Thursday NRP results

Chappell Guns 'Em Down in ASCS Great Plains Shootout at NRP GREENWOOD, Neb. (June 10, 2004) 0x2022 Zach Chappell scored his first O'Reilly American Sprint Car Series National Tour presented by Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores and...

Chappell Guns 'Em Down in ASCS Great Plains Shootout at NRP

GREENWOOD, Neb. (June 10, 2004) 0x2022 Zach Chappell scored his first O'Reilly American Sprint Car Series National Tour presented by Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores and Classic Trailers feature victory of the season in impressive fashion by wiring the field in Thursday night's 25-lap Great Plains Shootout at Nebraska Raceway Park.

Chappell snared the lead from the outset then niftily worked his way through lapped traffic in the late rounds to secure his seventh career series victory by nearly a half straightaway as the O'Reilly ASCS National Tour made its first appearance at NRP's 2/5-mile dirt oval since 1997.

"I found that little bit of rubber on the race track and that was enough to keep us front and get the win," commented the 2001 series champion in victory lane. "I didn't know how much of lead we had. Out front, you hear cars buzzing around all over the place so you just keep going as fast as you can because you just don't know how close the next guy is. This is a great way to go into the Knoxville 360 Nationals, I just hope we can keep this momentum going."

Chappell earned the pole position for the main event by charging from eighth to win the evening's fourth heat race for the sturdy 37-car field, with second heat race winner Garry Lee Maier alongside as the green flag flew.

The initial start was waved off when Rick Ideus and Joe Beaver tangled in turn three, sending both drivers pitside for the night. After the initial caution, the entire 25-lap distance was completed in non-stop fashion.

Chappell outgunned Maier on the feature's second start to claim the early lead, while third-starter Shane Stewart outdueled fifth-starter Chuck Swenson to take command of second on the opening round, as fourth-starter Terry McCarl disposed of Swenson and Maier to move into third the next time around.

Chappell gradually slipped away from the field in the Carbone-powered Champco Concrete Construction No. 50z Maxim in the early rounds, as Stewart and McCarl engaged in battle for the runner-up slot.

With Chappell a half straightaway ahead, McCarl dashed past Stewart for second on the seventh round, only to have Stewart return the favor four laps later.

Chappell's only close call came on the 12th circuit when he jumped the narrow turn three cushion, allowing his pursuers to narrow the gap. With McCarl and Stewart swapping second on a regular basis just a few car-lengths behind the leader, Chappell encountered a trio of lapped machines on the 17th round.

Chappell neatly sliced through traffic and with a clear track ahead, raced to the checkered flag unchallenged with a healthy advantage. Stewart secured the second position aboard the Wesmar-powered Ol' Glory Energy Drink No. 4m Maxim on the 17th round, holding off McCarl in Mark Burch's No. 1m to the stripe.

Piloting a new Maxim chassis, Maier fought off fellow former series champion Travis Rilat for the fourth position. Swenson posted his best series finish of the year by crossing the stripe in sixth, with Oregon's Roger Crockett turning in the evening's best passing performance by charging from 17th to seventh. Micah Schliemann raced from 13th to eighth, with Gary Wright and Darren Stewart completing the top ten.

Swenson, Maier, Beaver and Chappell claimed heat race victories, with A.G. Rains and Crockett topping the twin 12-lap B Mains.

Jimmy Taylor's night came to an early end when he climbed another car's right rear tire and flipped in turn two in the fourth heat race, destroying his mount. Ron Love also took a tumble in turn three during the First B Main. There were no injuries.


First Heat (8 Laps): 1. Chuck Swenson, 2. Dusty Zomer, 3. Shane Stewart, 4. Travis Rilat, 5. Toby Brown, 6. Roger Crockett, 7. Mike Gabelhouse, 8. Doug Lovegrove, 9. Terry Ledger, 10. Scott Milan.

Second Heat (8 Laps): 1. Garry Lee Maier, 2. Tony Bruce, Jr., 3. Gary Wright, 4. Micah Schliemann, 5. Sam Hafertepe, Jr., 6. Chad Humston, 7. Seth Brahmer, 8. Cody Branchcomb, 9. Rod Richards.

Third Heat (8 Laps): 1. Joe Beaver, 2. Darren Stewart, 3. Rick Ideus, 4. Don Droud, Jr., 5. Troy Meyer, 6. Jeff Lowery, 7. John Klabunde, 8. Natalie Sather, 9. Billy Alley.

Fourth Heat (8 Laps): 1. Zach Chappell, 2. Chris Roseland, 3. Terry McCarl, 4. A.G. Rains, 5. Ron Love, 6. Mike Boston, 7. Mike Chadd, 8. Jake Peters, 9. Jimmy Taylor.

First B Feature (12 Laps): 1. A.G. Rains, 2. Jeff Lowery, 3. Mike Boston, 4. Troy Meyer, 5. Cody Branchcomb, 6. John Klabunde, 7. Mike Gabelhouse, 8. Scott Milan, 9. Terry Ledger, 10. Natalie Sather, 11. Billy Alley, 12. Ron Love.

Second B Feature (12 Laps): 1. Roger Crockett, 2. Mike Chadd, 3. Don Droud, Jr., 4. Chad Humston, 5. Seth Brahmer, 6. Toby Brown, 7. Doug Lovegrove, 8. Sam Hafertepe, Jr., 9. Jake Peters, 10. Rod Richards. DNS: Jimmy Taylor.

A Feature (25 Laps): 1. Zach Chappell, 2. Shane Stewart, 3. Terry McCarl, 4. Garry Lee Maier, 5. Travis Rilat, 6. Chuck Swenson, 7. Roger Crockett, 8. Micah Schliemann, 9. Gary Wright, 10. Darren Stewart, 11. Dusty Zomer, 12. Jeff Lowery, 13. A.G. Rains, 14. Chris Roseland, 15. Tony Bruce, Jr., 16. Mike Chadd, 17. Don Droud, Jr., 18. Sam Hafertepe, Jr., 19. Mike Boston, 20. Joe Beaver, 21. Rick Ideus.

O'Reilly ASCS National Tour Points (Top Fifteen): 1. Gary Wright 1,016, 2. Travis Rilat 1,010, 3. Zach Chappell 992, 4. Darren Stewart 962, 5. Garry Lee Maier 960, 6. A.G. Rains 900, 7. Chuck Swenson 844, 8. Toby Brown 811, 9. Sam Hafertepe, Jr. 791, 10. Jimmy Taylor 728, 11. Shane Stewart 720, 12. Cody Branchcomb 605, 13. Natalie Sather 532, 14. Jerry Bell 496, 15. Tony Bruce, Jr. 427.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Darren Stewart , Cody Branchcomb , Shane Stewart , Travis Rilat , Roger Crockett