Sprint Bandits Sunday OKC results

Stewart an O'Reilly Sprint Bandit Firecracker in OKC OKLAHOMA CITY, Okla. (July 4, 2004) - Series point leader Shane Stewart has made a habit of running near the front throughout the inaugural season of O'Reilly Sprint Bandits ...

Stewart an O'Reilly Sprint Bandit Firecracker in OKC

OKLAHOMA CITY, Okla. (July 4, 2004) - Series point leader Shane Stewart has made a habit of running near the front throughout the inaugural season of O'Reilly Sprint Bandits action, but victory lane had eluded the Bixby, OK, hotshoe thus far. However, that all changed in Sunday night's Fourth of July 25-lap feature at State Fair Speedway.

Stewart stormed past Terry McCarl on the tenth round to become the race's third different leader, then held off early pacesetter Gary Wright's late charges to post his first Sprint Bandits triumph by a mere two car-lengths aboard Scott Chilcutt's Wesmar-powered mIn Motorsports Management No. 4m Maxim, topping a stout field of 34 entries.

"On a track like this, it's all about how the car's working and Rob Hart had the mIn Motorsports Maxim working great tonight," Stewart commented to the large crowd in victory lane. "This is close to home for me, and it's my car owner's hometown, so it's great to win one here."

While Stewart gridded the 24-car main event in third, it was Wright who led the field to the green flag by virtue of earning the most points through heat and qualifying race action after advancing from seventh to first in his heat and eighth to third in his qualifier.

Wright outgunned fellow front row starter, perennial Knoxville Raceway champion McCarl at the drop of the green, only to have the initial start negated for a three-car tangle in turn three involving Aaron Berryhill, Wayne Johnson and Toby Brown. Berryhill and Johnson were sidelined for the night, while Brown would return only to be caught up in Bud Johnson's wild backstretch gymnastics two laps later. Bud Johnson, Wayne's nephew, escaped injury but was done for the night, as was Brown.

Following the initial caution, Wright once again jumped into the lead with McCarl and Stewart in pursuit. After the lap two stoppage, the final 23 rounds were run in intense non-stop fashion as the leaders battled throughout.

After the B. Johnson tumble, Wright led the third round before McCarl took over the point after the duo battled wheel-to-wheel for more than a lap. Already on the move, Stewart relegated Wright to third on the seventh round and quickly closed on McCarl's bumper.

Stewart pressured McCarl for a couple of laps before racing into the lead as the pair completed the tenth round. Leading the way, Stewart began navigating his way through lapped traffic at the midway point, as Wright took second from McCarl on the 13th round. Having abused his tires in the early going, McCarl surrendered the third spot to an advancing Travis Rilat three laps later.

As the leaders worked through traffic, Wright closed to Stewart's bumper on several occasions over the final ten rounds. It was to no avail however, as Stewart never presented the "Texan" an opportunity to sneak by.

Stewart took the checkered flag two car-lengths ahead of Wright, with Rilat settling for a close third place finish. McCarl held on for fourth, while ninth-starter Darren Stewart made a late pass of Zach Chappell to round out the top five.

After starting tenth, Jason Martin followed D. Stewart around Chappell to snare sixth, with Chappell settling for seventh. Nick Smith dashed past Jason Johnson in the final corner to claim eighth, with J. Johnson in ninth and Colin Northway completing the top ten.

Wright, Shane Stewart, Donnie Wilson and Tony Bruce, Jr., each claimed 10-lap heat race victories, with C.J. Johnson, Northway, Darren Stewart, and McCarl enjoying victory drives in the 10-lap qualifying races.

Sean McClelland posted a wire-to-wire triumph in the 12-lap B Main in front of Troy Little and Bud Johnson, with Sean Walden making a last-lap pass of Stephanie Chappell, the first female to compete in O'Reilly Sprint Bandits action, to snare the fourth and final transfer position to the A Main.

The second leg of the O'Reilly Sprint Bandits Sooner Showdown gets under way at 6:30 p.m. at Tulsa Speedway Monday night.

O'Reilly Sprint Bandits Results:

First Classic Trailers Heat (10 Laps): 1. #9 Gary Wright, 2. #29 Travis Rilat, 3. #97 Aaron Berryhill, 4. #14aj Wayne Johnson, 5. #91 Darren Stewart, 6. #14 Sean Walden, 7. #88 Steven King, 8. #50 Stephanie Chappell, 9. #34 Jeff Leep.

Second Classic Trailers Heat (10 Laps): 1. #4m Shane Stewart, 2. #36 Jason Martin, 3. #50d Jason Johnson, 4. #1 Sean McClelland, 5. #15 Sam Hafertepe, Jr., 6. #88x Jason Evans, 7. #37 Bud Johnson, 8. #03 Joe Wood, Jr.

