Susquehanna results 2005-06-02

Shepard Gets First SSP Sprint Car Win of the Season on Thursday Newberrytown, PA (June 2, 2005) -- Jeff Shepard raced to his first Susquehanna Speedway Park win of the season in Thursday evening's 25-lap feature on Big 33 and York County Racing...

Shepard Gets First SSP Sprint Car Win of the Season on Thursday

Newberrytown, PA (June 2, 2005) -- Jeff Shepard raced to his first Susquehanna Speedway Park win of the season in Thursday evening's 25-lap feature on Big 33 and York County Racing Club Night at the Races. In other action, Gene Knaub won the Xtreme Stock car feature, Bill Brown topped the Northeast Classic Car feature, and Jason Goodling was the Demo Derby winner.

Eric Stambaugh moved from his second starting spot into the lead on the first lap of the 25 lap Sprint Car feature, and for many laps appeared to be headed for the feature win. Shepard, meanwhile, had worked his way to second spot from his seventh starting spot, but had to contend with tenth place starter Greg Hodnett in a spirited battle. As the race drew to a closeStambaugh lost his advantage, and Shepard slipped by moving into the third turn with a little over a lap remaining. Hodnett also got by Stambaugh on the last lap.

Shepard claimed his third career SSP win, with Hodnett second and Stambaugh third. Mark smith finished fourth, with Cory Haas wnning a three car battle for fifth. Fred Rahmer, Alan Krimes, Blane Heimbach, Brian Leppo and Johnny Mackison Jr. completed the top ten. Heats went to Stambaugh, Bobby Weaver, and lance Dewease, with Chris Meleason taking the consy

Knaub took the lead on the first lap of the 20 lap Xtreme Stock feature and led all the way for his first win of the season. Larry Hughes Jr. finished second followed by Smoke Christine, Daryl Beakler and Mike Goodwin. Hughes car failed the post race tech inspection, moving the remainder of the field up one spot, with Bryon Sipe moving into fifth spot. Heats went to Knaub and Hughes, while David Wilhelm took the Pepsi Dash.

Kurt Welsh took the lead from Joe Crocker on the second of 15 laps in the Northeast classic feature and held the top spot until his father in law Bill Brown closed in during the final five laps. Brown and Welsh raced side by side for several laps until Brown took the lead on lap 14. In the end Brown was the winner over Welsh, Jamie Lloyd Crocker and Joe Snodgrass. Heats went to Welsh and Brown.

The next race at SSP will be Sunday night, June 5 with the Trail Motors Super Sporstman, Street Stocks, Four Cylinder Stock Cars and the One-on-One Street Car Drags paying $250 to win. The Drags are limited to 16 entries and entry forms may be obtained online at or by contacting the SSP home office.

Gates open in the pit area and grandstands at 5:00 p.m. Warmups begin at 7:00 p.m. with racing beginning promptly at 7:30 p.m. SSP will continue its Repeat Fan Discount in which there will be a $2.00 discount for each person with a ticket stub from the May 29 or June 2 events only. For example, $2.00 off an Adult ticket for June 5 with and Adult ticket stub from the May 29 or June 2 events. Returning fans are encouraged to write their name, address and phone number on the back of the stub to be entered into special drawings to be held during the season for great prizes. Last season, the grand prize was two tickets to the NASCAR race in October at the Lowe's Motor Speedway in Charlotte, North Carolina. Pit pass prices are $20.00 with a reduced price of $18.00 for all track license holders.

SSP Results from Sunday, June 2, 2005

Sprint Car Feature (25 laps): 1. Jeff Shepard 2. Greg Hodnett 3. Eric Stambaugh 4. Mark Smith 5. Cory Haas 6. Fred Rahmer 7. Alan Krimes 8. Blane Heimbach 9. Brian Leppo 10. Johnny Mackison Jr. 11. Bobby Weaver 12. Dave Cordier 13. Brent Kluge 14. Chris Meleason 15. Scott Lutz 16. Chad Jumper 17. Pat Cooper 18. Jason Johnson 19. Mike Rabold 20. Lance Dewease DNQ Steve Poploski, Jimmy Callahan Jr., Josh Wells

FEATURE LAP LEADERS: Stambaugh 1-23 Shepard 24-25
HEAT RACE WINNERS: Stambaugh, Weaver, Dewease

Xtreme Stock Cars Feature (20 laps): 1. Gene Knaub 2. Smoke Christine s. Daryl Beakler 4. Mike Goodwin 5. Bryon Sipe 6. Karl Windish 7. David Wilhelm 8. Adam Smith 9. Travis Horan 10. Sam Rial 11. Matt Wampler q2. Chris Mudd 13. Eric Snoke 14. John Hiden Jr. 16. Ronnie Thomas 16. Rick Christine 17. Jerry Blauch 18. Tom Slanker 19. Tom Johns 20. John Scrivens 21. Jason Failor 22. Charlie Pensinger 23. Nathan Heindle 24. Steve Clemens 25. Bob Bender 26. Matt Gulish 27. Travis Stark 28. Tony Tumas 29. Bryan Shue 30. Matt Mixell 31. Adrian Barnhardt 32. Larry Lohss Jr. 33. Les Scrivens 34. Brian Sanders 35. Rich Lomman 36. Chris Heller; DQ: Larry Hughes Jr. DNS: Alan Miller, Terry Myers


Classic Cars Feature (15 laps): 1. Bill Brown 2. Kurt Welsh 3. Jamie Lloyd 4. Joe Crocker 5. Joe Snodgrass 6. Mike Schultz 7. Allen Cullum 8.Fred Cullum 9. Randy Doty 10Rob Bellew 11. Daryl Winkler12. Ron Ritenour 13Al Daniels 14. Larry Leiphart 15. Al Daniels Jr. 16. Jack Yingling 17. Jerry Pownell DNS Mark Jago.

FEATURE LAP LEADER: Crocker 1 Welsh 2-13 Brown 14-15

Demolition Derby: 1.Jason Goodling


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint , Stock car
Drivers Chris Meleason , Rob Bell , Bill Brown , Adam Smith , Mike Goodwin , Jason Johnson