Sooner Region Tulsa summary

Chappell Conquers ASCS Sooner Region Foes at Tulsa TULSA, Okla. (April 17, 2004) -- Former American Sprint Car Series national champion Zach Chappell slipped underneath early pacesetter Aaron Berryhill on the fourth round...

Chappell Conquers ASCS Sooner Region Foes at Tulsa

TULSA, Okla. (April 17, 2004) -- Former American Sprint Car Series national champion Zach Chappell slipped underneath early pacesetter Aaron Berryhill on the fourth round then raced to nearly a straightaway victory in Saturday night's 25-lap American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region feature at Tulsa Speedway.

"Damn, I'm tired!" exclaimed Chappell, who competed in the companion two-barrel sprint car feature moments before his victory drive. "It's nice to get that first win of the year. It's also great to win my first one here at Tulsa Speedway, it's so close to home. Dad (David Chappell) has won a lot of races here, so I'm glad I've got one here too."

While Chappell gridded third in the evening's main event, it was Berryhill who led the field to the green flag after charging from seventh to win the fourth heat race. Berryhill outgunned fellow front row starter Roy Larkin to snare the early lead, with Chappell quickly racing into second.

After a lap two caution for J.P. Bailey's turn four spin, Berryhill led the way in front of Chappell, fifth-starter Jason Martin, fourth-starter Andy Shouse and Larkin. Chappell put the pressure on Berryhill on the restart and slipped underneath the leader exiting the fourth turn on the fourth lap to take a lead he would never relinquish.

Chappell's rapid pace aboard the Carbone-powered Champco Concrete Construction No. 50z Maxim was interrupted just once, when ASCS National Tour shoe Cody Branchcomb looped his machine in turn four.

When action resumed, Chappell raced away from the field over the final ten rounds, taking the checkered flag nearly a straightaway ahead of his pursuers.

While Chappell was icing the victory, Berryhill and Martin engaged in a torrid battle for the runner-up slot over the race's final five rounds. After swapping the position several times, Martin assumed the series early-season point lead by edging Berryhill for second at the line.

Nick Smith raced from tenth to claim fourth at the stripe, with defending series champion Kevin Ramey, who started eleventh, slipping around Andy Shouse on the 24th lap to round out the top five.

Shouse claimed sixth, with Larkin, twelfth-starter Tony Bruce, Jr., 15th-starter Sean McClelland and Travis Scott completing the top ten.

Larkin, Chappell, Shouse and Berryhill topped heat race action for the 28-car field, with Danny Jennings overtaking Jamie Passmore on the eighth round en route to winning the 12-lap B Feature.


First Heat (8 Laps): 1. Roy Larkin, 2. Barry McCord, 3. Jason Martin, 4. Preston Peebles II, 5. Jerry Stone, 6. Jamie Passmore, 7. Earnest Jennings.

Second Heat (8 Laps): 1. Zach Chappell, 2. J.P. Bailey, 3. Cody Branchcomb, 4. Kevin Ramey, 5. Natalie Sather, 6. Danny Jennings, 7. Brian Harvill.

Third Heat (8 Laps): 1. Andy Shouse, 2. Gary Owens, 3. Travis Scott, 4. Sean McClelland, 5. Brett Thompson, 6. James Shoun. Disqualified: Foster Landon (failed to report directly to tech area).

Fourth Heat (8 Laps): 1. Aaron Berryhill, 2. Nick Smith, 3. Tony Bruce, Jr., 4. Rawdy Hull, 5. Kevin Brewer, 6. Chris Partin, 7. Loyd Clevenger.

B Feature (12 Laps): 1. Danny Jennings, 2. Jamie Passmore, 3. Brian Harvill, 4. Brett Thompson, 5. Foster Landon, 6. James Shoun, 7. Earnest Jennings, 8. Kevin Brewer, 9. Chris Partin, 10. Natalie Sather. DNS: Jerry Stone, Loyd Clevenger.

A Feature (25 Laps): 1. Zach Chappell, 2. Jason Martin, 3. Aaron Berryhill, 4. Nick Smith, 5. Kevin Ramey, 6. Andy Shouse, 7. Roy Larkin, 8. Tony Bruce, Jr., 9. Sean McClelland, 10. Travis Scott, 11. Gary Owens, 12. Foster Landon, 13. Danny Jennings, 14. Cody Branchcomb, 15. Preston Peebles II, 16. Brian Harvill, 17. Barry McCord, 18. Brett Thompson, 19. Rawdy Hull, 20. Jamie Passmore, 21. J.P. Bailey.

American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region Points (Top Ten): 1. Jason Martin 294, 2. Andy Shouse 282, 3. Sean McClelland 278, 4. Tony Bruce, Jr. 276, 5. Kevin Ramey 274, 6. Foster Landon 264, 7. Danny Jennings 260, 8. Roy Larkin 256, 9. (tie) Brian Harvill and Preston Peebles II 244.


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Brett Thompson , Preston Peebles , Aaron Berryhill , Cody Branchcomb , Nick Smith , Danny Jennings , Kevin Ramey , J.P. Bailey , Andy Shouse , Sean McClelland