Sooner Region Sapulpa results 2007-09-22

Brian McClelland Masters ASCS Sooner Region at Creek County SAPULPA, Okla. (September 22, 2007) -- Tulsa, Oklahoma's Brian McClelland emerged victorious in Saturday night's hotly-contested 25-lap American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner...

Brian McClelland Masters ASCS Sooner Region at Creek County

SAPULPA, Okla. (September 22, 2007) -- Tulsa, Oklahoma's Brian McClelland emerged victorious in Saturday night's hotly-contested 25-lap American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region feature event before a packed house at Creek County Speedway.

McClelland wrestled the lead away from older brother Sean McClelland on the tenth round and ultimately took the checkered flag just ahead of a fast-closing Zach Chappell to snare his second series win of the year aboard the Wesmar-powered R&B Motorsports/Maxwell Oil No. 87 Triple-X.

Polesitter Sean McClelland outgunned Eric Baldaccini for the lead at the drop of the green flag, with second row starters Cody Branchcomb and Brian McClelland quickly taking over the second and third positions.

Following a quick caution after two laps for Kyle Bellm's turn three spin, Sean McClelland slipped away from his pursuers with Brian McClelland battling past Branchcomb for second by the fifth round.

Brian McClelland began to reel his brother in over the next several laps, closing in on his tailtank by the time they reached lapped traffic on the ninth lap. Battling in side-by-side fashion while at the same time trying to slice through traffic, the sibling duel was cut short when Sean McClelland spun entering turn three on the tenth round to bring out the race's second and final caution.

Brian McClelland led the way on the restart in front of fellow ASCS Sooner Region championship contenders Branchcomb and eighth-starter Kevin Ramey, while Chappell had advanced to sixth after starting the feature event in eleventh.

Branchcomb kept the heat on McClelland for several laps and was beginning to mount a challenge for the lead when brake failure slowed his charge.JMeanwhile, Chappell raced around Dex Eaton and Baldaccini to climb to fourth and then battled by Ramey for third on the 18th lap. A lap later, Chappell took second from Branchcomb and set his sights on McClelland, who had slipped away to a half straightaway advantage on the quarter-mile clay oval.

With Brian McClelland mired in heavy lapped traffic as the final laps clicked off, Chappell was on the charge and within two car-lengths of the leader when the white flag flew. McClelland made another nifty move through traffic on the final round and took the checkered flag with a 0.341-second advantage over Chappell, who settled for runner-up honors in his first time back aboard Terry Henry's No. 92 entry.

Ramey took the show position from Branchcomb on the 22nd lap and held it to the line, with Branchcomb settling for his fourth consecutive fourth place finish. With just the $3,000 to win season finale at Mid-America Speedway in South Coffeyville, OK, on October 5-6 remaining for the ASCS Sooner Region, only nine points separate the top three in points as Ramey holds a seven point advantage over McClelland with Branchcomb just two more points back.

Nineteen-year-old Baldaccini cracked the top five in ASCS Sooner Region competition for the first time by finishing fifth, with Sherman Davis rebounding from a heat race flip to charge from 16th to sixth in the feature.

Nick Smith raced from 15th to finish seventh in front of 13th-starter Matt Covington and Dex Eaton. Sean McClelland bounced back from his early miscue to complete the top ten.

Baldaccini, Branchcomb and Shelly Ward topped heat race action, with Nick Smith winning the "B" Main.

Sherman flipped on the opening round of the second heat, with J.P. Bailey turning over as the green flag flew on heat three. Both returned to make the cut for the feature event.

American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region Results from Creek County Speedway:

Heat One (8 Laps): 1. b4-Eric Baldaccini, 2. 59-Dex Eaton, 3. 7m-Kevin Ramey, 4. 92-Zach Chappell, 5. 95-Matt Covington, 6. 15s-Nick Smith, 7. 7F-Frank Sudduth, 8. 15b-Michael Brown.

Heat Two (8 Laps): 1. 94-Cody Branchcomb, 2. 1-Sean McClelland, 3. 87-Brian McClelland, 4. 25-Derek Cottrell, 5. 14k-Kyle Bellm, 6. 22-Koby Barksdale, 7. 72-Sherman Davis. DNS: 52-Roy Larkin.

Heat Three (8 Laps): 1. 26m-Shelly Ward, 2. 4am-Travis Jenkins, 3. 1n-Nick Lucito, 4. 1b-Burt Davis, 5. 010-Brian Roberts, 6. 97-Tom Cummings, 7. 45-J.P. Bailey, 8. 85-John Hunt.

Pole Dash (5 Laps): 1. 1-Sean McClelland, 2. b4-Eric Baldaccini, 3. 94-Cody Branchcomb, 4. 87-Brian McClelland, 5. 26m-Shelly Ward, 6. 4am-Travis Jenkins.

"B" Feature (10 Laps): 1. 15s-Nick Smith, 2. 72-Sherman Davis, 3. 45-J.P. Bailey, 4. 010-Brian Roberts, 5. 15b-Michael Brown, 6. 97-Tom Cummings, 7. 7F-Frank Sudduth, 8. 22-Koby Barksdale. DNS: 85-John Hunt, 52-Roy Larkin.

"A" Feature (25 Laps): 1. 87-Brian McClelland, 2. 92-Zach Chappell, 3. 7m-Kevin Ramey, 4. 94-Cody Branchcomb, 5. b4-Eric Baldaccini, 6. 72-Sherman Davis, 7. 15s-Nick Smith, 8. 95-Matt Covington, 9. 59-Dex Eaton, 10. 1-Sean McClelland, 11. 14k-Kyle Bellm, 12. 25-Derek Cottrell, 13. 4am-Travis Jenkins, 14. 26m-Shelly Ward, 15. 15b-Michael Brown, 16. 45-J.P. Bailey, 17. 010-Brian Roberts, 18. 1n-Nick Lucito, 19. 1b-Burt Davis, 20. 97-Tom Cummings.

American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region Points (Top Ten): 1. Kevin Ramey 1,667, 2. Brian McClelland 1,660, 3. Cody Branchcomb 1,658, 4. Michael Brown 1,388, 4. Gavin Punch 1,380, 6. J.P. Bailey 1,335, 7. Derek Cottrell 1,256, 8. Nick Smith 1,174, 9. Eric Baldaccini 1,111, 10. Sherman Davis 1,044.

-credit: ascs

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Cody Branchcomb , Nick Smith , Dex Eaton , Kevin Ramey , Matt Covington , J.P. Bailey , Koby Barksdale , Sean McClelland