Trail-Way results 2003-07-18

HANOVER, PA, 7/18/03 - "We're just gonna keep riding as long as we can go; we can't complain," said an elated Billy Dietrich after racing to his fourth win of the 358 Sprint Car season at Trail-Way Speedway Friday night. "The track was good....

HANOVER, PA, 7/18/03 - "We're just gonna keep riding as long as we can go; we can't complain," said an elated Billy Dietrich after racing to his fourth win of the 358 Sprint Car season at Trail-Way Speedway Friday night.

"The track was good. Gotta thank Trail-Way," added the younger Dietrich as his father Dan, who finished second, came to victory lane to congratulate him.

With a smooth track and great inside moves, Billy took over for the seasons most wins. Second place starter Tony Strine maintained second place until the 16th lap when the elder Dietrich passed him coming off of turn four.

Unfortunately for Dan, a caution involving driver Bo Gordon caused the lineup to be reverted back to the last scored lap. On lap 18, Dan took over second once again, but didn't have enough horsepower to take his No.8 Moritz Machine & Repair sponsored machine to the front and take the lead away from his son Billy.

Strine finished third behind Dan Dietrich, followed by eighth-starting Brian Eichelberger in fourth and points leader Brad McClelland in fifth.

Heats for the 21 Coors Light "358" Sprints on hand were won by Strine and Neal Amspacher. Gordon was the consolation winner.

Zullinger's Jerry Bingaman scored his first win of 2003 in the 20 lap thundercar feature. Bingaman passed Neil Smith on the 13th lap and led the rest of the way for the win.

Third place running Mike Walls drove into the infield on the 17th lap, costing him a much needed top five finish.

Following Bingaman at the checkers were Smith, 12th starting Mike Zeigler Sr., last Friday's winner Craig Wagaman and 13th-starting Michael Gladfelter.

Heats for the 19 thundercars in attendance were won by Randy Zechman and Smith.

Emmitsburg, MD's Randy May dominated the street stock feature, leading all 15 laps, for the win and ended Chris "Big Daddy" Holston's two-race win streak.

Robert Stough who followed behind May for a large part of the race got out of shape in the final turns to the checkered, losing second place to Mike Kress.

Holston, Mike Herman and Ted Forsythe completed the top five.

Heats for the 23 street stocks were won by Stough, Ron Myers Jr., and Rick Weaver.

Trail-Way jumps back into action Saturday night, July 19th, with Checkered Flag Fan Club Night once again featuring the Predator Racecraft 250cc and 600cc Micro-Sprints in double-points action and will be joined by the 4-cylinder stocks, scramble cars (4 & 6 cylinder, figure 8s, and the Starlite 4-Cylinder Scramble Oval Cars. at 7 PM, with gates opening at 4:45 PM.

Next weekend, July 25th & 26th, Trail-Way will be back in action with another big two-night schedule.

On Friday night, July 25th, it will be LENIG JEWELERS NIGHT featuring the Coors Light 358 Sprints, Thundercars and Street Stocks at 7:30 PM.

Then on Saturday night, July 26th, the Predator Racecraft 250cc & 600cc Micro-Sprint will be joined once again by the Scramble Cars (4 & 6 Cylinder), Starlite 4-Cylinder Scramble Oval Cars, 4-Cylinder Stocks and Figure 8s.


Coors Light 358 Sprint Cars:

Feature (20 Laps) - 1. 8D-Billy Dietrich; 2. 8-Dan Dietrich; 3. 2X-Tony Strine; 4. 55-Brian Eichelberger; 5. 6-Brad McClelland; 6. 20-Jon Keller; 7. 88J-Rory Janney Jr.; 8. 9-Scott Tate; 9. 22D-Jeff Young; 10. 09-Brandon Grandstaff; 11. 96-Woody Linton; 12. 28H-Billy Heltzel; 13. 24-Pat Small; 14. 73-Rusty Rupp; 15. 52-Stephen Clabaugh (DNF); 16. 13-Bo Gordon (DNF); 17. 12-Mike Bittinger (DNF); 18. 29-Joe Ross (DNF); 19. 5A-Brian Allman (DNF); 20. 29T-Neal Amspacher (DNF). No Time

Lap Leaders - Tony Strine (1-4), Billy Dietrich (5-20)

1st Heat (8 Laps/9 to qualify) - 1. 2x-Tony Strine; 2. 8-Dan Dietrich; 3. 9-Scott Tate; 4. 09-Brandon Grandstaff; 5. 12-Mike Bittinger; 6. 28H-Billy Heltzel; 7. 73-Rusty Rupp; 8. 52-Stephen Clabaugh; 9. 20-Jon Keller; 10. 13-Bo Gordon; 11. 29-Joe Ross (DNF). No Time

