Susquehanna results 2005-04-14

JOHNSON WIN SEASON OPENER IN SSP SPRINT CAR ACTION NEWBERRYTOWN, PA (April 14, 2004) -- Jason Johnson making his first ever visit to Susquehanna Speedway Park drove to victory lane in Thursday evening's 25-lap Sprint Car feature. In other...


NEWBERRYTOWN, PA (April 14, 2004) -- Jason Johnson making his first ever visit to Susquehanna Speedway Park drove to victory lane in Thursday evening's 25-lap Sprint Car feature. In other action, Butch Brough won the 15-lap Legends feature event, and Jerry Blauch won the 20-lap Xtreme Stock Car feature.

The 25-lap Sprint Car feature got off to a rocky start when polesitter Josh Wells spun in the first turn. Wells' misfortune moved Johnson to the pole position, and he immediately claimed the lead on the restart. The caution flew again with just one lap completed when defending track champion Fred Rahmer was involved in a tangle with Chad Jumper and Pat Cooper. After that just two more cautions slowed the pace, one for Wells again on lap 5, and another for Cliff Brian on the sixth lap.

Through it all Johnson held the top spot despite serious pressure from Lance Dewease. Meanwhile Greg Hodnett was moving toward the front, and eventually passed Dewease and began to challenge Johnson. Johnson, however held off Hodentt and went on to claim the feature win. Hodnett settled for second with Jeff Shepard third. Dewease and Doug Esh completed the top five.

Rounding out the top ten were Blane Heimbach, Mark Smith, Rahmer, who returned from the rear of the field after an early race incident, Brian Leppo, and Cory Haas. Heat wins for the Sprint Cars went to Wells, Esh and Heimbach, while Cooper took the consolation victory.

Brough, like Johnson, led every lap of the Legends car feature, but also like Johnson had to fend off heavy pressure in the closing laps. At the finish Brough just edged Ronnie Dunstan and Jason Rochelle. Rod Kistler and Geremy Shaffer completed the top five. Heats went to Kistler, Rochelle and Dunstan.

Blauch did not lead all 20 laps of the Xtreme Stock feature. He took the lead from Mike Mixell on the second lap and had to fend off defending champion Charlie Pensinger at the finish. Following the top two were Karl Windish, David Wilhelm, and Steve Clemens. Heats went to Mixell and Brian Sanders.

The next race at SSP will be Thursday night, April 21 with the Sprint Cars and Xtreme Stock Cars and the return of the Great American School Buses. Gates open in the pit area and grandstands at 5:00 p.m. Warmups begin at 7:00 p.m. with racing beginning promptly at 7:30 p.m. SSP will continue its Repeat Fan Discount in which there will be a $2.00 discount for each person with a ticket stub from the April 14 event only. For example, $2.00 off an Adult ticket for April 21 with and Adult ticket stub from the April 14 event. Returning fans are encouraged to write their name, address and phone number on the back of the stub to be entered into special drawings to be held during the season for great prizes. Last season, the grand prize was two tickets to the NASCAR race in October at the Lowe's Motor Speedway in Charlotte, North Carolina. Pit pass prices are $20.00 with a reduced price of $18.00 for all track license holders.

For more information, visit or call the SSP home office at (717) 292-1696. The Susquehanna Speedway Park is located off I-83 to exit 32, then 1.4 miles NW on SR382 to York Road, then 1.3 miles south.


SPRINT CAR FEATURE (25 laps) 1. Jason Johnson, 2. Greg Hodnett, 3. Jeff Shepard, 4. Lance Dewease, 5. Doug Esh, 6. Blane Heimbach, 7. Mark Smith, 8. Fred Rahmer, 9. Brian Leppo, 10. Cory Haas, 11. Jim Siegel, 12. Eric Stambaugh, 13. Johnny Mackison Jr., 14. Josh Wells, 15. Brent Kluge, 16. Cliff Brian, 17. Chad Jumper, 18. Pat Cooper, 19. Steve Poploski, 20. Alan Krimes; DNQ: Bill Brown, Bill Heltzel, Jimmy Callahan Jr.

HEAT WINNERS: Wells, Esh, Heimbach

XTREME ENDURO FEATURE (20 laps) 1.Jerry Blauch, 2. Charlie Pensinger, 3. Karl Windish, 4. David Wilhelm, 5. Steve Clemens, 6. Mike Goodwin, 7. Adam Smith, 8. Mike Mixell, 9. Brian Sanders, 10. Carl Cassell, 11. Brian Spencer, 12. Eric Snoke, 13. Wayne Eurich, 14. Harry Sipe, 15. Paul Tiemann, 16. Matt Mixell, 17. Karl Davis, 18. Les Scrivens Jr., 19. Red Garmen, 20. Sam Rial, 21. Daryl Beakler, 22. Trevor Stark, 23. Bryon Sipe, 24. Rodney Christine, 25. Alan Miller; DNS: Tom Johns, Jason Failor, Travis Horan, Jesse Henry, Brian Shuey, Nate Heindle

FEATURE LAP LEADERS: Mixell 1, Blauch 2-20
HEAT WINNERS: Mixell and Sanders

LEGENDS CARS FEATURE (15 laps) q. Butch Brough 2. Ronnie Dunstan 3. Jason Rochelle 4. Rod Kistler 5. Geremy Sheaffer 6. Randy Kissinger 7. Zach Dieter 8. Mark Schaeffer 9. Greg Burd 10. Jim Black 11. Jim Halbert 12. Bill Harris 13. Lamar Shaffer 14. Dallas Schittler Jr. 15. Randy Fetterhoff 16. Ron Cooper 17. Bob Lash 18. Ken Keyton 19. Bob Sobieski 20. Lawrence Garrison 21. Wayne Young 22. Gerry Eldridge 23. Scott Spidle 24. Pat McDermott 25. Paul Fitzsimmons DNS Andy Lupfer

HEAT WINNERS: Kistler, Dunstan, Rochelle


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint , Stock car
Drivers Bill Brown , Adam Smith , Mike Goodwin , Jason Johnson