Sooner Region Tulsa results 2005-04-02

McClelland Breaks Through with ASCS Sooner Region Tulsa Triumph TULSA, Okla. (April 2, 2005) -- Sean McClelland broke into the American Bank of Oklahoma's ASCS Sooner Region victory lane for the first time by topping the series' ...

McClelland Breaks Through with ASCS Sooner Region Tulsa Triumph

TULSA, Okla. (April 2, 2005) -- Sean McClelland broke into the American Bank of Oklahoma's ASCS Sooner Region victory lane for the first time by topping the series' season-opening 25-lap feature at Tulsa Speedway Saturday night.

McClelland battled past Danny Jennings on the 23rd round for what appeared to be second place, but then was awarded the victory when apparent winner Kenneth Walker was disqualified for the illegal use of a wicker bill on his top wing.

"You know how long it's been since I've won a race?" last year's third-place finisher in American Sprint Car Series Sooner Region points queried in victory lane. "It was in the two-barrels and that's been a couple of years, so it's been way too long. It's good to finally get one with these guys."

Brett Thompson and Jennings led the feature field to the green flag, while McClelland gridded inside the second row after a pair of nifty moves to advance from third to first in the final laps of the evening's third heat race.

After the feature's initial start was red-flagged for twelfth-starter Danny Wood, who tagged the turn one rail and flipped the Lanny Row entry, the balance of the 25-lapper ran in non-stop fashion. Wood was uninjured but done for the night, as was Preston Peebles II, who exited with driveline damage under the stoppage.

Jennings jumped into the lead on the second start and led the way in front of fourth-starter Walker and McClelland, while 14th starter Zach Chappell wasted little time slicing through the field, advancing to sixth by the third round.

Walker was challenging Jennings for the point as lapped traffic came into play after nine rounds. Jennings briefly slipped away, only to have Walker battle back and race into the lead on the 13th circuit. Walker's move would prove to be of no consequence however with the wicker bill on his mount.

McClelland moved in to challenge Jennings in the final laps in what proved to be the lead battle, taking the position on the low side exiting turn four upon the completion of the 23rd round. McClelland raced away in the final two rounds to secure his first career ASCS triumph aboard Alan Couch's Herschel Myers-powered K&N/Pro Shocks/Cloud Nine No. 1 J&J.

After disposing of J.P. Bailey for third on the 16th round, Chappell's strong drive from deep in the field culminated with a runner-up showing as he overtook Jennings for the spot on the final lap. Jennings settled for the show position, with Bailey and 15th-starter Jamie Passmore rounding out the top five.

Nick Smith raced from 16th to claim sixth, with Jake Martens, Brian McClelland, Foster Landon and 17th-starter Tony Bruce, Jr., completing the top ten.

With a stout 33-car field on hand, Landon and Thompson sandwiched heat race victories around triumphs by the McClelland siblings, with Passmore and Smith topping the twin 10-lap B Mains.

Derek Cottrell surrendered the third and final transfer position in the First B Main when he flipped wildly in turn one on the eighth round, with David Langford then climbing a tire and dumping his mount in turn three before the field came to a stop. There were no injuries.

The American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region returns to action next Saturday night, April 9, at Cowtown Speedway in Kennedale, TX.


First Heat (8 Laps): 1. Foster Landon, 2. Jake Martens, 3. Preston Peebles II, 4. Danny Wood, 5. Nick Smith, 6. Tony Bruce, Jr., 7. Derek Cottrell, 8. Brad Graham.

Second Heat (8 Laps): 1. Brian McClelland, 2. Danny Jennings, 3. Roy Larkin, 4. Joel Howard, 5. Jamie Passmore, 6. Kerry McAlister, 7. Koby Barksdale, 8. Frankie Heimbaugh. DNS: Terry Henry.

Third Heat (8 Laps): 1. Sean McClelland, 2. Andy Shouse, 3. Sam Hafertepe, Jr., 4. Zach Chappell, 5. Rafe Essary, 6. Dara Morrow, 7. Landon Brown. DNS: Gavin Punch.

Fourth Heat (8 Laps): 1. Brett Thompson, 2. Kenneth Walker, 3. J.P. Bailey, 4. Cody Branchcomb, 5. Eric Baldaccini, 6. Dennis Henry, 7. Dex Eaton, 8. David Langford.

First B Feature (10 Laps): 1. Jamie Passmore, 2. Tony Bruce, Jr., 3. Cody Branchcomb, 4. Dara Morrow, 5. Landon Brown, 6. Brad Graham, 7. Derek Cottrell, 8. David Langford. DNS: Eric Baldaccini, Stan Henry.

Second B Feature (10 Laps): 1. Nick Smith, 2. Kerry McAlister, 3. Joel Howard, 4. Rafe Essary, 5. Frankie Heimbaugh, 6. Koby Barksdale, 7. Dennis Henry. DNS: Dex Eaton, Gavin Punch.

A Feature (25 Laps): 1. Sean McClelland, 2. Zach Chappell, 3. Danny Jennings, 4. J.P. Bailey, 5. Jamie Passmore, 6. Nick Smith, 7. Jake Martens, 8. Brian McClelland, 9. Foster Landon, 10. Tony Bruce, Jr., 11. Cody Branchcomb, 12. Andy Shouse, 13. Joel Howard, 14. Roy Larkin, 15. Sam Hafertepe, Jr., 16. Kerry McAlister, 17. Brett Thompson, 18. Preston Peebles II, 19. Danny Wood.

Disqualified: Kenneth Walker (wicker bill on top wing).

American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region Points (Top Ten): 1. Sean McClelland 150, 2. Zach Chappell 146, 3. Danny Jennings 144, 4. J.P. Bailey 142, 5. Jamie Passmore 140, 6. Nick Smith 138, 7. Jake Martens 136, 8. Brian McClelland 134, 9. Foster Landon 132, 10. Cody Branchcomb 130.


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Brad Graham , Brett Thompson , Preston Peebles , Cody Branchcomb , Nick Smith , Dex Eaton , Danny Jennings , J.P. Bailey , Koby Barksdale , Andy Shouse , Sean McClelland