Trail-Way results s2004-07-09

HANOVER, PA, 7/9/04 -- Dan Dietrich has finally conquered the track that has seen both of his sons, Billy and Danny as winners, but never himself. Dietrich's 25 plus years experience in a racecar showed in tonight's 20-lap feature race. "This ...

HANOVER, PA, 7/9/04 -- Dan Dietrich has finally conquered the track that has seen both of his sons, Billy and Danny as winners, but never himself. Dietrich's 25 plus years experience in a racecar showed in tonight's 20-lap feature race.

"This place has conquered me up to this point," confessed Dietrich, "I knew I was good. The yellow's helped me catch my breath though." By the end of the celebration in victory lane, Dietrich right rear tire had gone flat. Seems Dietrich grabbed the win just in time.

Dietrich has been helping both of his sons in their racing endeavors here at Trail-Way along with several other central Pennsylvania dirt tracks. It wasn't until the past couple of weeks that Dietrich decided to race again in his Racers Used Part Warehouse #8 sprint car. Dietrich commented that he enjoyed helping his sons race more than racing himself.

Jeff Young who started in the eleventh position battled with several cars to enter the top five by the eighth lap. A caution on lap 12 was brought out due to contact between Mike Bittinger and Neal Amspacher on the front stretch. Amspacher's car was taken out for the night. Due to the caution, Young was able to make a quick slide job on polesitter Ken Berwager who was running in the second position and attempt to run down the race leader, Dan Dietrich. Dan's eldest son Billy who is Trail-Way's current points leader followed quickly behind Young moving Berwager back to fourth. Billy and Young rode nose to tail for a short while before Young fell into a comfortable second place position giving a little cushion between himself the rest of the field behind him. Young was unable to catch Dietrich for the win but achieved a commendable second place finish.

Billy Dietrich followed Young across the line to take the 3rd position. Berwager and Bittinger completed the top five. Steve Clabaugh who battled his way to the front took the 6th position. Running behind Clabaugh were Bob Howard, Judd Shepard, Rick Horn, and Troy Becker who completed the top ten.

Gettysburg, PA's Mike Walls picked up his first win of the 2004 season in the 20-lap thundercar feature race. Walls took the lead from Randy Zechman on the third lap and led the rest of the way to the checkered flag.

Mark Shorb who won the past two thundercar feature races qualified for the event but did not start the race. Shorb was tenth in the points coming into tonight's racing event.

Following Walls across the line was Thomas Slusser Jr. who picked up a heat win earlier in the night, Bryan Wagaman, Zechman, and Fred Lloyd completing the top five. Jerry Bingaman, John McDonough Jr., Sam Gallagher who was the points leader coming into the feature race, Gregg Messersmith, and Chad Myers rounded out the top ten.

In street stock action, Jody Holston picked up his second win of the 2004 season. Holston led all fifteen laps of the feature race. The final five laps saw past track champion Danny Beard and Robert Stough who won the past 2 street stock races battling Holston for the lead. Stough got to the inside of Beard, causing Beard to lose the inside advantage on Holston. On the final lap Beard tried the outside but couldn't take it away from Holston.

Beard followed behind Holston take the second spot. Stough took third followed by Ted Forsythe and Mike Herman completing the top five. Chris Holston, Doug King, John Macgruther, Barb Neiderer who won her first street stock heat race earlier in the night, and Jamie Bigelow Jr. rounded out the top ten.

Trail-Way Speedway Race Results Friday -- July 9, 2004


Feature (20 Laps) - 1. 8-Dan Dietrich; 2. 22D-Jeff Young; 3. 8D-Billy Dietrich; 4. 85-Ken Berwager; 5. 5-Mike Bittinger; 6. 52-Steve Clabaugh; 7. 49-Bob Howard; 8. 3J-Judd Shepard; 9. 01-Rick Horn; 10. 98-Troy Becker; 11. 80R-Dan Richcreek; 12. 28H-Billy Heltzel; 13. 20-Jon Keller (DNF); 14. 29T-Neal Amspacher (DNF); 15. 5A-Brian Allman (DNF); 16. 88-Danny Dietrich (DNF); 17. 11-Jeff Rohrbaugh (DNF). No time.

