Trail-Way Speedway results 2004-04-09

HANOVER, PA, 3/9/04 -- "Those guys don't give you chances to screw up," feature winner TJ Stutts exclaimed, describing the exciting 20-lap 358 sprint car feature race. Stutts beat and banged with Trail-Way's all-time feature winner Dan Dietrich...

HANOVER, PA, 3/9/04 -- "Those guys don't give you chances to screw up," feature winner TJ Stutts exclaimed, describing the exciting 20-lap 358 sprint car feature race. Stutts beat and banged with Trail-Way's all-time feature winner Dan Dietrich for the lead position.

Pole sitter Jon Keller and outside pole sitter Scott Lutz were both involved in early race altercations, leaving several track veterans to race each other for the win. At lap six, the top five drivers, Dietrich, Stutts, Jeff Young, Brad McClelland, and Mike Lehman seemed unstoppable. McClelland, Lehman and Mike Bittinger proceeded to pass Young sending his Central Service #22D machine to sixth.

Stutts took the lead on the thirteenth lap but was reverted back to the second position due to a caution.

"He kept wanting to chop me so I had to get underneath him." On lap seventeen Liverpool, PA's Stutts banged hard enough to take the first position, sending Dietrich back to third. Stutts openly admitted to not liking the tight quarters of the 1/3 mile oval, but proved he can win races almost anywhere. Scott Ausherman, Trail-Way's very first winner of the 2003 season drove a Mike Barshinger car. Stutts pulled into victory lane driving a Barshinger car also.

The 2003 Trail-Way 358 track champion McClelland consistently remained in the top three for most of the race. With Dietrich falling to third McClelland fought him off to keep the second positon.

Following Stutts across the line were McClelland, Dietrich, Lehman, and Bittinger. Young, Nathan Hammaker, Dan Richcreek, Mike Duncan, and consolation winner Steve Clabaugh completed the top ten.

McClelland, Lehman, and Keller were heat winners.

Craig Wagaman had a phenomenal 2003 season, picking up the Trail-Way thundercar track championship and five feature wins. Wagaman's luck doesn't seem to stop there. A lap five pass saw Wagaman picking up the first thundercar feature win of the 2004 season.

"I hope the number twenty finished behind me," said Wagman speaking of his teammate in his post race interview. Indeed, the #20, polesitter Sam Gallagher followed Wagman closely behind finishing in the second position. Behind Gallagher were outside pole sitter Jerry Bingaman, Tom Slusser Jr., and Gregg Messersmith. Robert Bopst, John McDonough Jr., Jim Martz Jr., Michael Gladfelter and Gary Potts completed the top ten.

Wagaman and Mike Walls were heat winners.

Chris Holston picked up the second street stock feature race of the 2004 season in a 15-lap dual between himself and lapped traffic. Following Holston were Robert Stough, Ken Aiosa, Ted Forsythe and Randy May completing the top five.

Heat winners, for the street stocks, were won by, Chris Holston, Jody Holston and Ted Forsythe. Consolation winner was Len Yorty.

Trail-Way Speedway Race Results Friday -- April 9, 2004


Feature (30 Laps) - 1. 39-TJ Stutts; 2. 6-Brad McClelland; 3. 8D-Bill Dietrich; 4. 7V-Mike Lehman; 5. 12-Mike Bittinger; 6. 22D-Jeff Young; 7. 66N-Nathan Hammaker; 8. 80R-Dan Richcreek; 9. 11D-Mike Duncan; 10. 52-Steve Clabaugh; 11. 5-Tony Shipp; 12. 88-Danny Dietrich; 13. 7-Mike Ressler (DNF); 14. 33-Scott Lutz (DNF); 15. 55-Brian Eichelberger (DNF); 16. 5A-Brian Allman (DNF); 17. 20-Jon Keller (DNF); 18. 29T-Neal Amspacher (DNF); 19. 29-Joe Ross (DNF); 20. 57S-Tony Strine (DNF); 21. 66-Dale Hammaker (DNF); 22. 9-Scott Tate (DNF). No time.

Lap Leaders - Dan Dietrich (1-16); TJ Stutts (17-20)

1st Heat (8 Laps/6 to qualify) -- 1. 6-Brad McClelland; 2. 39-TJ Stutts; 3. 9-Scott Tate; 4. 33-Scott Lutz; 5. 7-Mike Ressler; 6. 66-Dale Hammaker (DNF); 7. 80R-Dan Richcreek (DNF); 8. 29T-Neal Amspacher (DNS). Time -- 1:51.27 (New Track Record).

2nd Heat (8 Laps/6 to qualify) -- 1. 7V-Mike Lehman; 2. 12-Mike Bittinger; 3. 66N-Nathan Hammaker; 4. 8D-Bill Dietrich; 5. 88-Danny Dietrich; 6. 29-Joe Ross; 7. 57S-Tony Strine; 8. 19D-Zeil Hinkle (DNF). No time.

3rd Heat (8 Laps/6 to qualify) -- 1. 20-Jon Keller; 2. 5A-Brian Allman; 3. 22D-Jeff Young; 4. 55-Brian Eichelberger; 5. 11D-Mike Duncan; 6. 5-Tony Shipp; 7. 85-Ken Berwager; 8. 52-Steve Clabaugh. No time.

