Sooner Region OKC results 2006-04-21

McClelland Strikes for ASCS Sooner Score at Oklahoma City OKLAHOMA CITY, Okla. (April 21, 2006) -- Defending American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region champion Sean McClelland moved into the lead on the 20th round en route to ...

McClelland Strikes for ASCS Sooner Score at Oklahoma City

OKLAHOMA CITY, Okla. (April 21, 2006) -- Defending American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region champion Sean McClelland moved into the lead on the 20th round en route to capturing victory honors in Friday night's 25-lap American Sprint Car Series Sooner Region feature at Oklahoma City over a field of 42 entries.

Battling forward from the sixth starting position, McClelland assumed the point when race leader Danny Jennings ran afoul of a lapped car on the 20th circuit. McClelland then nursed a deflating right rear tire over the final rounds to secure the victory aboard Wade and Allisha Wisely's Oil Capital Transportation/Messer Construction No. 1 Maxim.

"We cut that right rear tire with three laps to go, another five laps and we wouldn't have made it," McClelland explained as his mount sat with a flat tire in victory lane.

While Jennings led the feature field to the green flag, it was upstart Gary Owens powering into the early lead from his front row outside starting position. After Koby Barksdale's lap two spin, Owens once again stretched his lead out until encountering lapped traffic after just six laps.

Jennings closed to Owens' rear nerf bar by the eighth round, with Brian McClelland, Sean McClelland, Kevin Ramey and Trey Robb in pursuit.

Owens fought off Jennings' advances for several rounds before finally surrendering the point on the 15th circuit. Sean McClelland had battled past his younger brother for third by that time, then disposed of Owens for second two rounds later as Sam Hafertepe, Jr., picked off Robb, Ramey and Brian McClelland to advance to fourth.

With the top six cars bunched together in traffic in the closing rounds, a lapped car spun in turn four on the 20th lap directly in front of the leaders. Jennings was unable to avoid the spin and clipped the car with his right front, sustaining front axle damage in the process.

McClelland took charge and checked out in the final six-lap charge to the checkered flag despite his right rear tire woes. Owens held the runner-up slot to the stripe, while Ramey took the show position in front of Hafertepe and Zach Chappell, who earned Hard Charger honors by racing from 15th to round out the top five.

Thirteen-year-old Robb overcame a balking powerplant to claim sixth, with Brian McClelland, Skip Wilson, J.P. Bailey and 17th-starter Natalie Sather completing the top ten.

Jennings, Owens, Brian McClelland, Robb and Sean McClelland each scored heat race victories, with Chappell wiring the field in the first "B" Main. Jimmy Taylor fought off a mid-race bid from Tony Bruce, Jr., to win the second "B" Main.

Larry Neighbors collided with Justin Melton and flipped in turn four in the first "B" Main, with Jake Martens taking a wild turn three ride in the second "B" Main. There were no injuries.

American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region Results:

First Heat (8 Laps): 1. 61J-Danny Jennings, 2. 10w-Cody Wampler, 3. 45-J.P. Bailey, 4. 94s-Natalie Sather, 5. 10R-David Wheeler, 6. 61L-Lee Jennings, 7. 9x-Larry Carter. DNS: 29n-Larry Neighbors, 6-Terry Holland.

Second Heat (8 Laps): 1. 33-Gary Owens, 2. 51-Mike Peters, 3. 7m-Kevin Ramey, 4. 81au-Gavin Punch, 5. 25-Derek Cottrell, 6. 26-Rafe Essary, 7. 03-Joe Wood, Jr., 8. 85s-Forrest Sutherland, 9. 35c-Wendy Chapa.

Third Heat (8 Laps): 1. 10-Brian McClelland, 2. 65-Skip Wilson, 3. 20-Koby Barksdale, 4. 35-Brad Best, 5. 13h-Strike Hill, 6. 61-Earnest Jennings, 7. 15b-Michael Brown, 8. 94-Cody Branchcomb.

Fourth Heat (8 Laps): 1. 12-Trey Robb, 2. 59-Dex Eaton, 3. 50z-Zach Chappell, 4. 02f-Josh Fellows, 5. 18-Tony Bruce, Jr., 6. 99-Justin Melton, 7. 36-Mitchell Gosey, 8. 4am-Travis Jenkins.

Fifth Heat (8 Laps): 1. 1-Sean McClelland, 2. 15-Sam Hafertepe, Jr., 3. 23-Jimmy Taylor, 4. B4-Eric Baldaccini, 5. 64J-Johnny Miller, 6. 1x-Jake Martens, 7. 78-Kevin Pickard, 8. 7c-Josh Close.

First "B" Feature (12 Laps): 1. 50z-Zach Chappell, 2. 94s-Natalie Sather, 3. 02f-Josh Fellows, 4. 10R-David Wheeler, 5. 94-Cody Branchcomb, 6. 03-Joe Wood, Jr., 7. 61-Earnest Jennings, 8. 78-Kevin Pickard, 9. 61L-Lee Jennings, 10. 15b-Michael Brown, 11. 7c-Josh Close, 12. 64J-Johnny Miller, 13. 99-Justin Melton, 14. 29n-Larry Neighbors.

Second "B" Feature (12 Laps): 1. 23-Jimmy Taylor, 2. 18-Tony Bruce, Jr., 3. 81au-Gavin Punch, 4. B4-Eric Baldaccini, 5. 85s-Forrest Sutherland, 6. 9x-Larry Carter, 7. 13h-Strike Hill, 8. 4am-Travis Jenkins, 9. 26-Rafe Essary, 10. 1x-Jake Martens, 11. 36-Mitchell Gosey, 12. 25-Derek Cottrell. DNS: 35c-Wendy Chapa, 6-Terry Holland.

"A" Feature (25 Laps): 1. 1-Sean McClelland, 2. 33-Gary Owens, 3. 7m-Kevin Ramey, 4. 15-Sam Hafertepe, Jr., 5. 50z-Zach Chappell, 6. 12-Trey Robb, 7. 10-Brian McClelland, 8. 65-Skip Wilson, 9. 45-J.P. Bailey, 10. 94s-Natalie Sather, 11. 18-Tony Bruce, Jr., 12. 59-Dex Eaton, 13. 10w-Cody Wampler, 14. 51-Mike Peters, 15. 23-Jimmy Taylor, 16. 61J-Danny Jennings, 17. 02f-Josh Fellows, 18. 35-Brad Best, 19. 20-Koby Barksdale, 20. 81au-Gavin Punch.

American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region Points (Top Ten): 1. Sam Hafertepe, Jr. 292,2. Sean McClelland 288, 3. Dex Eaton 266, 4. (tie) Kevin Ramey and Brian McClelland 264, 6. J.P. Bailey 246, 7. Gavin Punch 244, 8. Brad Best 240, 9. Johnny Miller 221, 10. Justin Melton 207.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Johnny Miller , Larry Neighbors , Cody Branchcomb , Justin Melton , Dex Eaton , Danny Jennings , Kevin Ramey , J.P. Bailey , Koby Barksdale , Sean McClelland , David Wheeler