Susquehanna results 2004-09-09

Hodnett Wins at SSP on Thursday NEWBERRYTOWN, PA (September 9, 2004) - Greg Hodnett's third Susquehanna Speedway Park win of the season came in a real thriller Thursday evening. Hodnett's last lap pass for the lead also netted him an ...

Hodnett Wins at SSP on Thursday

NEWBERRYTOWN, PA (September 9, 2004) - Greg Hodnett's third Susquehanna Speedway Park win of the season came in a real thriller Thursday evening. Hodnett's last lap pass for the lead also netted him an additional $1000 bounty for beating Fred Rahmer. Hodnett's total take on the evening was $3500. In other action Keith Walls won the Great American School Bus Race, and Larry Hughes Jr. won the Xtreme Enduro feature.

Polesitter Chad Jumper took the early lead in the 25 lap sprint car feature event, and held sway through the first 11 laps despite a pack of hungry competitors on his tail. Jumper's fine run ended when he spun out on the 12th lap, turning the lead over to Eric Stambaugh. Stambaugh appeared to have the win in the back, holding off Hodnett on several restarts, but a spin by Pat Cooper with a lap remaining set up a one lap dash to the finish.

Hodnett got by Stambaugh on the first turn of the final lap and went on to score the victory. Rahmer got by Stambaugh on the final turn for second. Stambaugh had to settle for third, with Brian Leppo and Lance Dewease in the top five. Rounding out the top ten were rookie Chris Meleason, Cory Haas, Bob Bennett, Scott Lutz and Jumper who returned for tenth. Heat wins went to Leppo and Meleason.

In the Great American School Bus Race Keith Walls took the lead from the start, but had to deal with constant pressure from Rob Harkins the whole way. Harkins took over the top spot on the next to last lap, but a lapped bus blocked his path on the final lap, and Walls snuck back by for the win. Alan Witmer, Harold Ebaugh and Will Loose completed the top five. Heats went to Witmer and Walls.

Larry Hughes Jr. started from the pole and led all 20 laps of the Xtreme Enduro feature despite constant pressure from both David Wilhelm and Charlie Pensinger. They were the top three with Karl Windish and Alan Miller completing the top five. Heats went to Hughes and Miller, with Matt Wampler taking the Pepsi Dash.

Thee next race will be Thursday Night, September 16 as SSP hosts the One-on-One Street Car Drags along with the 410 Sprint Cars, Xtreme Enduro Stock Cars and the Legends Cars. Gates open in the pit area at 4:00 p.m. with the grandstand gates opening at 5:00 p.m. Warmups begin at 7:00 p.m. with racing beginning promptly at 7:30 p.m. Grandstand ticket prices are Adults (18 & older) $12.00; Teens (13-17) $8.00; Children (6-12) $4.00; and Children (5 & under) are free. SSP will continue its Repeat Fan Discount in which there will be a $2.00 discount for each person with a ticket stub from the September 9 event only. For example, $2.00 off an Adult ticket for September 16 with and Adult ticket stub from the September 9 event. Returning fans are encouraged to write their name, address and phone number on the back of the stub to be entered into a special drawing to be held at the end of the season. The grand prize will be two tickets to the NASCAR race in October at the Lowe's Motor Speedway in Charlotte, North Carolina. Pit pass prices are $20.00 with a reduced price of $18.00 for all track license holders. The raindate will be Sunday night, September 19 with the same time schedule.

For more information, visit or call the SSP home office at (717) 292-1696. The Susquehanna Speedway Park is located off I-83 to exit 32, then 1.4 miles NW on SR382 to York Road, then 1.3 miles south. On raceday, use the track phone at (717) 938-9170.


410 SPRINT CAR FEATURE (25 laps) 1. Greg Hodnett 2. Fred Rahmer 3. Eric Stambaugh 4. Brian Leppo 5. Lance Dewease 6. Chris Meleason 7. Cory Haas 8. Bob Bennett 9. Scott Lutz 10. Chad Jumper 11. Pat Cooper 12. Bill Heltzel 13. Brent Kluge 14. Josh Wells 15. Todd Zinn 16. Jim Siegel

FEATURE LAP LEADERS: Jumper 1-11, Stambaugh 12-24, Hodnett 25
HEAT WINNERS: Leppo, Meleason

XTREME ENDURO FEATURE (20 laps) 1. Larry Hughes Jr. 2. David Wilhelm 3. Charlie Pensinger 4. Karl Windish 5. Alan Miller 6. Matt Wampler 7. Tom Johns 8. Matt Smith 9. Brian Sanders 10. Sam Rial 11. Gerald Barnes 12. Ricky Hippensteel Jr. 13. Mike Goodwin 14. Jason Failor 15. Mike Mixell 16. Bryon Sipe 17. Travis Horan 18. Jerry Blauch 19. Charles Schomann 20. Zach Beck, DNS: Ronnie Thomas, Sam Henry

HEAT WINNERS: Hughes, Miller

THE GREAT AMERICAN SCHOOL BUS FEATURE (12 laps) 1. Keith Walls 2. Rob Harkins 3. Alan Witmer 4. Harold Ebaugh 5.Will Loose 6. Tom Thomas 7. Paul Fisher 8. J.R. Rodriguez 9. Brandt Fink 10. Heidi Thomas 11. Shawn Arndt 12. Jeff Amsbaugh 13. Jeff Ebersole DNS: Mike Zerrance

FEATURE LAP LEADERS: Walls 1-10, Harkins 11, Walls 12
HEAT WINNERS: Walls, Witman


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint , Stock car
Drivers Chris Meleason , Matthew Smith , Mike Goodwin