Susquehanna results 2005-06-05

Calaman Victorious in Trail Motors Super Sportsman Feature at SSP on Sunday Night Newberrytown, PA (June 5, 2005) - Dave Calaman of Calisle picked up the victory in the second round of the Trail Motors Super Sportsman Series at the Susquehanna...

Calaman Victorious in Trail Motors Super Sportsman Feature at SSP on Sunday Night

Newberrytown, PA (June 5, 2005) - Dave Calaman of Calisle picked up the victory in the second round of the Trail Motors Super Sportsman Series at the Susquehanna Speedway Park on Sunday evening. Craig Morgan was victorious in the Street Stock main event. Ronnie Carlock of picked up the Four Cylindr Stock Car feature win.

Danny Hager jumped out to the early lead of the 20-lap Trail Motors Super Sportsman feature, but engine failure on lap three ended his evening. Assuming the lead from Hager was Dave Calaman who immediately came under heavy pressure from Ken Carberry. On lap 9, Ken Carberry spun in turn three and hit the outside guardrail while pressuring Calaman for the lead. Carberry was forced to retire from the event with too much damage. Moving into the runner-up spot was Rich Eichelberger who stayed within a car length in a spirited battle with Calaman, but was unable to make the pass for the lead. Calaman earned the victory with Eichelberger finishing second. Last week's feature winner, Russ Mitten finished third, followed by Paul Miller and Steve Cannon. Ken Carberry, Danny Hager and Dave Calaman picked u heat race win.

Craig Morgan led all 15 laps in the Street Stock feature for his second win of the weekend. Kirby Sites finished second over Wes Alleman, Paul Morgan and Scott Thunberg.

In Four Cylinder Stock Car action, Ronnie Carlock won the 12-lap feature event over Ed Hollenbach who led the first seven laps. Kyle Wiser finisjed in third followed by Eric Hollenbach and Leroy Long completed the top five. Both Ed and Eric Hollenbach won their respective heat races.

J.R. Rodriguez of Dover won theOne-on-One Street Car Drags.

The next race at SSP will be Thursday night, June 9 with a great night of fun and entertainment featuring the the Sprint Cars, Xtreme Stocks, W.O.W. (Women on Wheels) Stock Cars, Great American School Buses and Kid's Big Wheel Racing. All kids are encouraged to bring their own Big Wheels, however there will be some available at the track for those who do not have big wheels. Lots of great prizes will be available for all entrants.

Gates open in the pit area and grandstands at 5:00 p.m. Warmups begin at 7:00 p.m. with racing beginning promptly at 7:30 p.m. SSP will continue its Repeat Fan Discount in which there will be a $2.00 discount for each person with a ticket stub from the June 2 or June 5 events only. For example, $2.00 off an Adult ticket for June 9 with and Adult ticket stub from the June 2 or June 5 event. Returning fans are encouraged to write their name, address and phone number on the back of the stub to be entered into special drawings to be held during the season for great prizes. Last season, the grand prize was two tickets to the NASCAR race in October at the Lowe's Motor Speedway in Charlotte, North Carolina. Pit pass prices are $20.00 with a reduced price of $18.00 for all track license holders.

The next Sunday night event will be June 19, featuring the Trail Motors Super Sportsman Series along with the Silver Springs Street Stocks and two features for the Legends Cars. Also, for the first time ever at SSP is Vandamonium on Father's Day. This will be Mini Van racing presented by York Haven Auto Sales. A great way to treat your father to a night of fun and entertainment is to "Go to SSP."

For more information, visit or call the SSP home office at (717) 292-1696. The Susquehanna Speedway Park is located off I-83 to exit 32, then 1.4 miles NW on SR382 to York Road, then 1.3 miles south. On raceday, use the track phone at (717) 938-9170.

Trail Motors Super Sportsman Feature (20 laps): 1. Dave Calaman, 2. Rich Eichelberger, 3. Russ Mitten, 4. Paul Miller, 5. Steve Cannon, 6. John Stehman, 7. Richie Hartman, 8. Aaron Eichelberger, 9. Jerry Wolfe, 10. Scott Ausherman, 11. Scott Dellingner, 12. Bill Brown, 13. Gregg Foster, 14. Joey Biasi, 15. Jason Fry, 16. Lanny Hake, 17. Dave Socks II, 18. Steve Wilbur, 19. David Finch, 20. Ken Carberry, 21. Raymond Myers, 22. Danny Hager;, DNS -- Steve Fannasy, Brian Boughter, Joe Orsulak.

FEATURE LAP LEADERS: Hager 1 - 3, Calaman 4 - 20.
HEAT RACE WINNERS: Carberry, Hager and Calaman

Street Stock Feature (15 laps): 1. Craig Morgan, 2. Kirby Sites, 3. Wes Alleman, 4. Paul Morgan, 5. Scott Thunberg, 6. Gary Johnston, 7. George Eash, 8. Skip Findley, 9. Mike Leonard, 10. Mike Arnold, 11. Mike Herman, 12. Brian Henise, 13. Sam Leonard Jr; DNS - Kevin Wirt, Tim Wirt, Lance Grove

HEAT RACE WINNERS: Craig Morgan, Kirby Sites

Four Cylinder Stock Car Feature (12 laps): 1. Ronnie Carlock, 2. Ed Hollenbach, 3. Kyle Wiser, 4. Eric Hollenbach, 5. Leroy Long, 6. Kyle Levengood, 7. Brian Michaels, 8. Brian Wentzel, 9. Ralph Morgan Jr., 10. Mike Buckley, 11. Mike Potts, 12. Scott Rickrode, 13. Dennis Christ Jr., 14. Sam Smith, 15. Butch Helsel, 16. Chris Smith, 17. Carl McCarty, 18. Matt Sowers, 19. John Stall Jr., 20. John Salter, 21. Grant Adams

FEATURE LAP LEADER: Ed Hollenbach 1 -- 7, Carlock 8 -- 15.
HEAT RACE WINNERS: Eric Hollenbach and Ed Hollenbach

One-on-One Street Car Drags Winner: J.R. Rodriguez


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint , Stock car
Drivers Mike Buckley , David Finch , Chris Smith , Bill Brown , Paul Miller , Paul Morgan , John Gary , Sam Smith