Susquehanna race results 2004-05-13

NEWBERRYTOWN, PA (May 13, 2004) - Greg Hodnett raced to his first Susquehanna Speedway Park 410 Sprint Car win of the season on Thursday evening, while David Wilhelm topped the Xtreme Enduro Stocks, and John Stoll Jr. raced to the PA Four Cylinder...

NEWBERRYTOWN, PA (May 13, 2004) - Greg Hodnett raced to his first Susquehanna Speedway Park 410 Sprint Car win of the season on Thursday evening, while David Wilhelm topped the Xtreme Enduro Stocks, and John Stoll Jr. raced to the PA Four Cylinder win.

Outside front row starter T J Stutts took the early lead in the 25 lap Sprint Car feature with Eric Stambaugh and Billy Dietrich in hot pursuit. Stambaugh slipped by Stutts for the lead on lap six just before Dietrich caught the first turn fence and flipped his racer. Dietrich was uninjured, but as the remainder of the field was coming to a stop, two time winner Lance Dewease suffered a broken driveline and ran into Stutt's car. Dewease was done for the night, but Stutts returned to the rear of the field after changing a right rear tire.

Stambugh led on the restart with Hodnett, the seventh place starter, and Fred Rahmer, the ninth place starter, on his tail. Hodnett moved by Stambaugh for the lead at the halfway point of the race, with Rahmer taking second on the following lap.

Hodnett held sway for the remainder of the distance, but Rahmer nearly slipped by on the final lap. Hodnett's third career SSP win was worth $2500. Rahmer had to settle for second place for the second week in a row. Donnie Kreitz Jr. came on strong at the end to best Stambaugh for third. Stambaugh, and Kevin Nouse, in the Postupack #25 for the night, completed the top five.

Rounding out the top ten were Jim Siegel, Dave Cordier, Stutts, Brent Kluge, and Scott Lutz. Heat wins went to Rahmer and Brian Leppo.

David Wilhelm, making his first SSP start trailed Matt Smith for the first two laps of the 20 lap Xtreme Enduro Stock feature before taking the lead. Wilhelm went on to win over Ronnie Thomas, who just nipped Smith for second. Charlie Pensinger collected his third double money bonus for coming from the 23rd starting spot for fourth. Raymond Repp completed the top five. Heats went to Wilhelm and Steve Clemens, with Pensinger taking the Dash.

John Stoll Jr came from fith to take the lead on the second lap and win the 10 lap PA Four Cylinder stock feature event. Leroy Long chased Stoll most of the way but settled for second, with Kyle Levingoood, Brian Wentzel and John Salter in the top five. Stoll also won the heat race.

Scott Lutz took this week's Rock It Pizza School Bus Challenge. Lutz's lap time of 46.07 seconds was a second faster than second place man Kevin Nouse,but didn't come close to Brian leppo's track record. Other challengers this week were car owners Al Hamilton and Pete Postupack.

The next race will be Thursday Night, May 20 as SSP celebrates its 50th Anniversary with the 410 Sprint Cars, Xtreme Enduro Stock Cars and the PENN MAR Vintage Club Tour. Gates open in the pit area at 4:00 p.m. with the grandstand gates opening at 5:00 p.m. Warmups begin at 6:30 p.m. with racing action beginning at 7:30 p.m. Race fans can expect a fast paced 2 0x8bf5r program each and every night. Grandstand ticket prices are Adults (18 & older) $10.00; Teens (13-17) $6.00; Children (6-12) $2.00; and Children (5 & under) are free. Pit pass prices have been reduced to $20.00 with a reduced price of $18.00 for all track license holders. A track license is $25.00 for the year.

A new website for the Susquehanna Speedway Park can be found at The Susquehanna Speedway Park is located off I-83 to exit 32, then 1.4 miles NW on SR382 to York Road, then 1.3 miles south. For more information, contact the speedway offices at (717) 292-1696 or email


410 SPRINT CAR FEATURE (25 laps)  1. Greg Hodnett  2. Fred Rahmer  3.
Donnie Kreitz jr.  4. Eric Stambaugh  5. Kevin Nouse  6. Jim Siegel  7.
Dave Cordier  8. T J Stutts  9. Brent Kluge  10. Scott Lutz  11. Scott
Zellers  12. Brian Bossinger  13. Billy Heltzel  14. Brian Leppo  15.
Cale Reigle  16. Jeff Taylor  17. Todd Zinn  18. Lance Dewease  19. Billy
Detrich  20. Rick Horn
LAP LEADERS:  Stutts 1-5  Stambaugh  6-12  Hodnett 13-25

HEAT WINNERS: Rahmer, Leppo

PA 4 CYLINDERS FEATURE (10 laps)  1. John Stoll Jr. 2. Leroy Long  3.
Kyle Levingood  4. Brian Wentzel  5. John Salter Jr.
Lap leaders  Salter 1  Stoll 2-10


XTREME ENDURO STOCK CAR FEATURE (20 laps)  1. David Wilhelm  2. Ronnie
Thomas  3.  Matt Smith  4. Charlie Pensinger  5. Raymond Repp  6. Alan
Miller  7. Tom Johns  8. Mike Goodwin  9. Sam Rial  10. Steve Clemens
11. Jerry Blauch  12. Karl Windish  13. Bryon Sipe  14. Jim Gross  15.
Tom Slanker  16. Kevin Burrey  17. Adrian Barnhardt  18. Larry Hughes
Jr.  19. Matt Wampler  20. Tony Tumas  21. Jerry Runkle  22. Curtis
Nichols  23. Ricky Hippensteel Jr.  24. Wayne Eurich  25. Bobby Glass
DNS  Shawn Arndt, Matt Shelley, Daryll Davis
LAP LEADERS:  Smith 1-2  Wilhelm 3-20

HEAT WINNERS: Wilhelm, Clemens
DASH WINNER: Pensinger


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint , Stock car
Drivers Matthew Smith , Mike Goodwin