Susquehanna results 2005-06-23

Jumper Wins Career First at SSP on Thursday Night Newberrytown, PA (June 23, 2005) -- Chad Jumper raced to his first career SprintCar victory in Thursday night action at Susquehanna Speedway Park . In other action Gene Knaub claimed his second...

Jumper Wins Career First at SSP on Thursday Night

Newberrytown, PA (June 23, 2005) -- Chad Jumper raced to his first career SprintCar victory in Thursday night action at Susquehanna Speedway Park . In other action Gene Knaub claimed his second Xtreme Stock Car feature win of the season, and Bill Brown Sr. won his second Northeast Classic Car event.

Jumper started from the pole position in the 25 lap Sprint Car feature and held back challenges from several drivers to score the popular win.

Chris Meleason hounded Jumper for muchof the distance, but in the end it was last week's winner Lance Dewease who came within a car length of beating Jumper. At the finish it was Jumper over 12th place starter Dewease, with Blane Heimbach getting third from the eighth starting spot.

Fred Rahmer, who started 11th took fourth, with Meleason getting fifth.

Rounding out the top ten were Josh Wells, Jason Johnson, Greg Hodnett, Alan Krimes, and Brian Leppo. Heats went to Heimbach, Hodnett and Johnson, with Krimes taking the consy.

Knaub started 16th in the Xtreme Stock Car feature , and took the lead from Adam Smith on the sixth lap. Knaub then had to fend off point leader David Wilhelm for the win. Mark Vegh finished third, with Mike Goodwin and Bryon Sipe in the top five. Heats went to Smith and Wilhelm, with Larry Hughes Jr. takingthe Pepsi Dash.

In Classic Car action, Brown came from the 14th starting spot to take the lead from Jamie Lloyd on the 12th of 15 laps. Lloyd finished second with Fred Cullum, Joe Snodgrass and Kurt Welsh in the top five. Heats went to Cullum and Brown.

The next race at SSP will be Thursday night, June 30 with the 15th Annual Cindy Rowe Auto Glass PA Speedweeks for the Sprint Cars. The Xtreme Stock Cars and W.O.W. Stocks (Women on Wheels) also join the Sprints

Gates open in the pit area and grandstands at 4:00 p.m. Warmups begin at 6:00 p.m. with time trials beginning at 6:30 p.m. and racing at 7:30 p.m.

Grandstand ticket prices are Adults (18 & older) $20.00; Teens (13-17) $10.00; Children (6-12) $5.00; and Children (5 & under) are free.SSP will continue its Repeat Fan Discount in which there will be a $2.00 discount for each person with a ticket stub from the June 19 or June 23 events only. For example, $2.00 off an Adult ticket for June 30 with and Adult ticket stub from the June 19 or June 23 events. Returning fans are encouraged to write their name, address and phone number on the back of the stub to be entered into special drawings to be held during the season for great prizes. Last season, the grand prize was two tickets to the NASCAR race in October at the Lowe's Motor Speedway in Charlotte, North Carolina. .

For more information, visit or call the SSP home office at (717) 292-1696. The Susquehanna Speedway Park is located off I-83 to exit 32, then 1.4 miles NW on SR382 to York Road, then 1.3 miles south.JOn raceday, use the track phone at (717) 938-9170.

SSP Results from Thursday, June 23, 2005

Sprint Car Feature (25 laps): 1. Chad Jumper, 2. Lance Dewease, 3. Blane Heimbach, 4. Fred Rahmer, 5. Chris Meleason, 6. Josh Wells, 7. Jason Johnson 8. Greg Hodnett, 9. Alan Krimes, 10. Brian Leppo 11. Brent Kluge 12. Johnny Mackison Jr. 13. Michael Carber, 14. Glenndon Forsythe, 15. Roger Fickett, 16. Doug Rohrbaugh, 17. Pat Cooper, 18. Eric Stambaugh, 19. Todd Zinn; DNS - Steve Poploski DNQ Scott Lutz, Karl Baker, Mike Mansfield, Mike Rabold.

HEAT RACE WINNERS: Heimbach, Hodnett, Johnson

Xtreme Stock Cars Feature (20 laps): 1. Gene Knaub 2. David Wilhelm 3. Mark Vegh 4. Mike Goodwin 5. Bryon Sipe 6. Charlie Pensinger 7. Daryl Beakler 8. Tom Slanker 9. Mike Mixell 10. Tom Johns 11. Raymond Repp 12. Karl Windish 13. Adam Smith 14. Eric Snoke 15. John Scrivens 16. Phil Mudd 17. Gerald Barnes 18. Brian Sanders 19. Jason Failor 20. Trevor Stark 21. Harry Sipe 22. Chris Heller 23. Barclay Wilson 24. Nate Heindel 25. Brad Reger 26. Bob Bender 27. Terry Myers 28. Jerry Blauch 29. Matt Newcomber 30. Larry Hughes Jr. 31. Steve Clemens 32. Les Scrivens Jr. 33. Keith Heiges 34. Brandon Visser s5. Sam Rial DNS Matt Wampler, Smoke Christine, Ronnie Thomas

FEATURE LAP LEADERS: Smith 1-6, Knaub 7-20

Northeast Classic Car Feature (15 laps): 1. Bill Brown Sr. 2. Jamie Lloyd 3. Fred Cullum 4. Joe Snodgrass 5. Kurt Welsh 6. Mike Shultz 7. Jim Snodgrass 8. Randy Doty 9. Brian Diehl 10. Joe Crocker 11. Pete Neal 12. Rick Blizzard 13. Randy Smith 14. Allen Daniels 15. Jack Yingling 16. Al Daniels DNS Larry Leiphart

FEATURE LAP LEADER:Lloyd 1-11, Brown 12-15


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint , Stock car
Drivers Chris Meleason , Bill Brown , Adam Smith , Dan Allen , Mike Goodwin , Jason Johnson