Trail-Way results 2003-07-25

HANOVER, PA, 7/25/03 - The season of new faces in victory lane continued Friday night at Trail-Way Speedway as Bonneville's Steve Clabaugh picked up his first career 358 sprint win. Weekly thunder racer Clabaugh, in only his fourth start in the...

HANOVER, PA, 7/25/03 - The season of new faces in victory lane continued Friday night at Trail-Way Speedway as Bonneville's Steve Clabaugh picked up his first career 358 sprint win.

Weekly thunder racer Clabaugh, in only his fourth start in the 358 sprints, made his transition complete from stock cars to open wheeled cars by leading all 25 laps for his inaugural win in the 25 lap Coors Light sponsored-series.

Clabaugh grabbed the lead at the outset and quickly pulled away to nearly a straightaway advantage before the caution waved on the fifth lap for a spinning Billy Heltzel.

Dover racer Tony Strine chased Clabaugh through the early stages of the feature before Middleburg's Scott Tate took over the chase on the 13th lap. But with two laps to go Tate was side-lined with a broken rear end, giving Strine a second chance to go after his first career 358 sprint win.

But Clabaugh, who already has a thundercar win at Trail-Way this season, was not to be denied this night and led the final two laps for the win.

Strine held on second with Brian Eichelberger third, Brad McClelland fourth, and Jon Keller fifth. Completing the top-10 were Billy Dietrich, Brandon Grandstaff, Rick Horn, Rusty Rupp, and Jeff Rohrbaugh.

Heats for the 24 sprinters were won by Brian Allman, Dan Dietrich and Tate, with Neil Amspacher winning the consolation.

Gettysburg's Craig Wagaman picked up his second win of the season in thundercar action over Nat Tuckey, Jerry Bingaman, Bryan Wagaman and John McDonough.

Heats for the thundercars were won by Bobby Rudisill, Craig Wagaman and Marshall McMullen.

Emmitsburg, Maryland's Randy May picked up his second street stock win in-a-row over Doug King, Chris Holston, Randy Crunkilton and Mike Kress.

Heats were won by King, Don Owens and Randy May, with Robert Stough winning the consolation.

Trail-Way goes right back at it Saturday night (July 26th) with the Predator Racecraft 250cc and 600cc Micro-Sprints scramble cars (4 & 6 cylinder), figure 8s, classic cars, and the Starlite 4-Cylinder Scramble Oval Cars at 7 PM, with gates opening at 4:45 PM.


Trail-way WILL be racing next weekend, August 1st & 2nd (Original schedule had no racing action this weekend).

On Friday night, August 1st, it will be a normal Friday night show consisting of Coors Light 358 sprints, Thundercars, and Street Stocks at 7:30 PM (Gates open @ 5:30 PM).

And then on Saturday night, August 2nd, it will be another big multi-division show consisting of Predator Racecraft 250cc and 600cc Micro-Sprints, 4-Cylinder Stock Cars, Scramble Cars (4 & 6 cylinder), Figure 8's & Starlite 4-Cylinder Scramble Oval Cars (Double Points ALL Classes)(Gates open @ 4:45 PM)

Just a reminder Trail-way will be dark on Friday August 8th due to Monster & All Truck Nationals at the York Expo Center.

Friday - July 25, 2003
Hanover, PA

Coors Light 358 Sprint Series:

Feature (25 Laps) - 1. 52-Steve Clabaugh; 2. 2x-Tony Strine; 3. 55-Brian Eichelberger; 4. 6-Brad McClelland; 5. 20-Jon Keller; 6. 8D-Billy Dietrich; 7. 09-Brandon Grandstaff; 8. 01-Rick Horn; 9. 73-Rusty Rupp; 10. 11-Jeff Rohrbaugh; 11. 96-Woody Linton; 12. 88J-Rory Janney; 13. 5A-Brian Allman; 14. 13-Robert Gordon Jr.; 15. 88-Danny Dietrich III; 16. 9-Scott Tate; 17. 12-Mike Bittinger; 18. 29T-Neal Amspacher; 19. 8-Dan Dietrich; 20. 28H-Billy Heltzel Jr..

Lap Leaders - Steve Clabaugh (1-25)

1st Heat (8 Laps/6 to qualify) - 1. 5A-Brian Allman; 2. 20-Jon Keller; 3. 88-Danny Dietrich III; 4. 73-Rusty Rupp; 5. 13-Robert Gordon Jr; 6. 8D-Bill Dietrich; 7. 29T-Neal Amspacher; 8. 28K-Brandon Keller.

