This Week in racing 2006-05-04

ASCS This Week TULSA, Okla. (May 4, 2006) -- A variety of Regional action is on the docket for the American Sprint Car Series this weekend, with events taking place in Arkansas, Louisiana, Oklahoma and ...

ASCS This Week

TULSA, Okla. (May 4, 2006) -- A variety of Regional action is on the docket for the American Sprint Car Series this weekend, with events taking place in Arkansas, Louisiana, Oklahoma and Michigan.

The Series: Gulf South Region vs. Mid-South RegionWhen & Where:Friday night at 7:30 p.m. -- 67 Texarkana Speedway in Texarkana, AR.

Saturday night at 7:00 p.m. -- Fast Trax Speedway in Chatham, LA.

Track Information:

67 Texarkana Speedway (Texarkana, AR) -- 0x00bc-mile semi-banked clay oval located east of Texarkana on I-30 to Exit 7, then 0.5 mile southeast on State Road 108, then 2.6 miles northeast on US 67. Track phone: 870-773-0029.

Fast Trax Speedway (Chatham, LA) -- 0x00bc-mile semi-banked clay oval located four miles southeast of State Road 34 in Chatham on State Road 4. Track phone: 318-249-2443.

Past ASCS Regional Winners:

67 Texarkana Speedway -- None; first Regional event at 67 Texarkana Speedway.

Gulf South winners at Fast Trax Speedway -- Travis Rilat (9/4/05), Sam Hafertepe, Jr. (7/3/05), Kelly Angelette (9/5/04), Eric Payne (7/4/04), Travis Rilat (4/17/04), Gary Wright (4/5/03).


The ASCS Mid-South and Gulf South Regions square off for the first time on a pair of dicey quarter-mile clay ovals. The Gulf South has been in action since 2002, while the all-new for 2006 Mid-South Region already has its opening pair of books in the events.

Both series feature tight point races, with 16 points separating the top five in the Gulf South Region and 24 points separating the top five in the Mid-South Region.

This is the first ASCS Regional event for 67 Texarkana Speedway, although it has hosted seven National Tour events in recent years with Tim Crawley racing from deep in the field to capture victory honors in the most recent ASCS National event in Texarkana.

Fast Trax has been a frequent stop for the Gulf South Region in past years and welcomes the Mid-South Region for this weekend's Regional Shootout.

Current Points (Top 10):

Gulf South Region: 1. Gary Watson (Beaumont, TX) 416, 2. Jason Johnson (Eunice, LA) 414, 3. Greg Rilat (Texas City, TX) 410, 4. Chris Sweeney (Channelview, TX) 406, 5. Darryl Wills (Deer Park, TX) 400, 6. Channin Tankersley (Highlands, TX) 384, 7. Lane Whittington (Denham Springs, LA) 382, 8. Stephen Chevallier (Downsville, LA) 358, 9. Brad Stokes (Kountze, TX) 356, 10. Ray Allen Kulhanek (Conroe, TX) 353.

Mid-South Region: 1. Darren Stewart (Bixby, OK) 290, 2. Jan Howard (Byhalia, MS) 288, 3. Dale Howard (Byhalia, MS) 284, 4. Michael Herrington (Gonzales, LA) 278, 5. Gary Wright (Hooks, TX) 266, 6. Robert Casada (Petal, MS) 262, 7. (tie) Ronny Howard (Southaven, MS) and Philip Faulkner (Atoka, TN) 260, 9. Bryce Vowan (Forrest City, AR) 258, 10. (tie) Stephen Chevallier (Downsville, LA) and Josh Howard (Byhalia, MS) 256.

2006 Feature Winners:

Gulf South Region: Jason Johnson 2, Travis Rilat 1.

Mid-South Region: Dale Howard 1, Gary Wright 1.

Next Up for the Gulf South Region:

May 27 at Gator Motorplex (Willis, TX)

May 28 at Battleground Speedway (Houston, TX)

Next Up for the Mid-South Region:

June 17 at Sixty-Four Speedway (Augusta, AR)


The Series: American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner RegionWhen & Where:Saturday night at 7:00 p.m. -- Mid-America Speedway in South Coffeyville, OK.

Track Information:

Mid-America Speedway (South Coffeyville, OK) -- 3/10-mile semi-banked clay oval located one mile south of the Kansas/Oklahoma state line on US 169, then 0.7 miles west. Track phone: 918-255-6698.

Past ASCS Sooner Region Winners:

Mid-America Speedway -- Travis Rilat (10/15/05).


