Trail-Way results 2004-08-06

HANOVER, PA, 8/6/04 -- Troy Becker drove his Club 74, 358 sprint car, into victory lane for the first time of his career in the 20-lap feature race. Becker took the lead at the drop of the green and led on a nonstop race up until the first caution...

HANOVER, PA, 8/6/04 -- Troy Becker drove his Club 74, 358 sprint car, into victory lane for the first time of his career in the 20-lap feature race. Becker took the lead at the drop of the green and led on a nonstop race up until the first caution came out on the 19th lap. Dan Dietrich spun out in turns one and two creating a green checkered finish.

"I didn't want to see the yellow come out and seeing the second one didn't make it any better," said a breathless Becker in victory lane. The second and final caution of the race was brought out by Ken Berwager, who was running third at the time. Berwager had been pressuring York's Billy Heltzel Jr. for second place throughout the entire race. Berwager caught the rear of Heltzel's sprint car and spun out exiting the third turn. Berwager was able to rejoin the field.

On the restart, Becker was able to pull away on the start, allowing no one to challenge him for the lead. Heltzel who consistently ran second during the race was pressured by last week's feature winner Jeff Rohrbaugh, Mike Bittinger and Jeff Young. All three drivers were able to maneuver themselves around Heltzel on the restart giving Heltzel his first top five of the season.

Completing the top ten were Bob Howard, Rick Horn, Billy Dietrich, Brian Allman and Mike Duncan.

Heat winners were Dan Dietrich and Becker.

Fairfield's Ron Myers Jr., raced his way to victory lane for the first time in the 2004 season and the second time of his career. Myers led all 15 laps of the feature race.

Following Myers across the line were Jody Holston, Danny Beard, Kevin Sprague and Robert Stough. Completing the top ten were Ted Forsythe, Doug King, Dan Furman, Justin Mong and Jamie Bigelow Jr.

Heat winners were Myers, Chris Holston and Stough.

Ron Shultz picked up his eighth career win in tonight's 20-lap thundercar feature race. Early race leader Thomas Slusser gave up the lead to Mike Walls on the sixth lap. Unfortunately for Walls, a flat tire took him out of competition but he was able to rejoin after a caution was brought out on the restart. Shultz led the next three laps and then Sam Gallagher took the lead for one lap. Shultz quickly regained the lead on the fifteenth lap leading the final five taking his #31 thundercar into victory lane.

Following Shultz across the line was Marshall McMullen, Mark Shorb, Sam Gallagher and Thomas Slusser.

Heat winners were Walls and Gallagher.


Trail-Way Speedway Race Results Friday -- August 6, 2004


Feature (20 Laps) - 1. 98-Troy Becker; 2. 11-Jeff Rohrbaugh; 3. 12-Mike Bittinger; 4. 22D-Jeff Young; 5. 28H-Billy Heltzel Jr.; 6. 49-Bob Howard; 7. 6H-Rick Horn; 8. 8D-Billy Dietrich; 9. 5A-Brian Allman; 10. 11D-Mike Duncan; 11. 88-Danny Dietrich; 12. 32-Don Smite; 13. 85-Ken Berwager; 14. 31J-Joey Palmerino; 15. 80R-Dan Richcreek (DNF); 16. 8-Dan Dietrich (DNF); 17. 19D-Zeal Hinkle (DNF); 18. 11E-Tim Wagaman (DNF); 19. 88J-Richard Janney (DNF). No time.

Lap Leaders - Troy Becker (1-20)

1st Heat (8 Laps/ALL qualify) -- 1. 8-Dan Dietrich; 2. 6H-Rick Horn; 3. 11-Jeff Rohrbaugh; 4. 28-Billy Heltzel; 5. 80R-Dan Richcreek; 6. 22D-Jeff Young; 7. 12-Mike Bittinger; 8. 32-Don Smite; 9. 11E-Tim Wagaman II; 10. 31J-Joey Palmerino (DNF). Time -- 1:59.46

2nd Heat (8 Laps/ALL qualify) -- 1. 98-Troy Becker; 2. 85-Ken Berwager; 3. 8D-Billy Dietrich; 4. 5A-Brian Allman; 5. 49-Bob Howard; 6. 11D-Mike Duncan; 7. 88J-Richard Janney; 8. 19D-Zeal Hinkle; 9. 88-Danny Dietrich (DNF). No time.


