Susquehanna results 2005-05-05

RAHMER BACK ON TOP IN SSP SPRINT CAR ACTION NEWBERRYTOWN, PA (May 5, 2004) -- With more than 100 racecars in the pit area, defending Sprint Car champion Fred Rahmer from Salfordville picked up his first Susquehanna Speedway Park win of the...


NEWBERRYTOWN, PA (May 5, 2004) -- With more than 100 racecars in the pit area, defending Sprint Car champion Fred Rahmer from Salfordville picked up his first Susquehanna Speedway Park win of the season on Thursday evening. In other action, Tom Johns won the Xtreme Stock Car feature, Ronnie Dunstan won in Legends Cars action and Cheryl Howsare was victorious in the inaugural W.O.W. (Women on Wheels) feature event.

Rahmer started fourth in the 25-lap Sprint Car feature, but made a strong move on the first lap to take control. He led every lap but had to contend with a late race challenge from Lance Dewease. Dewease caught Rahmer in lapped traffic just before Dave McGough flipped with three laps remaining. Rahmer took off on the restart to top Dewease and record his 26th career SSP win.

Dewease settled for second spot with current point lead Greg Hodnett grabbing third from Eric Stambaugh on the final lap. Jason Johnson completed the top five. Rounding out the top ten were invader Jesse Hockett in the NASCAR driver Kasey Kayne owned Sprint Car, Doug Esh, Alan Krimes, Lucas Wolfe and Cliff Brian.

Last year's top winner, Tom Johns, who has suffered through numerous troubles this season finally put it all together to secure his first Xtreme Stock win of the season. Johns took the lead from Daryl Beakler on the fourth lap and never looked back. Gene Knaub came from deep in the pack to finish second, while Tom Slanker, Jerry Blauch and David Wilhelm completed the top five. Knaub failed post race technical inspection, thus moving everyone up one spot and moving Bryon Sipe into fifth. It marked the fourth time in as many races Wilhelm has come from the back of the pack to secure a top five finish.

Dunstan, a long time racing veteran, who won a Late Model championship at SSP in 1969, took the lead on lap two and went on to best his team mate Jason Rochelle for the Legends win. Tim Tomson, Butch Brough and Rod Kistler completed the top five.

In the Women-on-Wheels division, Deanna Frye led the first five laps until Cheryl Howsare overtook her on the sixth circuit. Howsare and Frye battled side by side until Frye almost spun coming out of turn four with two laps to go. Howsare took the victory followed by Frye and Shelia Bertucci.

The next race at SSP will be Thursday night, May 12 with a 5-lap wingless ARDC Midget Match Race pitting Mike Miller against his two daughters, Michele and Tracy. Miller family bragging rights will be on the line. Also featured that night is the Sprint Cars and Xtreme Stock Cars. Gates open in the pit area and grandstands at 5:00 p.m. Warmups begin at 7:00 p.m. with racing beginning promptly at 7:30 p.m. SSP will continue its Repeat Fan Discount in which there will be a $2.00 discount for each person with a ticket stub from the May 5 event only. For example, $2.00 off an Adult ticket for May 12 with and Adult ticket stub from the May 5 event. Returning fans are encouraged to write their name, address and phone number on the back of the stub to be entered into special drawings to be held during the season for great prizes. Last season, the grand prize was two tickets to the NASCAR race in October at the Lowe's Motor Speedway in Charlotte, North Carolina. Pit pass prices are $20.00 with a reduced price of $18.00 for all track license holders.

For more information, visit or call the SSP home office at (717) 292-1696. The Susquehanna Speedway Park is located off I-83 to exit 32, then 1.4 miles NW on SR382 to York Road, then 1.3 miles south. On raceday, use the track phone at (717) 938-9170.


SPRINT CAR FEATURE (25 laps): q. Fred Rahmer 2. Lance Dewease 3. Greg Hodnett 4. Eric Stambaugh 5. Jason Johnson 6. Jesse Hockett 7. Doug Esh 8. Alan Krimes 9. Lucas Wolfe 10. Cliff Brian 11. Johnny Mackison Jr.J12. Jim Siegel 13. Jeff Shepard 14. Glenndon Forsythe q5. Blane Heimbach 16. Kevin Nouse 17. Brent Kluge 18. Michael Carber 19. Dave McGough 20. Bobby Weaver

DNQ..Brian Leppo, Mike Rabold,Todd Zinn, Jimmy Callahan Jr., Steve Poploski, Scott Lutz

HEAT WINNERS: Stambaugh, Dewease, Johnson

XTREME STOCK CAR FEATURE (20 laps): 1.Tom Johns 2. Gene Knaub 3.Tom Slanker 4.Jerry Blauch 5. David Wilhelm 6. Bryon Sipe 7. Daryl Beakler 8. Matt Wompler 9. Adam Smith 10. Jason Failor 11. Mike Goodwin 12. Travis Horan 13. Eric Snoke 14. Wayne Eurich 15. Bob Bender 16. Brian Sanders 17. Harry Sipe 18. Eugene Lentz 19. Zac Beck 20. Nate Heindel 21. Larry Landis 22. Gerald Barnes 23. Matt Smith 24. Charles Schomann 25. Karl Windish 26. Smoke Christine 27. Alan Miller 28. Adrian Barnhart 29. Trevor Stark 30. Matt Mixell 31. Carl Cassel 32. Charlie Pensinger 33. Mike Mixell 34. John Hiden Jr. 35. Bill Fulton 36. Sam Rial DNS- Steven Dolittle, Dick Tracy, Larry Hughes Jr., Randy Shifflet, Brian Spencer FEATURE LAP LEADERS: Beakler 1-3, Johns 4-20

HEAT WINNERS: Christine, Hughes

LEGENDS CAR FEATURE (15 laps): 1. Ronnie Dunston, 2. Jason Rochelle, 3. Tim Tomson, 4. Butch Brough, 5. Rod Kistler, 6. Randy Kissinger, 7. Randy Fetterhoff, 8. Geremy Sheaffer, 9. Wayne Young, 10. Bob Murray, 11. Greg Burd, 12. Andy Lupfer, 13. Jason Ewing, 14. Pat McDermott,15. Bill Harris, 16. Allen Felix, 17. Bob Lash, 18. Zach Deter,19. Jim Black, 20. Ron Cooper, 21. Ed Wentz, 22. Kenny Keyton, 23. Robert Sobieski, 24. Jim Halbert, 25. Gerry Eldridge, 26. Jason Smith

FEATURE LAP LEADERS: Kissinger 1, Dunston 2-15
HEAT WINNERS: Fetterhoff, Kissinger, Tomson

WOMEN ON WHEELS (W.O.W.) FEATURE (10 laps): 1. Cheryl Howsare 2. Deanna Frye 3.Sheila Bertucci 4. Penny Repp 5. Kelly Resh 6. Jonda Draucker 7. Mrs. Horan 8. Bonnie Bare 9.Wendy Swab 10. Shrile Bestucci 11. Karen Powell DNS 12. Heidi Kauffman

FEATURE LAP LEADERS: Frye 1-5, Howsare 6-10


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint , Stock car
Drivers Jason Smith , Mike Miller , Matthew Smith , Adam Smith , Lucas Wolfe , Jesse Hockett , Mike Goodwin , Jason Johnson