Sooner Region season finale results 2007-10-06

Brian & Brian Star in ASCS Sooner Region Season Finale SOUTH COFFEYVILLE, Okla. (October 6, 2007) -- Missouri's Brian Brown surged into the lead on the 21st round en route to capturing the $3,000 winner's share in Saturday night's...

Brian & Brian Star in ASCS Sooner Region Season Finale

SOUTH COFFEYVILLE, Okla. (October 6, 2007) -- Missouri's Brian Brown surged into the lead on the 21st round en route to capturing the $3,000 winner's share in Saturday night's season-ending 30-lap feature event for the American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region at Mid-America Speedway.

While the Knoxville Raceway track champion rebounded from a lackluster Friday night outing to snare his fourth overall ASCS Regional win of 2007 and his first career in Sooner Region action, it was Tulsa's Brian McClelland putting the wraps on the ASCS Sooner Region championship with a third-place finish behind Brown and 2005 Sooner king Sean McClelland.

After leading the opening 20 circuits, Brian McClelland took the title by 25 markers over Kevin Ramey, who snuck past Zach Chappell in the final corner to snare fourth. Settling for a tenth place finish, Cody Branchcomb ended up third in points, just 28 points away from the title.

With Friday's top four finishers, including Brian McClelland, Jason Martin, Sean McClelland and Droud, Jr., locked into Saturday's main event, Gary Taylor and Brown joined those four in the Pole Dash by virtue of accumulating the most passing points in heat race action.

Climbing from fifth to third in the Dash, Brown chased front row starters Brian McClelland and Taylor in the early going with the first caution flying after five laps for Nick Smith's slowing machine. Smith, the defending race winner, was unable to rejoin the race.

Back under way, Taylor challenged McClelland for the lead for several laps before McClelland slipped away. Brown slipped by Taylor for second by the tenth round and closed in on McClelland as lapped traffic came into play on the 13th round with the caution appearing moments later when Jason Martin spun in turn two on the 14th lap.

After Forrest Sutherland and Eric Baldaccini tangled two laps later, with Baldaccini getting upside down, the chase resumed as McClelland wrestled a progressively tightening machine. Brown slipped underneath McClelland exiting turn four and charged into the lead on the 19th lap, only to have the move negated by a Gavin Punch spin.

Brown was able to repeat the move two laps later though, and charged to the checkered flag unabated aboard Tim and Gina Doogs' Ostrich-powered Ditzfield Transfer/Housby No. 21 Maxim.

Sean McClelland duplicated Brown's move around Brian McClelland a pair of circuits later and chased Brown to the line, with Brian McClelland hanging on for third and the championship aboard the Wesmar-powered R&B Motorsports/Maxwell Oil No. 87 Triple-X.

Battling forward from eighth, Ramey snuck underneath Chappell in the final corner for fourth. After suffering engine woes in Terry Henry's No. 92 entry on Friday, Chappell switched to his father's familiar No. 50z machine and raced from 12th to round out the top five.

Nebraska's Droud, Jr., was sixth, with 2005 ASCS Rocky Mountain Region champion Taylor finishing just ahead of 2007 ASCS Rocky Mountain Region champ C.J. Johnson, who advanced from 13th. Sherman Davis secured a top-ten ranking in final ASCS Sooner Region points with a ninth place finish, with Branchcomb completing the top ten.

Brown, Nick Smith, Taylor and Ramey topped Saturday night's heat race action, with Curtis Evans and Punch winning the twin "B" Mains.Jason Johnson broke in heat race action and then was unable to climb far enough through his "B" Main to earn a transfer to the feature event.

Racing for a transfer position midway through the first "B" Main, Derek Cottrell and Joe McCarthy tangled, with Cottrell getting upside down.JThere were no injuries.

American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region Results from Mid-America Speedway:

Locked-In from Friday Night: 87-Brian McClelland, 12x-Jason Martin, 1-Sean McClelland, 1x-Don Droud, Jr.

Heat One (8 Laps): 1. 21-Brian Brown, 2. 11x-Garry Lee Maier, 3. 45x-C.J. Johnson, 4. 1p-Curtis Evans, 5. 88-J. Kinder, 6. 14k-Kyle Bellm, 7. 4am-Travis Jenkins, 8. 85-John Hunt.

Heat Two (8 Laps): 1. 15s-Nick Smith, 2. 72-Sherman Davis, 3. 85s-Forrest Sutherland, 4. 25-Derek Cottrell, 5. 19-Joe McCarthy, 6. 59-Dustin Morgan, 7. 8-Rodger Eckhardt, 8. 97-Tom Cummings.

Heat Three (8 Laps): 1. 25x-Gary Taylor, 2. 50z-Zach Chappell, 3. 19s-Steven Cross, 4. 26m-Shelly Ward, 5. 71-Keith Rauch, 6. b4-Eric Baldaccini, 7. 15b-Michael Brown.

Heat Four (8 Laps): 1. 7m-Kevin Ramey, 2. 94-Cody Branchcomb, 3. 81au-Gavin Punch, 4. 45-J.P. Bailey, 5. 35-Derrik Ortega, 6. 010-Brian Roberts, 7. 41-Jason Johnson.

Pole Dash (5 Laps): 1. 87-Brian McClelland, 2. 25x-Gary Taylor, 3. 21-Brian Brown, 4. 1x-Don Droud, Jr., 5. 1-Sean McClelland, 6. 12x-Jason Martin.

First "B" Feature (12 Laps): 1. 1p-Curtis Evans, 2. b4-Eric Baldaccini, 3. 85-John Hunt, 4. 4am-Travis Jenkins, 5. 19s-Steven Cross, 6. 14k-Kyle Bellm, 7. 25-Derek Cottrell, 8. 19-Joe McCarthy, 9. 15b-Michael Brown, 10. 45-J.P. Bailey.

Second "B" Feature (12 Laps): 1. 81au-Gavin Punch, 2. 35-Derrik Ortega, 3. 71-Keith Rauch, 4. 26m-Shelly Ward, 5. 41-Jason Johnson, 6. 010-Brian Roberts, 7. 59-Dustin Morgan, 8. 8-Rodger Eckhardt, 9. 97-Tom Cummings, 10. 88-J. Kinder.

"A" Feature (30 Laps): 1. 21-Brian Brown, 2. 1-Sean McClelland, 3. 87-Brian McClelland, 4. 7m-Kevin Ramey, 5. 50z-Zach Chappell, 6. 1x-Don Droud, Jr., 7. 25x-Gary Taylor, 8. 45x-C.J. Johnson, 9. 72-Sherman Davis, 10. 94-Cody Branchcomb, 11. 71-Keith Rauch, 12. 11x-Garry Lee Maier, 13. 85-John Hunt, 14. 1p-Curtis Evans, 15. 35-Derrik Ortega, 16. 81au-Gavin Punch, 17. 12x-Jason Martin, 18. 85s-Forrest Sutherland, 19. b4-Eric Baldaccini, 20. 15s-Nick Smith.

Final American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region Points (Top Ten): 1. Brian McClelland 1,954, 2. Kevin Ramey 1,929, 3. Cody Branchcomb 1,926, 4. Gavin Punch 1,624, 5. Michael Brown 1,593, 6. J.P. Bailey 1,522, 7. Nick Smith 1,420, 8. Derek Cottrell 1,406, 9. Eric Baldaccini 1,298, 10. Sherman Davis 1,251.

-credit: ascs

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Brian Brown , Cody Branchcomb , Dustin Morgan , Nick Smith , C.J. Johnson , Kevin Ramey , Gary Taylor , Jason Johnson , J.P. Bailey , Sean McClelland