Consolation (8 Laps/4 to qualify) -- 1. 52-Steve Clabaugh; 2. 80R-Dan Richcreek; 3. 57S-Tony Strine; 4. 29T-Neal Amspacher; 5. 19D-Zeil Hinkle; 6. 85-Ken Benwager (DNS). Time -- 2:00.80


Feature (20 Laps) - 1. 30-Craig Wagaman; 2. 20-Sam Gallagher; 3. 21-Jerry Bingaman; 4. 91-Tom Slusser Jr.; 5. 34-Gregg Messersmith; 6. 8B-Robert Bopst; 7. 19-John McDonough Jr.; 8. 34M-Jim Martz Jr.; 9. 3-Michael Gladfelter; 10. 5-Gary Potts; 11. 44-Tom Walls Sr. (DNF); 12. 93-Gary Warehime (DNF); 13. 52-Mike Walls (DNF); 14. 70-Duane Hahn (DNF); 15. 22-Mark Shorb (DNF); 16. 81-Mike Zeigler Sr. (DNF); 17. 2-Randy Zechman (DNF); 18. W-Bryan Wagaman (DNF); 19. 15X-James Yost (DNF). No time.

Lap Leaders -- Jerry Bingaman (1); Sam Gallagher (2-5); Craig Wagaman (6-20)

1st Heat (8 Laps/ALL qualify) -- 1. 30-Craig Wagaman; 2. 34-Gregg Messersmith; 3. 21-Jerry Bingaman; 4. W-Bryan Wagaman; 5. 20-Sam Gallagher; 6. 91-Tom Slusser Jr.; 7. 8B-Robert Bopst; 8. 93-Gary Warehime; 9. 70-Duane Hahn; 10. 81-Mike Zeigler (DNF). No time.

2nd Heat (8 Laps/ALL qualify) -- 1. B52-Mike Walls; 2. 22-Mark Shorb; 3. 5-Gary Potts; 4. 3-Michael Gladfelter; 5. 19-John McDonough Jr.; 6. 15X-James Yost; 7. 2-Randy Zechman; 8. 34M-Jim Martz Jr.; 9. 44-Tom Walls Sr. (DNF). Time -- 2:35.15


Feature (15 Laps) - 1. 20-Chris Holston; 2. 07-Robert Stough; 3. 96-Ken Aiosa; 4. 12-Ted Forsythe; 5. 6-Randy May; 6. 77-Justin Mong; 7. 3-Todd Miller; 8. 94-Ron Myers Jr.; 9. 33-Len Yorty; 10. 84-Josh Wildasin; 11. 60-Danny Beard; 12. 1-Kevin Sprague; 13. 42-Jamie Bigelow Jr.; 14. 10-Jody Holston; 15. 1R-Barry Rinehart; 16. 30-Richard Howes; 17. 70-Rick Weaver; 18. 68-Pat Reindollar (DNF); 19. 7-John Macgruther (DNF); 20. 8-Charles Brittain (DNF). No time.

Lap Leaders -- Randy May (1-10); Chris Holston (11-15)

1st Heat (8 Laps/6 to qualify) - 1. 20-Chris Holston; 2. 77-Justin Mong; 3. 6-Randy May; 4. 3-Todd Miller; 5. 7-John MacGruther; 6. 70-Rick Weaver; 7. 45-Phil Heffner (DNF); 8. 71-Dan Furman (DNF); 9. 29-Lonnie Fisher Jr. (DNF); 10. 15-Rob Wagner (DNF);

2nd Heat (8 Laps/6 to qualify) -- 1. 10-Jody Holston; 2. 60-Danny Beard; 3. 96-Ken Aiosa; 4. 42-Jamie Bigelow Jr.; 5. 5M-Gordon Swan; 6. 68-Pat Reindollar; 7. 33-Len Yorty; 8. 55-Scott Fisher; 9. 39-Calvin Herman; 10. 65-Walt Mann (DNS). Time -- 2:41.96

3rd Heat (8 Laps/6 to qualify) -- 1. 12-Ted Forsythe; 2. 07-Robert Stough; 3. 8-Charles Brittain; 4. 30-Richard Howes; 5. 1R-Barry Rinehart; 6. 84-Josh Wildasin; 7. 2-Wes Kellison; 8. 47-Jim Heckendorn; 9. 1-Kevin Sprague (DNF); 10. 94-Ron Myers Jr. (DNF). No time.

Consolation (8 Laps/2 to qualify) -- 1. 33-Len Yorty; 2. 94-Ron Myers Jr.; 3. 1-Kevin Sprague; 4. 71-Dan Furman; 5. 39-Calvin Herman; 6. 55-Scott Fisher (DNF); 7. 47-Jim Heckendorn (DNF); 8. 45-Phil Heffner (DNS); 9. 2-Wes Kellison (DNS); 10. 15-Rob Wagner (DNS); 11. 29-Lonnie Fisher Jr. (DNS); 12. 65-Walt Mann (DNS). No time.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint , Stock car
Drivers Ken Aiosa , Richard Howe