Susquehanna results 2005-07-01

STEVIE SMITH WINS CINDY ROWE AUTO GLASS PA SPEEDWEEK FEATURE AT SSP THURSDAY Newberrytown, PA (June 30, 2005) -- Stevie Smith returned to his old stomping grounds Thursday evening to win his first career Cindy Rowe Auto Glass Pennsylvania Sprint...


Newberrytown, PA (June 30, 2005) -- Stevie Smith returned to his old stomping grounds Thursday evening to win his first career Cindy Rowe Auto Glass Pennsylvania Sprint Car Speedweek feature at Susquehanna Speedway Park. In other action, Larry Hughes Jr. won the Xtreme Stock Car feature, and Deanna "Smokette" Frye won the Women on Wheels event.

Smith started from the pole position in the 30 lap Sprint Car feature, but trailed fellow front row starter Fred Rahmer for eight laps before taking the lead. From there, Smith kept control to scorehis first victoryof 2005, his 32nd career win at SSP, where he leads all Sprint Car drivers in feature wins.

Lance Dewease nipped Rahmer for second at the finish lin, with Greg Hodnett and Lucas Wolfe in the top five. Rounding out the top ten were Alan Cole, Brian Montieth, Blane Heimbach, Alan Krimes, and Niki Young. Krimes set fast time for the evening with a lap at 14.992 seconds. Heat wins went to Jason Johnson, Chad Layton, and Craig Keel, with Krimes taking the B-Main.

Hughes chased defending track champion Charlie Pensinger for five laps before taking the lead on the sixth lap of the 20-lap Xtreme Stock feature. In the end, Hughes had to fend off challenges from Smoke Christine for the win. Pensinger finished third, with Matt Wampler and David Wilhelm in the top five. Christine, Wampler and Wilhelm all failed post race inspection and moving Pensinger to second, Rick Christine to third, Derrike Riley to fourth and Alan Miller to fifth. Wilhelm took the Pepsi Dash, while heat wins went to Hughes and Rick Christine.

Frye took the lead from Jonda Draucker on the second lap and then fended off Nancy Horan to win the Women on wheels feature. Draucker finished third with Karen Powell and Debbie Johns in the top five. Heats went to Sherry Kitner and Powell.

The next race at SSP will be Sunday night, July 3 featuring the Summer Fun 50 for the Trail Motors Super Sportsman Series along with the Silver Spring Street Stocks, Legends Cars and the All Star Race Trucks Exhibition Race. Gates open in the pit area and grandstands at 5:00 p.m. Warmups begin at 7:00 p.m. with racing beginning promptly at 7:30 p.m. SSP will continue its Repeat Fan Discount in which there will be a $2.00 discount for each person with a ticket stub from the June 19 and June 30 events only. For example, $2.00 off an Adult ticket for July 3 with and Adult ticket stub from the June 19 and June 30 event. Returning fans are encouraged to write their name, address and phone number on the back of the stub to be entered into special drawings to be held during the season for great prizes. Last season, the grand prize was two tickets to the NASCAR race in October at the Lowe's Motor Speedway in Charlotte, North Carolina. Pit pass prices are $20.00 with a reduced price of $18.00 for all track license holders.

For more information, visit or call the SSP home office at (717) 292-1696. The Susquehanna Speedway Park is located off I-83 to exit 32, then 1.4 miles NW on SR382 to York Road, then 1.3 miles south. On raceday, use the track phone at (717) 938-9170.

SSP Results from Thursday June 30, 2005

Cindy Rowe Auto Glass PA Speedweek Sprint Car Feature (30 laps): q. Stevie Smith 2. Lance Dewease 3. Fred Rahmer 4. Greg Hodnett 5. Lucas Wolfe 6. Alan Cole 7. Brian Montieth 8. Blane Heimbach 9. Alan Krimes 10. Niki Young 11. Keith Kauffman 12. Mike Erdley 13. Chad Layton 14. Brook Weibley 15. Dave Cordier 16. Jason Johnson 17. Eric Stambaugh 18. Brian Leppo 19. Brent Kluge 20. Craig Keel 21. Scott Lutz 22. Mark Smith 23. Cory Haas 24. Kramer Williamson

DNQ; Chad Jumper, Dave Hahn, Pat Cooper, Michael Carber, Glenndon Forsythe, Karl Baker, Bobby Weaver, Steve Poploski

FEATURE LAP LEADERS: Rahmer 1-8, S. Smith 9-30
HEAT RACE WINNERS: Johnson, Layton, Keel
Fast Time; Krimes 14.992

Xtreme Stock Feature (20 laps): 1. Larry Hughes Jr. 2. Smoke Christine 3. Charlie Pensinger 4. Matt Wampler 5. David Wilhelm 6. Rick Christine 7. Derrike Riley 8. Alan Miller 9. Bryon Sipe 10. Ronnie Thomas 11. Nate Heindel 12. Jerry Blauch 13. Larry Hurley 14. Mike Goodwin 15. Tony Tumas 16. Karl Windish 17. Ron Vance 18. Adam Smith 19. Sam Rial 20. Steve Clemens 21. Eric Snoke r2. Les Scrivens Jr.J23. Gene Knaub 24. John Scrivens 25. Jason Failor 26. Tom Johns 27. Daryl Beakler 28. Bob Bender 29. Tom Slanker 30. Barclay Wilson 31. Chris Heller 32. Mike Mixell 33. Keith Heiges 34. Brian Sanders DQ: Smoke Christine, Matt Wampler, David Wilhelm, DNS; Matt Smith, Trevor Stark, Raymond Repp, Matt Newcomber, Harry Sipe

FEATURE LAP LEADERS: Pensinger 1-5, Hughes 6-20
HEAT RACE WINNERS: Hughes, Rick Christine

Women on Wheels Feature (12 laps): 1. Deanna Frye 2. Nancy Horan 3. Jonda Draucker 4. Karen Powell 5. Debbie Johns 6. Beth Buhrman 7. Kendra Knaub 8. Wendy Schwab 9. Penney Repp DNS Sherry Kitner, Cheryl Howsare

FEATURE LAP LEADER: Draucker 1, Frye 2-12


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint , Stock car
Drivers Matthew Smith , Adam Smith , Lucas Wolfe , Jason Johnson
Teams Williams