Third Classic Trailers Heat (10 Laps): 1. #8 Donnie Wilson, 2. #50z Zach Chappell, 3. #20au Troy Little, 4. #45x C.J. Johnson, 5. #60 Colin Northway, 6. #98 J.D. Johnson, 7. #11p Preston Peebles II, 8. #61 Earnest Jennings.

Fourth Classic Trailers Heat (10 Laps): 1. #18 Tony Bruce, Jr., 2. #15s Nick Smith, 3. #24 Terry McCarl, 4. #61J Danny Jennings, 5. #61a Toby Brown, 6. #75 Kevin Battles, 7. #11f Foster Landon, 8. #17 Travis Scott.

First Qualifying Race (10 Laps): 1. #45x C.J. Johnson, 2. #50z Zach Chappell, 3. #9 Gary Wright, 4. #50 Stephanie Chappell, 5. #97 Aaron Berryhill, 6. #14 Sean Walden, 7. #8 Donnie Wilson, 8. #34 Jeff Leep, 9. #11p Preston Peebles II.

Second Qualifying Race (10 Laps): 1. #60 Colin Northway, 2. #03 Joe Wood, Jr., 3. #88 Steven King, 4. #50d Jason Johnson, 5. #18 Tony Bruce, Jr., 6. #14aj Wayne Johnson, 7. #20au Troy Little. DNS: #88x Jason Evans.

Third Qualifying Race (10 Laps): 1. #91 Darren Stewart, 2. #98 J.D. Johnson, 3. #29 Travis Rilat, 4. #36 Jason Martin, 5. #15s Nick Smith, 6. #1 Sean McClelland, 7. #61 Earnest Jennings. Disqualified: #37 Bud Johnson (failed to report to scales after finishing fourth).

Fourth Qualifying Race (10 Laps): 1. #24 Terry McCarl, 2. #4m Shane Stewart, 3. #61a Toby Brown, 4. #61J Danny Jennings, 5. #75 Kevin Battles, 6. #15 Sam Hafertepe, Jr., 7. #17 Travis Scott, 8. #36v Larry Neighbors. DNS: #11f Foster Landon.

B Feature (12 Laps): 1. #1 Sean McClelland, 2. #20au Troy Little, 3. #37 Bud Johnson, 4. #14 Sean Walden, 5. #50 Stephanie Chappell, 6. #17 Travis Scott, 7. #15 Sam Hafertepe, Jr., 8. #75 Kevin Battles, 9. #61 Earnest Jennings, 10. #34 Jeff Leep, 11. #11f Foster Landon. DNS: #11p Preston Peebles II, #88x Jason Evans, #36v Larry Neighbors.

A Feature (25 Laps - Starting position in parentheses): 1. #4m Shane Stewart (3), 2. #9 Gary Wright (1), 3. #29 Travis Rilat (5), 4. #24 Terry McCarl (2), 5. #91 Darren Stewart (9), 6. #36 Jason Martin (10), 7. #50z Zach Chappell (4), 8. #15s Nick Smith (11), 9. #50d Jason Johnson (6), 10. #60 Colin Northway (8), 11. #18 Tony Bruce, Jr. (12), 12. #61J Danny Jennings (13), 13. #8 Donnie Wilson (16), 14. #45x C.J. Johnson (7), 15. #88 Steven King (20), 16. #1 Sean McClelland (21), 17. #98 J.D. Johnson (14), 18. #20au Troy Little (22), 19. #14 Sean Walden (24), 20. #03 Joe Wood, Jr. (19), 21. #37 Bud Johnson (23), 22. #61a Toby Brown (18), 23. #97 Aaron Berryhill (15), 24. #14aj Wayne Johnson (17).

Lap Leaders: Gary Wright 1-3, Terry McCarl 4-9, Shane Stewart 10-25.

O'Reilly Sprint Bandits Points (Top Fifteen): 1. Shane Stewart 962, 2. Travis Rilat 930, 3. Danny Jennings 910, 4. Zach Chappell 886, 5. (tie) Aaron Berryhill and Jason Martin 840, 7. Foster Landon 825, 8. Wayne Johnson 724, 9. Colin Northway 671, 10. Terry McCarl 650, 11. Jason Johnson 514, 12. Jerrod Hull 508, 13. Gary Wright 506, 14. Nick Smith 502, 15. Jesse Hockett 500.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Darren Stewart , Preston Peebles , Larry Neighbors , Aaron Berryhill , Shane Stewart , Travis Rilat , Jesse Hockett , Nick Smith , Danny Jennings , C.J. Johnson , Wayne Johnson , Jason Johnson , Sean McClelland