Sprint Bandits Butler County results

Rilat Rises to Occasion for Second O'Reilly Sprint Bandits win of Weekend RISING CITY, Neb. (May 30, 2004) - Travis Rilat posted his second victory in three nights of O'Reilly Sprint Bandits Memorial Day weekend action by making a late pass...

Rilat Rises to Occasion for Second O'Reilly Sprint Bandits win of Weekend

RISING CITY, Neb. (May 30, 2004) - Travis Rilat posted his second victory in three nights of O'Reilly Sprint Bandits Memorial Day weekend action by making a late pass of Wayne Johnson to top Sunday night's 30-lap feature at Butler County Speedway.

"We're on a roll right now. That makes nine wins overall this year, we've just got to keep it going," commented the happy winner in victory lane. "We switched to a Maxim chassis this year and it took us a couple of races to adjust to it, but since then the car's been bad fast, it's a great car."

While Rilat slid up to third in the starting grid after Larry Ball, Jr., originally slated for the second row inside, tagged the rear with mechanical problems, Zach Chappell and Jason Johnson led the field to the green flag.

Chappell grabbed the lead at the drop of the green flag, while fifth-starter Wayne Johnson blitzed into second on the opening round in front of Jason Johnson and Rilat. Chappell surrendered the lead on the third round when he hooked a rut in turn four and bicycled, blowing a right rear tire in the process. Chappell rejoined the field on the restart but soon exited with rear end woes.

Wayne Johnson led the way on the restart, with Jason Johnson and Rilat in tow. The pace was interrupted after seven rounds when the red flag flew for Aaron Berryhill's turn two tumble. Berryhill's crew made quick repairs under the red allowing him to rejoin the chase.

Wayne Johnson took off on the restart, while Rilat disposed of Jason Johnson for second on the ninth round. W. Johnson held an eight car-length lead until the 12th circuit, when he narrowly averted disaster after contact with a lapped car, allowing Rilat to close to his rear bumper.

After a lap 16 caution for a turn two spin by Robert Bell, W. Johnson held off Rilat and J. Johnson, with Foster Landon, Danny Jennings, Terry McCarl and Shane Stewart engaging in a torrid battle for fourth position behind the lead trio.

W. Johnson soon encountered lapped traffic, with Rilat moving up to challenge for the point in turns one and two on the 25th lap. Johnson repelled that challenge, but Rilat came right back to make the winning move three rounds later in turn two.

Rilat led the final three rounds aboard the Motor Mike-powered F&J Construction/Haulmark Trailers No. 29 Maxim, taking the checkered flag with a 1.204-second advantage over W. Johnson's Fattfro Motorsports No. 14aj.

J. Johnson claimed the show position, with Jennings taking the checkered flag in fourth. After a heat race disqualification for not reporting to the scales, Stewart earned Weld Racing Hard Charger honors by rounding out the top five after starting 15th.

McCarl crossed the stripe in sixth, with Landon, 18th-starter Colin Northway, Mike Boston and Skip Jackson completing the top ten.

Jennings, Landon and Berryhill each claimed heat race victories, with Rilat, Northway and McCarl topping qualifying race action.

O'Reilly Sprint Bandits Results:

First Classic Trailers Heat (8 Laps): 1. #61J Danny Jennings, 2. #50z Zach Chappell, 3. #71R Ryan Anderson, 4. #71 Robert Bell, 5. #36 Jason Martin. Disqualified: #4m Shane Stewart and #60 Colin Northway (failed to report to scales).

Second Classic Trailers Heat (8 Laps): 1. #11f Foster Landon, 2. #7x Larry Ball, Jr., 3. #50d Jason Johnson, 4. #2 Skip Jackson, 5. #29 Travis Rilat, 6. #92J J.R. Topper, 7. #75 Jesse Hockett.

Third Classic Trailers Heat (8 Laps): 1. #97 Aaron Berryhill, 2. #51 Mike Boston, 3. #14aj Wayne Johnson, 4. #24 Terry McCarl, 5. #45 Jeff Lowery, 6. #6 Bryan Gossel, 7. #114 Bud Johnson.

First Qualifying Race (8 Laps): 1. #29 Travis Rilat, 2. #4m Shane Stewart, 3. #14aj Wayne Johnson, 4. #51 Mike Boston, 5. #97 Aaron Berryhill, 6. #61J Danny Jennings, 7. #92J J.R. Topper.

Second Qualifying Race (8 Laps): 1. #60 Colin Northway, 2. #50d Jason Johnson, 3. #50z Zach Chappell, 4. #2 Skip Jackson, 5. #71R Ryan Anderson, 6. #45 Jeff Lowery, 7. #6 Bryan Gossel.

Third Qualifying Race (8 Laps): 1. #24 Terry McCarl, 2. #7x Larry Ball, Jr., 3. #11f Foster Landon, 4. #71 Robert Bell, 5. #114 Bud Johnson. DNS: #75 Jesse Hockett, #36 Jason Martin.

A Feature (30 Laps - Starting position in parentheses): 1. #29 Travis Rilat (3), 2. #14aj Wayne Johnson (5), 3. #50d Jason Johnson (2), 4. #61J Danny Jennings (10), 5. #4m Shane Stewart (15), 6. #24 Terry McCarl (6), 7. #11f Foster Landon (4), 8. #60 Colin Northway (18), 9. #51 Mike Boston (8), 10. #2 Skip Jackson (12), 11. #36 Jason Martin (17), 12. #97 Aaron Berryhill (7), 13. #45 Jeff Lowery (14), 14. #71 Robert Bell (9), 15. #71R Ryan Anderson (11), 16. #92J J.R. Topper (16), 17. #6 Bryan Gossel (13), 18. #50z Zach Chappell (1), 19. #114 Bud Johnson (20), 20. #7x Larry Ball, Jr. (19). DNS: #75 Jesse Hockett.

Lap Leaders: Zach Chappell 1-2, Wayne Johnson 3-27, Travis Rilat 28-30.

O'Reilly Sprint Bandits Points (Top Ten): 1. Shane Stewart 812, 2. Travis Rilat 786, 3. Danny Jennings 784, 4. (tie) Zach Chappell and Foster Landon 750, 6. Aaron Berryhill 736, 7. Jason Martin 702, 8. Wayne Johnson 622, 9. Colin Northway 541, 10. (tie) Terry McCarl and Jerrod Hull 508.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Aaron Berryhill , Shane Stewart , Travis Rilat , Jesse Hockett , Danny Jennings , Wayne Johnson , Jason Johnson