Susquehanna results 2004-09-02

NEWBERRYTOWN, PA (September 2, 2004) - Fred Rahmer won his sixth Susquehanna Speedway Park Sprint Car feature of the season Thursday evening. Rahmer's $2,500 victory was his fourth in a row at SSP, and his sixth consecutive win on the tough...

NEWBERRYTOWN, PA (September 2, 2004) - Fred Rahmer won his sixth Susquehanna Speedway Park Sprint Car feature of the season Thursday evening. Rahmer's $2,500 victory was his fourth in a row at SSP, and his sixth consecutive win on the tough central Pennsylvania circuit. In other action, Tom Johns won the Xtreme Enduro Stock Car feature event and Scott Wallace won the Demo Derby.

Polesitter Dave Cordier took the early lead in the 25 lap Sprint Car feature, as the action at midpack was intense. Rahmer, who had started 12th, was steadily working his way forward, and caught Cordier in lapped traffic on the tenth lap. Although Rahmer was in front, his win still wasn't an easy one, as tenth starter Lance Dewease tracked Rahmer through lapped traffic, but never did get a shot at the lead. In the end, Rahmer scored his 24th career SSP win, and his 28th overall this season.

Dewease settled for second with Cordier hanging on to the third position. Greg Hodnett nipped Jim Siegel at the finish line for fourth position. Following Siegel in the top ten were Brent Kluge, Eric Stambaugh, Josh Wells, Scott Lutz and Billy Dietrich. Heats went to Cordier and Dewease. In victory lane, it was announced that a $1,000 bounty will go to any driver other than Fred Rahmer that can win the next event at SSP on Thursday, September 2. The only stipulation is that Rahmer must finish the 25 lap race in which he will start in 12th position if he makes the handicap pool.

Johns started deep in the field in the 20 lap Xtreme Enduro Stock Car feature and took the lead from Sam Rial on the 12th lap. Rial finished second followed by Jason Failor, Matt Wampler and Mike Goodwin. Heats went to Failor and Matt Smith, while Ronnie Thomas took the Pepsi Dash.

In a special relay race for the School buses, the team of Heidi Thomas, Alan Witmer, J.R. Rodriguez, and Rob Harkins were the winners.

The next race will be Sunday Night, September 5 with the Credit Connection / Trail Motors Night at the Races featuring the Super Sportsman Tour, the Silver Springs Street Stocks paying $500-to-win and double features for the PA Four Cylinders. The Silver Springs Street Stocks feature is sponsored by Miller's Racing Parts. Gates open in the pit area at 4:00 p.m. with the grandstand gates opening at 5:00 p.m. Warmups begin at 7:00 p.m. with racing beginning promptly at 7:30 p.m. Grandstand ticket prices are Adults (18 & older) $12.00; Teens (13-17) $8.00; Children (6-12) $4.00; and Children (5 & under) are free. SSP will continue its Repeat Fan Discount in which there will be a $2.00 discount on general admission for each person with a ticket stub from the September 2 event only. For example, $2.00 off an Adult ticket for September 5 with and Adult ticket stub from the September 2 event. Pit pass prices are $20.00 with a reduced price of $18.00 for all track license holders. A track license is $25.00 for the year. The raindate will be announced if needed.

For more information, visit or call the SSP home office at (717) 292-1696. The Susquehanna Speedway Park is located off I-83 to exit 32, then 1.4 miles NW on SR382 to York Road, then 1.3 miles south. On raceday, use the track phone at (717) 938-9170.


410 SPRINT CAR FEATURE (25 laps)  1. Fred Rahmer  2. Lance Dewease  3.
Dave Cordier  4. Greg Hodnett  5. Jim Siegel  6. Brent Kluge  7. Eric
Stambaugh  8. Josh Wells 9. Scott Lutz,  10. Billy Dietrich  11. Chad
Jumper  12. Pat Cooper  13. Chris Meleason  14. Michael Hamer  15. Billy
Heltzel  16.  Jeff Taylor  17. Lloyd Ettinger  18. Todd Zinn  19. Brian
Leppo  20. Danny Dietrich

FEATURE LAP LEADERS: Cordier 1-9 Rahmer 10-25
HEAT WINNERS: Cordier, Dewease

XTREME ENDURO FEATURE (20 laps) 1.Tom Johns 2. Sam Rial 3. Jason Failor 4. Matt Wampler 5. Mike Goodwin 6. Charlie Pensinger 7. Alan Miller 8. Ronnie Thomas 9. David Wilhelm 10. Greg Miller 11. Karl Windish 12. Tony Tumas 13. Bryon Sipe 14. Travis Horan 15. Brian Sanders 16. Gerrold Barnes 17. Rich Lomman 18. Larry Hughes Jr. 19. Bobby Glass Jr. 20. Tom Slanker 21. Zach Beck 22. Adrian Barnhart 23. Mike Mixell 24. StanSteinhour 25. Jerry Blauch 26. Matt Smith 27. Les Scrivens Jr. DQ- Steve Harlan DNS- Ricky Hippensteel Jr., Jason Zook, and Carl Cassel

FEATURE LAP LEADERS: Rial 1-11, Johns 12-20
HEAT WINNERS: Fallor, Smith


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint , Stock car
Drivers Chris Meleason , Matthew Smith , Mike Goodwin