Trail-Way results 2004-07-30

HANOVER, PA, 7/30/04 -- York, PA's Jeff Rohrbaugh, raced his way to his very first 358 sprint car victory, Friday night at Trail-Way Speedway. Rohrbaugh, who was skeptical about his sixth place starting position, led all but one lap of the 20-lap...

HANOVER, PA, 7/30/04 -- York, PA's Jeff Rohrbaugh, raced his way to his very first 358 sprint car victory, Friday night at Trail-Way Speedway. Rohrbaugh, who was skeptical about his sixth place starting position, led all but one lap of the 20-lap feature race. Rohrbaugh took the lead away from another native York driver, Billy Heltzel on the second lap. Rohrbaugh, who was strong all throughout the race, was pressured by youngster Danny Dietrich in the first five laps of the race. Brother Billy Dietrich quickly followed suit and tried to take second from Danny, so that he could put the pressure on a strong Rohrbaugh. Billy was able to pass Danny on the thirteenth lap and marched closely behind Rorhbaugh for several laps, attempting to pass several times. Approaching lapped traffic, Rohrbaugh was able to make some space between himself and current points leader, Billy Dietrich. Once Dietrich maneuvered himself around the lapped traffic, there wasn't enough time to close back in on Rohrbaugh as they were getting the white flag for one to go.

"I was thinking of retiring after I won one more, but I think we'll come back next week," joked an elated Rohrbaugh in victory lane. "He was gonna have to push me out of the way!" Rohrbaugh continued, referring to Dietrich putting several moves on him, attempting to take the win away.

Dietrich followed behind Rohrbaugh to take the second position. Billy's brother Danny Dietrich completed the night in the third position followed by the Central Maryland Pool's #12 machine driven by Mike Bittinger and the Club 74 sprint car driven by Troy Becker completing the top five. Rounding out the top ten were Dan Richcreek, Bob Howard, Heltzel, Ken Berwager, and Mike Duncan.

Heat winners for the twenty-one sprint cars in attendance were Joey Palmerino, Troy Becker and Dan Richcreek.

For the fourth time this year, Mark Shorb picked up the win in the 20-lap thundercar feature race. An exhausted Shorb held off the hard charges of Randy Zechman to rack up yet another win for the year.

Shorb took the lead on the thirteenth lap from Bobby Rudisill. Rudisill suffered a right rear flat tire. Rudisill was able to join the field after changing the tire, but had to start at the end of the field.

Following Shorb across the line was Zechman, Ron Shultz, Gregg Messersmith, and Jerry Bingaman completing the top five. Robert Bopst, Thomas Slusser Jr., Fred Lloyd, John McDonough and Chad Myers rounded out the top five.

Heat winners were Bobby Rudisill and Mark Shorb.

Ken Aiosa picked up his first street stock win in the 15-lap feature race. Aiosa took the lead from Ron Myers Jr., on the fifth lap and led the rest of the way. Following Aiosa across the line was Mike Herman, Robert Stough, Doug King and John MacGruther completing the top five.

Trail-Way Speedway Race Results Friday -- July 30, 2004


Feature (20 Laps) - 1. 11-Jeff Rohrbaugh; 2. 8D-Billy Dietrich; 3. 88-Danny Dietrich; 4. 12-Mike Bittinger; 5. 98-Troy Becker; 6. 80R-Dan Richcreek; 7. 49-Bob Howard; 8. 28H-Billy Heltzel; 9. 85-Ken Berwager; 10. 11D-Mike Duncan; 11. 29T-Neal Amspacher; 12. 5A-Brian Allman; 13. 96-Woody Linton; 14. 29-Joe Ross; 15. 19D-Zeal Hinkle; 16. 88J-Richard Janney; 17. 32-Don Smite (DNF); 18. 31J-Joey Palmerino (DNF); 19. 8-Dan Dietrich (DNF); 20. 01-Rick Horn (DNF); 21. 20-Jon Keller (DNF). No time.

