Susquehanna results 2004-08-05

NEWBERRYTOWN, PA (August 5, 2004) - Susquehanna Speedway Park Sprint Car point leader Fred Rahmer padded his point lead with a win in Thursday evening 's 25 lap feature event. In other action, Jared Wintermyer claimed his second School Bus win,...

NEWBERRYTOWN, PA (August 5, 2004) - Susquehanna Speedway Park Sprint Car point leader Fred Rahmer padded his point lead with a win in Thursday evening 's 25 lap feature event. In other action, Jared Wintermyer claimed his second School Bus win, Ronnie Dunstan won his second Legends feature event, and Mike Goodwin scored his second Xtreme Enduro feature win.

Dave Cordier led the first nine laps of the Sprint Car feature event from the pole position, as Rahmer was moving forward from the eighth starting spot. Rahmer took control on the tenth lap, as the event went 23 laps before Cordier, who was still running strongly in the top five tangle with a lapped car to bring out the firstand only caution flag. On the restart Rahmer motored away to his third Susky win of the season. The $2500 victory was Rahmer's 21st career win at SSP.

Jim Siegel finished second ahead of Lance Dewease, with Eric Stambaugh fourth. Josh Wells slipped by Brian Leppo on the final lap for fifth. Following Leppo in sixth were Donnie Kreitz Jr., Peter Attard, Blane Heimbach and Brent Kluge. Heat wins went to Rahmer, Kreitz and Siegel.

Wintermeyer came from deep in the pack to best Alan Witmer for the win in the ten lap School Bus race. Mike Ruth, Rob Harkins and Harold Ebaugh completed the top five. Bus heats went to JR Rodriguez and Harkins.

Dunstan took the lead from Josh Morrow on the second lap and held off numerous challenges from his teammate Jason Rochelle to win the 15 lap Legends event. Morrow finished third followed by Rod Kistler and Bob Murray. Heats went to Harry Garber, Tim Tomson and Kistler.

Goodwin, who hadn't won since opening day, started from the pole and led every lap to win the 20 lapper for the xtreme endures. Charlie Pensinger pressured Goodwin for most of the race, but had to settle for second. Sam Rial, Pat Hires, and Matt smith completed the top five. Heats went to Goodwin and Ronnie Thomas, with Tom Johns taking the Pepsi Dash.

The next race will be Thursday Night, August 12 as SSP hosts the Round Two of the Trail Motors 358/360 Open Challenge Race paying $1,500 to the winner. Along with the sprints, Xtreme Enduro Stock Cars and the EMMR Vintage Cars / Williams Grove Old Timers will be in action. Gates open in the pit area at 4:00 p.m. with the grandstand gates opening at 5:00 p.m. Warmups begin at 7:00 p.m. with racing beginning promptly at 7:30 p.m. Grandstand ticket prices are Adults (18 & older) $12.00; Teens (13-17) $8.00; Children (6-12) $4.00; and Children (5 & under) are free. SSP will continue its Repeat Fan Discount in which there will be a $2.00 discount on general admission for each person with a ticket stub from the August 5 event only. For example, $2.00 off an Adult ticket for August 12 with and Adult ticket stub from the August 5 event. Pit pass prices are $20.00 with a reduced price of $18.00 for all track license holders. A track license is $25.00 for the year. The raindate will be Sunday night, August 15 with the same time schedule.

For more information, visit or call the SSP home office at (717) 292-1696. The Susquehanna Speedway Park is located off I-83 to exit 32, then 1.4 miles NW on SR382 to York Road, then 1.3 miles south. On raceday, use the track phone at (717) 938-9170.


410 SPRINT CAR FEATURE (25 laps) 1. Fred Rahmer 2. Jim Siegel 3. Lance Dewease 4. Eric Stambaugh 5. Josh Wells 6. Brian Leppo 7. Donnie Kreitz Jr. 8. Peter Attard 9. Blane Heimbach 10. Brent Kluge 11. TJ Stutts 12. Gary Gollub 13. Pat Cooper 14. Chad Jumper 15. Karl Baker 16. Chris Meleason 17. Scott Lutz 18. JR Berry 19. Scott Zellers 20. Billy Hetzel 21. Jeff Taylor 22. Michael Hamer 23. Dave Cordier 24. Brian Bossinger 25. Lloyd Ettinger

FEATURE LAP LEADERS:Cordier 1-9 Rahmer 10-25
HEAT WINNERS: Rahmer, Kreitz, Siegel

XTREME ENDURO FEATURE (20 laps) 1. Mike Goodwin 2. Charlie Pensinger 3. Sam Rial 4. Pat Hires 5. Matt Smith 6. Karl Windish 7. Brian Sanders 8. Jason Failor 9. Tom Slanker 10. Alan Miller 11. Travis Horan 12. Andrew Frye 13. Raymond Repp 14. Darren Williams 15. Tom Johns 16. Adrian Barnhardt 17. Jerry Blauch 18. Ronnie Thomas 19. Matt Wampler 20. Bobby Glass Jr. 21. Bryon Sipe DNS Ricky Hippensteel Jr., Rich Lomman

HEAT WINNERS: Goodwin, Thomas

LEGENDS CARS FEATURE (15 laps) 1. Ronnie Dunstan 2. Jason Rochelle 3. Josh Morrow 4. Rod Kistler 5. Bob Murray 6. Randy Kissinger 7. Dallas Schittler 8. Zach Dieter 9. Laura McGonnell 10. Paul Fitzsimmons 11. Robert Sobieski 12. James Halbert 13. Harry Garber 14. Greg Burd 15. Denny Rothermel 16. Ron Cooper 17. Bob Lash 18. Randy Fetterhoff 19. Andy Lupfer 20. Wayne Young 21. Ed Wentz 22. Allen Felix 23. Tim Tomson 24. Bill Harris 25. Dave Kline DNS Jim Black

FEATURE LAP LEADERS: Morrow 1 Dunstan 2-15
HEAT WINNERS: Garber, Tomson, Kistler

THE GREAT AMERICAN SCHOOL BUS FEATURE (10 laps) 1. Jared Wintermeyer 2. Alan Witmer 3. Mike Ruth 4. Rob Harkins 5. Harold Ebaugh 6. JR Rodriguez 7. Bobby Glass Jr. 8. Barry Jacobs 9. Dave Snelbaker 10. Paul Fisher 11. Brant Fink 12. Art Wells 13. Jeff Ebersole 14. Tom Strayer 15. Heidi Thomas

FEATURE LAP LEADERS: Ruth 1 Wintermeyer 2-10
HEAT WINNERS: Rodriguez, Harkins


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint , Stock car
Drivers Chris Meleason , Matthew Smith , Mike Goodwin
Teams Williams