Lap Leaders -- Dan Dietrich (1-20)

1st Heat (8 Laps/ALL qualify) -- 1. 8-Dan Dietrich; 2. 5X-Mike Bittinger; 3. 85-Ken Berwager; 4. 8D-Billy Dietrich; 5. 29T-Neal Amspacher; 6. 49-Bob Howard; 7. 11-Jeff Rohrbaugh; 8. 52-Steve Clabaugh; 9. 80R-Dan Richcreek. Time -- 1:58.21

2nd Heat (8 Laps/ALL qualify) -- 1. 22D-Jeff Young; 2. 98-Troy Becker; 3. 5A-Brian Allman; 4. 88-Danny Dietrich; 5. 3J-Judd Shepard; 6. 20-Jon Keller; 7. 28-Billy Heltzel; 8. 01-Rick Horn. No time.


Feature (20 Laps) - 1. 1W-Mike Walls; 2. 91-Thomas Slusser Jr.; 3. W-Bryan Wagaman; 4. 2-Randy Zechman; 5. 83-Fred Lloyd; 6. 21-Jerry Bingaman; 7. 19-John McDonough Jr.; 8. 20-Sam Gallagher; 9. 34-Gregg Messersmith; 10. 51-Chad Myers; 11. 8B-Robert Bopst; 12. 3-Michael Gladfelter; 13. 01-Tim Fake; 14. 72-Wayne Espenshade; 15. 29-Randy Doty; 16. 8-Michael Gladfelter II; 17. 3R-Bobby Rudisill; 18. 34M-Jim Martz Jr. (DNF); 19. 22-Mark Shorb (DNS). No time.

Lap Leaders -- Randy Zechamn (1-2); Mike Walls (3-20)

1st Heat (8 Laps/ALL qualify) -- 1. 22-Mark Shorb; 2. 21-Jerry Bingaman; 3. 34-Gregg Messersmith; 4. 83-Fred Lloyd; 5. 3R-Bobby Rudisill; 6. 8-Michael Gladfelter II; 7. 3-Michael Gladfelter; 8. 01-Tim Fake; 9. 20-Sam Gallagher; 10. 72-Wayne Espenshade. Time -- 2:41.17

2nd Heat (8 Laps/ALL qualify) -- 1. 91-Thomas Slusser Jr.; 2. 2-Randy Zechman; 3. 34M-Jim Martz Jr.; 4. 19-John McDonough Jr.,; 5. W-Bryan Wagaman; 6. 1W-Mike Walls; 7. 8B-Robert Bopst; 8. 51-Chad Myers; 9. 29-Randy Doty. Time -- 2:38.30


Feature (15 Laps) - 1. 10-Jody Holston; 2. 60-Danny Beard; 3. 07-Robert Stough; 4. 12-Ted Forsythe; 5. 39X-Mike Herman; 6. 20-Chris Holston; 7. 23-Doug King; 8. 7-John Macgruther; 9. 6N-Barb Neiderer; 10. 42-Jamie Bigelow Jr.; 11. 1-Kevin Sprague; 12. 3-Todd Miller; 13. 47-Jim Heckendorn; 14. 1R-Barry Rinehart; 15. 69-Dwayne Long; 16. 55-Scott Fisher (DNF); 17. 71-Dan Furman (DNF); 18. 84-Josh Wildasin (DNF); 19. 8-Charles Brittain (DNS); 20. 96-Ken Aiosa (DNS). No time.

Lap Leaders -- Jody Holston (1-15)

1st Heat (8 Laps/8 to qualify) - 1. 6N-Barb Neiderer; 2. 20-Chris Holston; 3. 47-Jim Heckendorn; 4. 1-Kevin Sprague; 5. 3-Todd Miller; 6. 23-Doug King; 7. 42-Jamie Bigelow Jr.; 8. 55-Scott Fisher; 9. 1R-Barry Rinehart; 10. 96-Ken Aiosa (DNF) No time.

2nd Heat (8 Laps/8 to qualify) -- 1. 07-Robert Stough; 2. 60-Danny Beard; 3. 12-Ted Forsythe; 4. 39X-Mike Herman; 5. 7-John Macgruther; 6. 10-Jody Holston; 7. 84-Josh Wildasin; 8. 69-Dwayne Long; 9. 8-Charles Brittain; 10. 71-Dan Furman (DNF); 11. 94-Ron Myers Jr. (DNF). No time.

Consolation (8 Laps/4 to qualify) -- 1. 1R-Barry Rinehart; 2. 8-Charles Brittain; 3. 71-Dan Furman; 4. 96-Ken Aiosa (DNS); 5. 94-Ron Myers Jr. (DNS). No time.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint , Stock car
Drivers Ken Aiosa