Lap Leaders - Billy Heltzel (1); Jeff Rohrbaugh (2-20)

1st Heat (8 Laps/ALL qualify) -- 1. 31J-Joey Palmerino; 2. 11-Jeff Rohrbaugh; 3. 96-Woody Linton; 4. 49-Bob Howard; 5. 5A-Brian Allman; 6. 8-Dan Dietrich; 7. 32-Don Smite; 8. 19D-Zeal Hinkle. Time -- 2:01.14

2nd Heat (8 Laps/ALL qualify) -- 1. 98-Troy Becker; 2. 88-Danny Dietrich; 3. 8D-Billy Dietrich; 4. 29T-Neal Amspacher; 5. 01-Rick Horn; 6. 11D-Mike Duncan; 7. 29-Joe Ross. Time -- 1:58.11

3rd Heat (8 Laps/ALL qualify) -- 1. 80R-Dan Richcreek; 2. 12-Mike Bittinger; 3. 85-Ken Berwager; 4. 28-Billy Heltzel; 5. 43-Larry Shive; 6. 88-Richard Janney; 7. 20-Jon Keller (DNF).


Feature (20 Laps) - 1. 22-Mark Shorb; 2. 2-Randy Zechman; 3. 31-Ron Shultz; 4. 11-Gregg Messersmith; 5. 21-Jerry Bingaman; 6. 8B-Robert Bopst; 7. 91-Thomas Slusser Jr.; 8. 83-Fred Lloyd; 9. 19-John McDonough; 10. 51-Chad Myers; 11. 3R-Bobby Rudisill; 12. 20-Sam Gallagher; 13. 34M-Jim Martz Jr.; 14. 8G-Michael Gladfelter (DNF); 15. W-Bryan Wagaman (DNF); 16. 12-Jacob Markey (DNF); 17. 44-Tom Walls Jr. (DNF); 18. 30-Craig Wagaman (DNS). No time.

Lap Leaders -- Bobby Rudisill (1-12); Mark Shorb (13-20)

1st Heat (8 Laps/ALL qualify) -- 1. 3R-Bobby Rudisill; 2. 2-Randy Zechman; 3. W-Bryan Wagaman; 4. 21-Jerry Bingaman; 5. 8B-Robert Bopst; 6. 19-John McDonough Jr.; 7. 31-Ron Schultz; 8. 83-Fred Lloyd; 9. 12-Jacob Markey. No time.

2nd Heat (8 Laps/ALL qualify) -- 1. 22-Mark Shorb 2. 30-Criag Wagaman; 3. 11-Gregg Messersmith; 4. 20-Sam Gallagher; 5. 91-Thomas Slusser Jr.; 6. 34M-Jim Martz Jr.; 7. 44-Tom Walls Jr.; 8. 51-Chad Myers; 9. 8G-Michael Gladfelter. No time.


Feature (15 Laps) - 1. 96-Ken Aiosa; 2. 39X-Mike Herman; 3. 07-Robert Stough; 4. 23-Doug King; 5. 7-John MacGruther; 6. 71-Dan Furman; 7. 84-Josh Wildasin; 8. 69-Dwayne Long; 9. 1-Kevin Sprague; 10. 3-Todd Miller; 11. 12-Ted Forsythe; 12. 10-Jody Holston; 13. 70-Rick Weaver; 14. 60-Danny Beard; 15. 55-Scott Fisher; 16. 31-Tim Chapman; 17. 20-Chris Holston (DNF); 18. 94-Ron Myers Jr. (DNF); 19. 1R-Barry Rinehart (DNF); 20. 6N-Barb Neiderer (DNS). No time.

Lap Leaders -- Ron Myers Jr. (1-4); Ken Aiosa (5-15)

1st Heat (8 Laps/6 to qualify) - 1. 1-Kevin Sprague; 2. 10-Jody Holston; 3. 1R-Barry Rinehart; 4. 55-Scott Fisher; 5. 31-Tim Chapman; 6. 12-Ted Forsythe (DNF); 7. 6N-Barb Neiderer (DNF); 8. 77-Justin Mong (DNS). No time.

2nd Heat (8 Laps/6 to qualify) -- 1. 39X-Mike Herman; 2. 07-Robert Stough; 3. 60-Danny Beard; 4. 7-John Macgruther; 5. 69-Dwayne Long; 6. 70-Rick Weaver; 7. 84-Josh Wildasin; 8. 00-Randy Crunkilton (DNF). No time.

3rd Heat (8 Laps/6 to qualify) -- 1. 94-Ron Myers Jr.; 2. 96-Ken Aiosa; 3. 20-Chris Holston; 4. 3-Todd Miller; 5. 71-Dan Furman; 6. 23-Doug King; 7. 15-Rob Wagner (DNF); 8. 8F-Bill Foster (DNF). No time.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint , Stock car
Drivers Ken Aiosa