Sooner Region Paris results 2006-06-09

ASCS Sooner Spin & Win for Jason Johnson at Paris PARIS, Tex. (June 9, 2006) -- Most drivers wait until after the checkered flag has flown to execute some victory donuts. But Jason Johnson did his donut on the sixth round before...

ASCS Sooner Spin & Win for Jason Johnson at Paris

PARIS, Tex. (June 9, 2006) -- Most drivers wait until after the checkered flag has flown to execute some victory donuts. But Jason Johnson did his donut on the sixth round before racing to victory lane in Friday night's 25-lap American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region feature at Paris Motor Speedway.

Running second at the time, Johnson looped his mount in turn four on the sixth lap and fell back to fifth before slicing through the field and ultimately around race leader Sam Hafertepe, Jr., for keeps on the 17th lap en route to picking up his sixth overall ASCS feature win of the season.

"I just got on the throttle a little too hard coming off of four and spun it," Johnson explained afterward. "It just made me mad that I did that, I was on a mission after that."

Starting from the pole position, Johnson outgunned fellow front row starter Sean McClelland for the point at the drop of the green flag. But Johnson led only one round before third-starter Hafertepe raced into the lead in turns three and four on the second circuit.

With Hafertepe holding steady on the bottom of the track, Johnson was challenging for the point when he looped it in turn four. Johnson kept Lanny Row's Wesmar-powered The Shop Diesel Service No. 41 Eagle under power though and rejoined the chase in fifth.

As Hafertepe entered lapped traffic on the eighth round, Johnson was on the charge, taking fourth from Travis Rilat by the tenth round. Johnson disposed of Sherman Davis for third on the 13th lap, then took second from McClelland a lap later.

With Hafertepe bottled up behind a pair of dueling lapped machines, Johnson reeled him in and charged by on the high side to take command on the 17th circuit. A lap later, the yellow lights flickered for the only time when Brian McClelland spun in turn four.

With a pair of lapped cars between himself and Hafertepe on the restart, Johnson checked out and raced to the checkered flag with nearly a straightaway advantage. Hafertepe held on to second, with Rilat taking the show position at the stripe.

Driving Terry Henry's No. 92 entry, Zach Chappell charged through the field to finish fourth after starting 15th, with Johnny Miller making a late move past current ASCS Sooner Region point leader Sean McClelland to snare fifth. McClelland settled for sixth, with Davis, Skip Wilson, Kevin Ramey and Trey Robb completing the top ten.

Hafertepe, Sean McClelland, Jeff Day and Johnson topped heat race action for the 30-car field, with Chappell charging from tenth to overtake Brian McClelland for the lead on the ninth round of the 12-lap "B" Main.

ASCS Sooner Region Results:

First Heat (8 Laps): 1. 15-Sam Hafertepe, Jr., 2. 17w-Brad Welborn, 3. 7m-Kevin Ramey, 4. 59-Dex Eaton, 5. 10-Brian McClelland, 6. 4am-Travis Jenkins, 7. 35-Brad Best, 8. 25-Derek Cottrell.

Second Heat (8 Laps): 1. 1-Sean McClelland, 2. 10w-Cody Wampler, 3. 72-Sherman Davis, 4. 1s-George White, 5. 45-J.P. Bailey, 6. 94-Cody Branchcomb, 7. 14b-Robert Byrom. DNS: 11p-Preston Peebles II.

Third Heat (8 Laps): 1. 6d-Jeff Day, 2. 29-Travis Rilat, 3. 23-Jimmy Taylor, 4. 12-Trey Robb, 5. 76-John Ricketts, 6. 99-Justin Melton. DNS: 11F-Foster Landon.

Fourth Heat (8 Laps): 1. 41-Jason Johnson, 2. 65-Skip Wilson, 3. 64J-Johnny Miller, 4. 15b-Michael Brown, 5. B4-Eric Baldaccini, 6. 92-Zach Chappell, 7. 6-Mike Sanders.

"B" Feature (12 Laps): 1. 92-Zach Chappell, 2. 10-Brian McClelland, 3. 1s-George White, 4. 45-J.P. Bailey, 5. 94-Cody Branchcomb, 6. 15b-Michael Brown, 7. 11p-Preston Peebles II, 8. 99-Justin Melton, 9. 76-John Ricketts, 10. 35-Brad Best, 11. 4am-Travis Jenkins, 12. 14b-Robert Byrom, 13. 6-Mike Sanders, 14. 25-Derek Cottrell, 15. B4-Eric Baldaccini. DNS: 11F-Foster Landon.

"A" Feature (25 Laps): 1. 41-Jason Johnson, 2. 15-Sam Hafertepe, Jr., 3. 29-Travis Rilat, 4. 92-Zach Chappell, 5. 64J-Johnny Miller, 6. 1-Sean McClelland, 7. 72-Sherman Davis, 8. 65-Skip Wilson, 9. 7m-Kevin Ramey, 10. 12-Trey Robb, 11. 6d-Jeff Day, 12. 10-Brian McClelland, 13. 45-J.P. Bailey, 14. 94-Cody Branchcomb, 15. 59-Dex Eaton, 16. 14b-Robert Byrom, 17. 1s-George White, 18. 10w-Cody Wampler, 19. 17w-Brad Welborn, 20. 23-Jimmy Taylor.

American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region Points (Top Ten): 1. Sean McClelland 1,022, 2. Sam Hafertepe, Jr. 980, 3. Kevin Ramey 964, 4. Brian McClelland 871, 5. J.P. Bailey 805, 6. Johnny Miller 785, 7. Jimmy Taylor 756, 8. Dex Eaton 749, 9. Justin Melton 694, 10. Eric Baldaccini 668.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Johnny Miller , George White , Preston Peebles , Cody Branchcomb , Travis Rilat , Justin Melton , Dex Eaton , Kevin Ramey , John Ricketts , Jason Johnson , J.P. Bailey , Sean McClelland