2nd Heat (8 Laps/9 to qualify) - 1. 29T-Neal Amspacher; 2. 88J-Rory Janney; 3. 8D-Bill Dietrich; 4. 55-Brian Eichelberger; 5. 6-Brad McClelland; 6. 24-Pat Small; 7. 96-Woody Linton; 8. 22D-Jeff Young; 9. 5A-Brian Allman; 10. 88-Danny Dietrich (DNF). Time - 2:01.53

Consolation (8 Laps/2 to qualify) - 1. 13-Bo Gordon; 2. 29-Joe Ross; 3. 88-Danny Dietrich. No Time


Feature (20 Laps) - 1. 21-Jerry Bingaman 2. 1-Neil Smith; 3. 81-Mike Zeigler Sr.; 4. 30-Craig Wagaman; 5. 3-Michael Gladfelter; 6. 2-Jeremy Brown; 7. W-Bryan Wagaman; 8. 98X-Randy Zechman; 9. 51-Chad Myers; 10. 17H-Timothy Hahn; 11. 39-Howard Williams (DNF); 12. 1W-Mike Walls (DNF); 13. 22-Mark Shorb (DNF); 14. 93G-Skip Messinger (DNF); 15. 34-Marshall McMullen (DNF); 16. 25-Bobby Beard (DNF); 17. 83-Fred Lloyd (DNF); 18. 8J-Beanie Flynn (DNF); DNS - 19-John McDonough Jr.. No time.

Lap Leaders - Neil Smith (1-12), Jerry Bingaman (13-20)

1st Heat (8 Laps) - 1. 98X-Randy Zechman; 2. 51-Chad Myers; 3. 83-Fred Lloyd; 4. 21-Jerry Bingaman; 5. 22-Mark Shorb; 6. W-Bryan Wagaman; 7. 3-Michael Gladfelter; 8. 93G-Skip Messinger; 9. 8J-Beanie Flynn; 10. 17H-Timothy Hahn (DNF). Time - 2:41.59

2nd Heat (8 Laps) - 1. 1-Neil Smith; 2. 30-Craig Wagaman; 3. 34-Marshall McMullen; 4. 81-Mike Zeigler Sr.; 5. 1W-Mike Walls; 6. 25-Bobby Beard; 7. 2-Jeremy Brown (DNF); 8. 39-Howard Williams (DNF); 9. 19-John McDonough (DNF). No Time

Street Stocks:

Feature (15 Laps) - 1. 6-Randy May; 2. 56-Mike Kress; 3. 20-Chris Holston; 4. 39-Mike Herman; 5. 12-Ted Forsythe; 6. 94-Ron Myers Jr.; 7. 60-Danny Beard; 8. 77-Justin Mong; 9. 65-Walt Mann; 10. 33-Len Yorty; 11. 1R-Barry Rinehart; 12. 07-Robert Stough (DNF); 13. 30JR-Ricky Howes (DNF); 14. 18B-Bryan Stirn (DNF); 15. 45-Philip Heffner (DNF); 16. 42-Jamie Bigelow Jr. (DNF); 17. 3-Todd Miller (DNF); 18. 23-Doug King (DNF); 19. 70-Rick Weaver (DNF). No Time

Lap Leaders - Randy May (1-15)

1st Heat (8 Laps/6 to qualify) - 1. 07-Robert Stough; 2. 56-Mike Kress; 3. 39-Mike Herman; 4. 3-Todd Miller; 5. 65-Walt Mann; 6. 30JR-Rocky Howes; 7. 18B-Bryan Stirn; 8. 45-Philip Heffner. Time - 2:48.14

2nd Heat (8 Laps/6 to qualify) - 1. 94-Ron Myers Jr.; 2. 6-Randy May; 3. 23-Doug King; 4. 00-Randy Crunkilton; 5. 12-Ted Forsythe; 6. 1R-Barry Rinehart; 7. 55-Scott Fisher (DNF); 8. 55X-Samuel Henry (DNF). Time - 2:45.89

3rd Heat (8 Laps/6 to qualify) - 1. 70-Rick Weaver; 2. 42-Jamie Bigelow Jr.; 3. 77-Justin Mong; 4. 20-Chris Holston; 5. 60-Danny Beard; 6. 33-Len Yorty; 7. 84-Josh Wildasin. Time - 2:49.75

Consolation (8 Laps/6 to qualify) - 1. 18B-Bryan Stirn; 2. 45-Philip Heffner; 3. 84-Josh Wildasin; 4. 55-Scott Fisher (DNF); 5. 55X-Samuel Henry (DNS). Time - 2:58.46

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint , Stock car
Drivers Neil Smith
Teams Williams