Susquehanna results 2004-08-22

NEWBERRYTOWN, PA (August 22, 2004) - "Fast Freddie" Rahmer showed once again why he is the point leader at Susquehanna Speedway Park with a convincing victory in Sunday's 25-lap Sprint Car feature. The $2500 victory was Rahmer's fourth of the ...

NEWBERRYTOWN, PA (August 22, 2004) - "Fast Freddie" Rahmer showed once again why he is the point leader at Susquehanna Speedway Park with a convincing victory in Sunday's 25-lap Sprint Car feature. The $2500 victory was Rahmer's fourth of the season at SSP and his 22nd career here. In other action veteran Ronnie Dunstan topped the INEX Legends feature, and Larry Hughes got his first Xtreme Enduro win of the season.

Outside polesitter Jim Siegel led the first two laps of the Sprint Car feature before giving up the lead to fourth place starter Lance Dewease. Meanwhile, Rahmer was working his way forward from the 11th starting spot. Rahmer slipped by Dewease for the lead in lapped traffic on the 16th lap and then checked out on the field. Dewease settled for second, with Greg Hodnett third. Doug Esh and Brian Leppo completed the top five. Rounding out the top ten finishers were Chad Layton, Siegel, Kevin Nouse, Blane Heimbach, and Billy Dietrich. Heats went to Dewease, Siegel and Esh with Becca Anderson taking the consy.

Harry Garber jumped out into the lead at the start of the 15-lap Legends feature, and appeared headed to victory until Jason Rochelle caught him with several laps remaining. A tight battle for the lead got a little too close on the final turn, and the ensuing tangle caught several other cars as well, including third place runner rod Kistler. That turned the lead over to Ronnie Dunstan, who managed to miss the tangle from his fourth place position. Dunstan went on to win over Bob Murray, Josh Morrow, Greg Burd, and Randy Fetterhoff. Heats went to Kistler and Dunstan.

Larry Hughes Jr. started from the pole and led all 20 laps to win his first Xtreme Enduro Stock Car feature of the season. Alan Miller finished second, followed by Sam Rial, Jerry Blauch and Charlie Pensinger. Pensinger also won the Pepsi Challenge Dash.

The next race will be Thursday Night, August 26 as SSP hosts the fourth annual York County Nationals paying $3,200 to the winner of the 32 lap 410 Sprint Car feature event. Along with the sprints, Xtreme Enduro Stock Cars and the Classic Cars will be in action. Gates open in the pit area at 4:00 p.m. with the grandstand gates opening at 5:00 p.m. Warmups begin at 7:00 p.m. with racing beginning promptly at 7:30 p.m. Grandstand ticket prices are Adults (18 & older) $15.00; Teens (13-17) $8.00; Children (6-12) $4.00; and Children (5 & under) are free. SSP will continue its Repeat Fan Discount in which there will be a $2.00 discount on general admission for each person with a ticket stub from the August 22 event only. For example, $2.00 off an Adult ticket for August 26 with and Adult ticket stub from the August 22 event. Pit pass prices are $25.00 with a reduced price of $20.00 for all track license holders. A track license is $25.00 for the year. The raindate will be announced.

For more information, visit or call the SSP home office at (717) 292-1696. The Susquehanna Speedway Park is located off I-83 to exit 32, then 1.4 miles NW on SR382 to York Road, then 1.3 miles south. On raceday, use the track phone at (717) 938-9170.


410 SPRINT CAR FEATURE (25 laps) 1. Fred Rahmer 2. Lance Dewease 3. Greg Hodnett 4. Doug Esh 5. Brian Leppo 6. Chad Layton 7. Jim Siegel 8. Kevin Nouse 9. Blane Heimbach 10. Billy Dietrich 11. Danny Dietrich 12. Karl Baker 13. Chris Meleason 14. Scott Lutz 15. Becca Anderson 16. Pat Cooper 17. JR Berry 18. Jeff Taylor 19. Michael Hamer 20. Billy Heltzel 21. Chad Jumper 22. Joe Diehl 23. Lloyd Ettinger 24. Brent Kluge DNS Todd Zinn, Doug Rohrbaugh, Dave Cordier, Keith Anderson

FEATURE LAP LEADERS: Siegel 1-2, Dewease 3-15, Rahmer 16-25
HEAT WINNERS: Dewease, Siegel, Esh

XTREME ENDURO FEATURE (20 laps) 1. Larry Hughes 2. Alan Miller 3. Sam Rial 4. Jerry Blauch 5. Charlie Pensinger 6. Greg Miller 7. Brian Lomman 8. Rob Stitley 9. Bryon Sipe 10. Ronnie Thomas 11. Tom Slanker 12. Ricky Hippensteel Jr. 13. Brian Sanders 14. Gary Cekovich 15. Adrian Barnhardt 16. Bob Pyle 17. Mike Goodwin 18. Tom Johns 19. Les Scrivens Jr. 20. Raymond Repp 21. Andrew Frye 22. Karl Windish 23. Rich Lomman 24. Bobby Glass Jr. 25. Wayne Eurich 26. Matt Smith 27. Mike Mixell


LEGENDS CARS FEATURE (15 laps) 1. Ronnie Dunstan 2. Bob Murray 3. Josh Morrow 4. Greg Burd 5. Randy Fetterhoff 6. Randy Kissinger 7. Lamar Shaffer 8. Andy Lupfer 9. Bill Harris 10. Dave Kline 11. Ed Wentz 12. Jason Rochelle 13. Paul Fitzsimmons 14. Rod Kistler 15. Laura McGonnell 16. Bob Lash 17. Harry Garber 18. Tim Tomson 19. Jim black 20. Allen Felix 21. Jay Aten 22. Dallas Schittler Jr. 23. Robert Sobieski

FEATURE LAP LEADERS: Garber 1-14 Dunstan 15
HEAT WINNERS: Kistler, Dunstan


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint , Stock car
Drivers Chris Meleason , Matthew Smith , Becca Anderson , Mike Goodwin