Feature (20 Laps) - 1. 31-Ron Shultz; 2. 11M-Marshall McMullen; 3. 22-Mark Shorb; 4. 20-Sam Gallagher; 5. 91-Thomas Slusser; 6. 19-John McDonough Jr.; 7. 34M-Jim Martz Jr.; 8. 12-Jake Markey (DNF); 9. 1W-Mike Walls (DNF); 10. 21-Jerry Bingaman (DNF); 11. 51-Chad Myers (DNF); 12. W-Bryan Wagaman (DNF); 13. 75-Tom Walls Sr. (DNF); 14. 01-Tim Fake (DNF); 15. 2-Randy Zechman (DNF); 16. 8-Michael Gladfelter (DNS); 17. 8B-Robert Bopst (DNS). No time.

Lap Leaders -- Thomas Slusser (1-5); Mike Walls (6-10); Ron Shultz (11-13); Sam Gallagher (14); Ron Shultz (15-20)

1st Heat (8 Laps/ALL qualify) -- 1. 1W-Mike Walls; 2. W-Bryan Wagaman; 3. 22-Mark Shorb; 4. 11M-Marshal McMullen; 5. 2-Randy Zechman; 6. 12-Jake Markey; 7. 19-John McDonough Jr.; 8. 8-Michael Gladfelter (DNF); 9. 8B-Robert Bopst (DNS). Time -- 2:37.15

2nd Heat (8 Laps/ALL qualify) -- 1. 20-Sam Gallagher; 2. 31-Ron Shultz; 3. 21-Jerry Bingaman; 4. 34M-Jim Martz Jr.; 5. 91-Thomas Slusser; 6. 51-Chad Myers; 7. 75-Tim Walls Sr.; 8. 01-Tim Fake; 9. 8-Michael Gladfelter (DNS). Time -- 2:40.64

Trail-Way Speedway Race Results Friday -- August 6, 2004


Feature (15 Laps) - 1. 94-Ron Myers Jr.; 2. 10-Jody Holston; 3. 60-Danny Beard; 4. 1-Kevin Sprague; 5. 07-Robert Stough; 6. 12-Ted Forsythe; 7. 23-Doug King; 8. 71-Dan Furman; 9. 77-Justin Mong; 10. 42-Jamie Bigelow Jr.; 11. 3-Todd Miller; 12. 1R-Barry Rinehart; 13. 6N-Barb Neiderer; 14. 96-Ken Aiosa (DNF); 15. 8F-Bill Foster (DNF); 16. 69-Dwayne Long (DNF); 17. 47-Jim Heckkendorn (DNF); 18. 20-Chris Holston (DNF); 19. 84-Josh Wildasin (DNF).

Lap Leaders -- Ron Myers Jr. (1-15)

1st Heat (8 Laps/6 to qualify) - 1. 94-Ron Myers Jr.; 2. 12-Ted Forsythe; 3. 1-Kevin Sprague; 4. 3-Todd Miller; 5. 71-Dan Furman; 6. 96-Ken Aiosa; 7. 8F-Bill Foster; 8. 47-Jim Heckendorn (DNF); 9. 15-Rob Wagner (DNF). No time.

2nd Heat (8 Laps/6 to qualify) -- 1. 20-Chris Holston; 2. 60-Danny Beard; 3. 1R-Barry Rinehart; 4. 77-Justin Mong; 5. 70-Rick Weaver; 6. 69-Dwayne Long; 7. 42-Jamie Bigelow Jr. (DNF); 8. 6-Randy May (DNF); 9. 00-Randy Crunkilton (DNS). Time -- 2:48.61

3rd Heat (8 Laps/6 to qualify) -- 1. 07-Robert Stough; 2. 10-Jody Holston; 3. 23-Doug King; 4. 6N-Barb Neiderer; 5. 84-Josh Wildasin; 6. 7-John Macgruther (DNF); 7. 39X-Mike Herman (DNF); 8. 55-Scott Fisher (DNS); 9. 28-Tim Thompson (DNS). No time.

Consolation (8 Laps/2 to qualify) -- 1. 42-Jamie Bigelow Jr.; 2. 8F-Bill Foster; 3. 28-Tim Thompson (DNF); 4. 47-Jim Heckendorn (DNF); 5. 6-Randy May (DNF); 6. 39X-Mike Herman (DNS); 7. 15-Rob Wagner (DNS); 8. 55-Scott Fisher (DNS); 9. 00-Randy Crunkilton (DNS). No time.

[ Part 2, Application/MSWORD 41KB. ] [ Unable to print this part. ]

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint , Stock car
Drivers Ken Aiosa