 20. 91-Thomas Slusser Jr. (DNF). No time.

Lap Leaders -- Randy Zechman (1); Craig Wagaman (2-25)

1st Heat (8 Laps/6 to qualify) -- 1. B52-Mike Walls; 2. 81-Mike Zeigler Sr.; 3. 21-Jerry Bingaman; 4. 91-Thomas Slusser Jr.; 5. 83-Fred Lloyd; 6. 8B-Robert Bopst; 7. 41-Howard Williams; 8. 76-Dale Hunt (DNF); 9. 22-Mark Shorb (DNS). Time -- 2:39.42

2nd Heat (8 Laps/6 to qualify) -- 134-Gregg Messersmith ; 2. 70-Duane Hahn; 3. W-Bryan Wagaman; 4. 2-Randy Zechman; 5. 31-Ron Shultz; 6. 30-Craig Wagaman; 7. 1-Neil Smith; 8. 3R-Bobby Rudisill (DNF); 9. 8-Michael Gladfelter II (DNF). No time.

3rd Heat (8 Laps/6 to qualify) -- 1. 20-Sam Gallagher; 2. 19-John McDonough Jr.; 3. 52-Nat Tuckey; 4. 4J-Jeff Racine; 5. 5-Gary Potts; 6. 34M-Jim Martz Jr.; 7. 3-Michael Gladfelter (DNF); 8. 28X-Tom Walls Sr. (DNS). No time.

Consolation (5 Laps/2 to qualify) -- 1. 1-Neil Smith; 2. 3-Michael Gladfelter; 3. 41-Howard Williams; 4. 28X_Tom Walls Sr.; 5. 76-Dale Hunt (DNS); 6. 3R-Bobby Rudisill (DNS); 7. 8-Michael Gladfelter II (DNS); 8. 22-Mark Shorb (DNS). No time.


Feature (15 Laps) - 1. 71-Dan Furman; 2. 5M-Gordon Swan; 3. 20-Chris Holston; 4. 94-Ron Myers Jr.; 5. 12-Ted Forsythe; 6. 23-Doug King; 7. 07-Robert Stough; 8. 1-Kevin Sprague; 9. 60-Danny Beard; 10. 84-Josh Wildasin; 11. 77-Justin Mong; 12. 00-Randy Crunkilton; 13. 39X-Mike Herman; 14. 68-Pat Reindollar; 15. 8-Charles Brittain; 16. 1R-Barry Rinehart; 17. 10-Jody Holston; 18. 65-Walt Mann (DNF); 19. 45-Phil Heffner (DNF); 20. 47-Jim Heckendorn (DNF). No time.

Lap Leaders -- Gordon Swan (1-4); Dan Furman (5-15)

1st Heat (8 Laps/6 to qualify) - 1. 07-Robert Stough; 2. 23-Doug King; 3. 60-Danny Beard; 4. 77-Justin Mong; 5. 1-Kevin Sprague; 6. 47-Jim Heckendorn; 7. 33-Len Yorty; 8. 2-Wes Kellison; 9. 55-Scott Fisher (DNF); 10. 70-Rick Weaver (DNF). No time.

2nd Heat (8 Laps/6 to qualify) -- 1. 84-Josh Wildasin; 2. 39-Mike Herman; 3. 20-Chris Holston; 4. 10-Jody Holston; 5. 45-Phil Heffner; 6. 65-Walt Mann; 7. 30-Richard Howes; 8. 00-Randy Crunkilton; 9. 7-John Macgruther (DNF); 10. 8-Charles Brittain (DNF). No time.

3rd Heat (8 Laps/6 to qualify) -- 1.94-Ron Myers Jr.; 2. 12-Ted Forsythe; 3. 5M-Gordon Swan; 4. 71-Dan Furman; 5. 68-Pat Reindollar; 6. 1R-Barry Rinehart; 7. 96-Ken Aiosa; 8. 1E-Greg Emlet Jr. (DNF); 9. 3-Todd Miller (DNF). No time.

Consolation (8 Laps/6 to qualify) -- 1. 00-Randy Crunkilton; 2. 8-Charles Brittain; 3. 33-Len Yorty; 4. 2-Wes Kellison; 5. 30-Richard Howes; 6. 1E-Greg Emlet Jr.; 7. 55-Scott Fisher (DNF); 8. 96-Ken Aiosa (DNF); 9. 7-John Macgruther (DNS); 10. 3-Todd Miller (DNS); 11. 70-Rick Weaver (DNS). No time.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint , Stock car
Drivers Ken Aiosa , Richard Howe , Neil Smith
Teams Williams