Saturday night marks the first of two scheduled ASCS Sooner Region stops at Mid-America Speedway for 2006 after a successful series debut atop the 3/10-mile clay to finish off the '05 season.

While all eyes will be on the latest developments in the Sean McClelland -- Kevin Ramey rivalry, Sam Hafertepe, Jr., will be among those waiting to pounce in the points race if any on-track mayhem were to break out.

Defending series champ McClelland shoots for a third consecutive Sooner Region win after sweeping the recent Oklahoma City-Lawton weekend.

Current ASCS Sooner Region Points (Top Ten):

1. Sean McClelland (Collinsville, OK) 438, 2. Sam Hafertepe, Jr. (Sunnyvale, TX) 430, 3. Kevin Ramey (Fort Worth, TX) 408, 4. Brian McClelland (Tulsa, OK) 390, 5. Johnny Miller (Burleson, TX) 361, 6. J.P. Bailey (Fort Worth, TX) 356, 7. Dex Eaton (Owasso, OK) 341, 8. Justin Melton (Flower Mound, TX) 335, 9. Gavin Punch (Collinsville, OK) 319, 10. Jimmy Taylor (Oklahoma City, OK) 317.

2006 Sooner Region Feature Winners:

Sean McClelland 2, Sam Hafertepe, Jr. 1.

Next Up for the ASCS Sooner Region:

May 20 at Creek County Speedway (Sapulpa, OK)

June 9 at Paris Motor Speedway (Paris, TX)

June 10 at Cowtown Speedway (Kennedale, TX)


The Series: Engine Pro ASCS Sprints on Dirt presented by Victor ReinzWhen & Where:Saturday night at 7:30 p.m. -- Crystal Motor Speedway in Crystal, MI.

Track Information:

Crystal Motor Speedway (Crystal, MI) -- 3/8-mile semi-banked clay oval located 5.5 miles north of State Road 57 on Crystal Road, then east on Sidney. Track phone: 989-235-5200.

Recent ASCS Sprints on Dirt Winners:

Crystal Motor Speedway since 2000 -- Tim Allison (9/3/05), Brett Mann (9/4/04), Dustin Daggett (7/17/04), Tim Allison (5/15/04), Dustin Daggett (4/24/04), Dustin Daggett (8/30/03), Davey Brown (7/19/03), Mike Daggett (5/17/03), Darren Long (4/26/03), Dustin Daggett (8/31/02), Dustin Daggett (7/20/02), Tim Norman (9/1/01), Dustin Daggett (7/21/01), Tim Norman (4/28/01), Aaron Call (9/2/00).


The Sprints on Dirt fires off the 2006 season with its first event under the American Sprint Car Series banner. ASCS National Tour Rookie of the Year contender Dustin Daggett of Portland, MI, returns to his home turf for the SOD opener. Daggett, a two-time SOD champion, has won six of the 13 SOD features contested at Crystal Motor Speedway since 2001.

Indiana's Tim Norman, a winner of two Crystal SOD features since 2001, kicks off his title defense.

2005 Engine Pro ASCS Sprints on Dirt presented by Victor Reinz Points (Top Ten):

1. Tim Norman (Warsaw, IN) 4035, 2. Ben Rutan (Hudson, MI) 3985, 3. Kyle Patrick (Tillbury, ONT) 3902, 4. Nick Mulheim (Navarre, OH) 3887, 5. Gregg Dalman (Lyons, MI) 3864, 6. Louie Carufel (Port Huron, MI) 3846, 7. Mark Broughman (Hillsdale, MI) 3804, 8. Dustin Daggett (Portland, MI) 3772, 9. Dain Naida (Belleville, MI) 3525, 10. Davey Brown (Eaton Rapids, MI) 3175.

Next Up for the ASCS Sprints on Dirt:

May 12 at Hartford Speedway Park (Hartford, MI)

May 13 at Thunderbird Raceway Park (Muskegon, MI)

May 20 at Fremont Speedway (Fremont, OH)

In its 15th year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing in the United States, the American Sprint Car Series will present approximately 180 nights of racing at nearly 100 different tracks throughout 27 states and Canada in 2006 including the National Tour and its Regional Tours (Gulf South, Mid-South, Midwest, Northern Plains, Patriot Sprint Group, Rocky Mountain, Sooner, Southern and Sprints on Dirt).

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Darren Stewart , Johnny Miller , Aaron Call , Travis Rilat , Dex Eaton , Kevin Ramey , Tim Crawley , Darryl Wills , Ray Allen Kulhanek , Jason Johnson , Sean McClelland