Sprint Bandits, Midwest region news 2007-08-11

Five Nights of TNT Ignites Tuesday at I-80; ASCS Midwest Region in Action as Well TULSA, Okla. (August 11, 2007) -- Race fans in Nebraska, and even those just passing through, will get to enjoy the best of both worlds at Nebraska Raceway Park's...

Five Nights of TNT Ignites Tuesday at I-80; ASCS Midwest Region in Action as Well

TULSA, Okla. (August 11, 2007) -- Race fans in Nebraska, and even those just passing through, will get to enjoy the best of both worlds at Nebraska Raceway Park's I-80 Speedway in Greenwood, NE, on Tuesday night, August 14.

It will be an open wheel Sprint Car spectacular as the O'Reilly Sprint Bandits Tour 'N Topless series kicks off five consecutive nights of wingless 410-ci Sprint Car racing, while the ASCS Midwest Region opens up the four-race "AK 360" Shootout.

The event marks the opening leg of the Third Annual O'Reilly Sprint Bandits TNT Midwest swing, with more than $85,000 in feature purse money along with another $7,350 in point fund money up for grabs during the swing.

Following Tuesday night's event at I-80 Speedway, the Sprint Bandits TNT Tour moves on to Mid-America Speedway in South Coffeyville, OK, on Wednesday night (August 15) and Creek County Speedway in Sapulpa, OK, on Thursday night (August 16) before wrapping up with the blockbuster $10,000 to win two-night card at Lakeside Speedway in Kansas City, KS, on Friday and Saturday (August 17 and 18).

Approximately twenty different drivers from throughout the nation have already committed to chasing down championship honors in the Third Annual O'Reilly Sprint Bandits TNT Midwest Swing, with many more top competitors slated to compete in selected events during the week.

Among those vying for title honors will be defending champion and two-time Lakeside Classic winner Jesse Hockett of Warsaw, MO. Hockett, a TNT winner at Wichita's 81 Speedway last year, added a second series win at Tampa's East Bay Raceway Park earlier this year.

Hockett will have his hands full in his title defense however, with top contenders including California hotshoes Cory Kruseman and Damion Gardner, Arizona ace Jeremy Sherman and Lincoln, Nebraska's Don Droud, Jr., who will serve as Jack Yeley's hired gun for the week.

Plenty of other capable contenders will be in the mix as well including two-time Sprint Bandits TNT feature winner Brady Short of Bedford, IN, aboard Scott Benic's Lucas Oil No. 2b entry, Oklahoma's Dustin Morgan and Missouri's Daron Clayton aboard Jeff Walker entries, Missouri teen Hunter Schuerenberg at the wheel of one of the familiar Trucker's No. 10 machines and last year's I-80 Speedway TNT victor, Robert Ballou of Rocklin, CA.

In addition to Jeremy Sherman, winner of nine of eleven ASCS Canyon Region events this year, the Arizona contingent will flex some muscle over the course of the week with top guns including Charles Davis, Jr., aboard the stylish Mark Swanson No. 21s machine, along with R.J. Johnson, Mike Leslie, Matt Rossi and 15-year-old gunner Chad Boat.

Also bidding for victory lane over each night will be TNT veteran Tony Everhart of El Cajon, CA, along with Bret Mellenberndt (Sioux Falls, SD), Lee Stark (Sidney, OH), Larry Carter (Independence, KS) and Kruseman prot0x00e9g0x00e9 Michael Trimble (Gilroy, CA).

Several other top guns will take in a majority of the events, including past National champion Dave Darland of Lincoln, IN, who will compete in all events other than the Lakeside preliminary aboard one of the Trucker's No. 10 entries. Young gun Chris Windom of Canton, IL, who charged from 23rd to seventh in this year's Chili Bowl Midget Nationals, will take in the same events as well.

California's Bud Kaeding, the runner-up in both previous editions of the Huskerland Non-Wing Sprint Nationals at I-80 Speedway, and Arizona's Jerry Coons, Jr., last year's winner of Oskaloosa's Ultimate Challenge, will both be in action during the opening three rounds of Sprint Bandits TNT action at I-80 Speedway, Mid-America Speedway and Creek County Speedway.

Past ASCS Rocky Mountain Region champion and RMMRA Midget champion Gary Taylor, now residing in Broken Arrow, OK, by way of Wheat Ridge, CO, and Snohomish, WA, will pick up the Tour at Mid-America Speedway and compete in the final four nights aboard an entry fielded by his current Midget car owners, Mike and Megan Eubanks.

A slew of other top contenders will try to play the role of spoiler on each night of O'Reilly Sprint Bandits Tour 'N Topless action as well.

-credit: asca

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Dave Darland , Bud Kaeding , Cory Kruseman , Jeff Walker , Jerry Coons , Mike Leslie , Jesse Hockett , Brady Short , Daron Clayton , Dustin Morgan , Chad Boat , Chris Windom , Hunter Schuerenberg