Sooner Region vs Gulf South Devils Bowl results

Ramey rules ASCS Sooner vs. Gulf South Shootout at Devil's Bowl MESQUITE, Tex. (July 12, 2003) - Kevin Ramey executed a daring move amidst heavy lapped traffic to overtake race long leader Jason Martin on the 18th round and went on to win...

Ramey rules ASCS Sooner vs. Gulf South Shootout at Devil's Bowl

MESQUITE, Tex. (July 12, 2003) - Kevin Ramey executed a daring move amidst heavy lapped traffic to overtake race long leader Jason Martin on the 18th round and went on to win Saturday night's 25-lap American Sprint Car Series Gulf South vs. Sooner Region Shootout at Devil's Bowl Speedway.

After a pair of tangles negated the first two attempts to start the main event, Bob Ewell and Cody Pearson led the feature field to the green flag. However, it was third-starter Martin charging into the lead as the field raced into turn one.

Originally slated to start tenth, Ramey had moved up to sixth starting slot by the time the race got underway. Ramey wasted little time advancing toward the front, darting past Kelly Angelette and Sam Hafertepe, Jr., to move into fourth on the second circuit.

Ramey continued his march to the front by slipping past Derek Drown for third a lap later, setting his sights on Martin and Ewell. Martin set a rapid pace in the early rounds, establishing a straightaway lead by the 11th round, when Ramey passed Ewell for second.

Ramey began closing the gap over the next several laps, and moved in on the fleet Kansan as heavy lapped traffic became a factor after 15 rounds. As the leaders worked through four lapped machines, Ramey dove to the low side in turn four on the 18th circuit and made what proved to be the winning move.

Ramey's charge to the checkered flag was briefly interrupted on the 20th round for a turn two spin by Brandon Berryman. With four cars separating himself from Martin on the restart, Ramey charged to the checkered flag unchallenged, crossing the stripe with a 6.18-second advantage in the Wells-powered Harvill Industries Eagle.

"When I caught him (Martin), it looked like he was comfortable. I just turned it hard to the left to get around him. The lapped cars killed his momentum. I don't think he expected me to be there," commented Ramey following his third ASCS Sooner Region triumph of the season.

"One thing I have learned from the National Tour drivers is to never give up until the checkered flag," Ramey continued. "I was really getting tired by the 14th lap but knew I had to keep going. We kept working at it and the outcome was very good for us."

Ewell slipped around Martin on the 21st lap to snare the runner-up slot, with Martin settling for third. Defending ASCS Sooner Region champion Danny Jennings charged from the 19th starting position to finish fourth, with Brian Harvill coming from 12th to round out the top five.

Drown crossed the stripe in sixth, while Foster Landon raced from 21st to finish seventh. Kelly Angelette was the top finishing ASCS Gulf South Region competitor with his eighth place showing, while George White and 23rd-starter Claud Estes completed the top ten.

Ewell and Martin topped the Sooner Region heat races, while Rilat and Sweeney won the Gulf South heat races. Matt Clevenger and Ramey snared Qualifying Feature victories, with Landon winning the B Feature.


First Heat (8 laps, Sooner): 1. Bob Ewell, 2. Stephanie Chappell, 3. Kevin Ramey, 4. Roy Larkin, 5. Danny Jennings, 6. Larry Neighbors, 7. Foster Landon, 8. Tony Bruce, Jr.

Second Heat (8 laps, Gulf South): 1. Greg Rilat, 2. Cody Pearson, 3. Sam Hafertepe Jr., 4. Larry Long, 5. David Forbis, 6. Brandon Berryman, 7. Larry Hartwell, 8. Harry Yerrington.

Third Heat (8 laps, Sooner): 1. Jason Martin, 2. Derek Drown, 3. Matt Clevenger, 4. Brian Harvill, 5. Robert Sellers, 6. James Shoun, 7. Claud Estes, 8. George White.

Fourth Heat (8 laps, Gulf South): 1. Chris Sweeney, 2. Tina Creswell, 3. Kelly Angelette, 4. Richard Cordray, 5. Scottie McDonald, 6. Brad Stokes, 7. Stephan Chevallier.

First Qualifying Feature (12 laps): 1. Matt Clevenger, 2. Jason Martin, 3. Kelly Angelette, 4. George White, 5. Roy Larkin, 6. Danny Jennings, 7. Foster Landon, 8. Brandon Berryman, 9. Claud Estes, 10. Tony Bruce, Jr., 11. James Shoun, 12. Tina Creswell.

Second Qualifying Feature (12 laps): 1. Kevin Ramey, 2. Brian Harvill, 3. Richard Cordray, 4. Scottie McDonald, 5. Brad Stokes, 6. Stephen Chevallier, 7. David Forbis, 8. Larry Hartwell, 9. Harry Yerrington, 10. Larry Long, 11. Robert Sellers.

Last Chance Race (12 laps): 1. Foster Landon, 2. Brandon Berryman, 3. Claud Estes, 4. Tony Bruce, Jr., 5. Tina Creswell, 6. James Shoun, 7. Larry Hartwell, 8. Harry Yerrington, 9. David Forbis, 10. Larry Long, 11. Robert Sellers.

Feature (25 laps): 1. Kevin Ramey, 2. Bob Ewell, 3. Jason Martin, 4. Danny Jennings, 5. Brian Harvill, 6. Derek Drown, 7. Foster Landon, 8. Kelly Angelette, 9. George White, 10. Claud Estes, 11. Tony Bruce, Jr., 12. Stephen Chevallier, 13. Brad Stokes, 14. Brandon Berryman, 15. Scottie McDonald, 16. Greg Rilat, 17. Stephanie Chappell, 18. Sam Hafertepe, Jr., 19. Richard Cordray, 20. Larry Neighbors, 21. Matt Clevenger, 22. Chris Sweeney, 23. Cody Pearson, 24. Roy Larkin.

ASCS Sooner Region Points (Top Ten): 1. Kevin Ramey 1,178, 2. Danny Jennings 1,100, 3. Derek Drown 1,050, 4. Brian Harvill 1,005, 5. Roy Larkin 948, 6. Robert Sellers 930, 7. James Shoun 841, 8. Nick Smith 824, 9. Stephanie Chappell 798, 10. Travis Scott 796.

ASCS Gulf South Region Points (Top Ten): 1. Kelly Angelette 1,000, 2. Greg Rilat 988, 3. Sam Hafertepe, Jr., 976, 4. Brandon Berryman 948, 5. Cody Pearson 8892, 6. Tina Creswell 883, 7. Todd Johnson 842, 8. Stephen Chevallier 820, 9. David Forbis 813, 10. Harry Yerrington 797.


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers George White , Larry Neighbors , Nick Smith , Danny Jennings , Kevin Ramey