2nd Heat (8 Laps/6 to qualify) - 1. 8-Dan Dietrich; 2. 09-Brandon Grandstaff; 3. 6-Brad Mc Clelland; 4. 55-Brian Eichelberger; 5. 28H-Billy Heltzel Jr; 6. 01-Rick Horn; 7. 24-Pat Small; 8. 29-Joe Ross III

3rd Heat (8 Laps/6 to qualify) - 1. 9-Scott Tate; 2. 2x-Tony Strine; 3. 52-Stephen Clabaugh; 4. 88J-Rory Janney; 5. 96-Woody Linton; 6. 11-Jeff Rohrbaugh; 7. 12-Mike Bittinger; 8. 58-Aaron Long

Consolation (8 Laps/2 to qualify) - 1. 29T-Neal Amspacher; 2. 12-Mike Bittinger; 3. 24-Pat Small; 4. 28K-Brandon Keller; 5. 29-Joe Ross III; 6. 58-Aaron Long.


Feature (20 Laps) - 1. 30-Craig Wagaman; 2. 52-Nat Tuckey; 3. 21-Jerry Bingaman; 4. W-Bryan Wagaman; 5. 19-John McDonough; 6. 2-Jeremy Brown; 7. 98X-Randy Zechman; 8. 83-Fred Lloyd; 9. 39-Howard Williams; 10. 3R-Bobby Rudisill; 11. 3-Michael Gladfelter; 12. 8MD-David Prunkl; 13. 81-Mike Zeigler Sr.; 14. 34-Marshall McMullen; 15. 1-Neil Smith; 16. 88-Dewain Toot; 17. 31-Ron Shultz; 18. 55W-Tom Walls Sr.; 19. 15-Doug Devilbiss; 20. 17H-Timothy Hahn.

1st Heat (8 Laps/6 to qualify) - 1. 3R-Bobby Rudisill; 2. 19-John McDonough Jr.; 3. 17H-Timothy Hahn; 4. 81-Mike Zeigler Sr.; 5. 52-Nat Tuckey; 6. W-Bryan Wagaman; 7. 3-Michael Gladfelter.

2nd Heat (8 Laps/6 to qualify) - 1. 30-Craig Wagaman; 2. 98X-Randy Zechman; 3. 15-Doug Devilbiss; 4. 83-Fred Lloyd; 5. 55W-Tom Walls Sr.; 6. 88-Dewain Toot; 7. 93G-Skip Messinger.

3rd Heat (8 Laps/6 to qualify) - 1. 34-Marshall McMullen; 2. 2-Jeremy Brown; 3. 21-Jerry Bingaman; 4. 39-Howard Williams; 5. 1-Neil Smith; 6. 8MD-David Prunkl; 7. 31-Ron Shultz.

Street Stocks:

Feature (15 Laps) - 1. 6-Randy May; 2. 23-Doug King; 3. 20-Chris Holston; 4. 00-Randy Crunkilton; 5. 56-Michael Kress; 6. 77-Justin Mong; 7. 60-Danny Beard; 8. 33-Len Yorty; 9. 48-Don Owens; 10. 07-Robert Stough; 11. 3-Todd Miller; 12. 30JR-Ricky Howes; 13. 8X-Bryan Thomas; 14. 12X-Jesse Shull; 15. 18B-Bryan Stirn; 16. 39-Mike Herman; 17. 65-Walt Mann; 18. 45-Phillip Heffner; 19. 12-Ted Forsythe; 20. 70-Rick Weaver; 21. 2-Sam Gallagher.

1st Heat (8 Laps/6 to qualify) - 1. 23-Doug King; 2. 33-Len Yorty; 3. 20-Chris Holston; 4. 77-Justin Mong; 5. 18B-Bryan Stirn; 6. 30JR-Ricky Howes; 7. 55-Scott Fisher; 8. 07-Robert Stough.

2nd Heat (8 Laps/6 to qualify) - 1. 48-Don Owens; 2. 12-Ted Forsythe; 3. 39-Mike Herman; 4. 00-Randy Crunkilton; 5. 8X-Bryan Thomas; 6. 45-Phillip Heffner; 7. 1R-Barry Rinehart; 8. 94-Ron Myers Jr..

3rd Heat (8 Laps/6 to qualify) - 1. 6-Randy May; 2. 65-Walt Mann; 3. 56-Michael Kress; 4. 2-Sam Gallagher; 5. 70-Rick Weaver; 6. 3-Todd Miller; 7. 60-Danny Beard; 8. 12X-Jesse Shull.

Consolation (8 Laps/3 to qualify) - 1. 07-Robert Stough; 2. 60-Danny Beard; 3. 12X-Jesse Shull; 4. 55-Scott Fisher; 5. 1R-Barry Rinehart; 6. 94-Ron Myers Jr..

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint , Stock car
Drivers Bryan Thomas , Neil Smith
Teams Williams