Sooner Region OKC results 2005-04-29

Danny Wood Whips ASCS Sooner Region Foes at OKC OKLAHOMA CITY, Okla. (April 29, 2005) -- Danny Wood survived a late caution to capture his first American Bank of Oklahoma American Sprint Car Series Sooner Region feature triumph...

Danny Wood Whips ASCS Sooner Region Foes at OKC

OKLAHOMA CITY, Okla. (April 29, 2005) -- Danny Wood survived a late caution to capture his first American Bank of Oklahoma American Sprint Car Series Sooner Region feature triumph of the year by topping Friday night's 20-lap feature at State Fair Speedway.

While Wood gridded sixth aboard Lanny Row's Wesmar-powered The Shop Diesel Service No. 41 Eagle, he needed little more than a lap to blast into the lead and charged to the checkered flag virtually unchallenged on an unseasonably blustery Oklahoma night.

"I've just got to thank all you dedicated race fans who stuck it out for the duration tonight, it was definitely a cold one but it was worth it," Wood commented in victory lane.

O'Reilly ASCS National Tour Brodix Rookie of the Year candidate Jake Martens, taking advantage of an off night for the National Tour, led the feature field to the green flag with two-time Sooner Region champion Kevin Ramey alongside.

As Martens outgunned Ramey for the point at the drop of the green, Wood charged past second row starters Danny Jennings and Jason Martin immediately and raced past Martens to take the lead entering turn three on the opening round.

Martens battled back in turn four to lead the field across the stripe upon the completion of lap one. Martens' lead was short-lived however, as Wood battled back in front via the high line through turns one and two and set sail.

Wood wasted little time stretching his lead to nearly a straightaway as Ramey overtook Martens for second on the sixth round, with Martin, fifth-starter Sean McClelland and seventh-starter Zach Chappell in pursuit.

Working through lapped traffic, Ramey began to whittle into Wood's advantage as Martens, Chappell, Martin and McClelland engaged in an entertaining battle for position behind the lead pair.

Wood's half straightaway advantage was erased with just two laps remaining when Kerry McAlister clipped an infield tire in turn two and spun to a halt with front end damage.

Ramey attempted to mount a challenge during the two-lap dash to the checkered flag, but Wood was up to the task and raced to his fifth career ASCS Sooner Region victory unabated.

Ramey settled for second, while series point leader McClelland crossed the stripe third after taking the position on the 16th round. Martin snared fourth, with Martens rounding out the top five.

Chappell settled for sixth in front of tenth-starter Tony Bruce, Jr., with Jennings in eighth. Cody Branchcomb turned in the evening's top passing performance by advancing from 16th to ninth, with defending series co-champion Andy Shouse completing the top ten.

Ramey, Martens, Wood, Chappell and Martin topped heat race action for the 35-car field, with George White and Branchcomb claiming victory honors in the twin 12-lap B Mains.


First Heat (8 Laps): 1. Kevin Ramey, 2. Danny Jennings, 3. Natalie Sather, 4. Derek Cottrell, 5. Earnest Jennings, 6. Josh Fellows, 7. Keith Rauch.

Second Heat (8 Laps): 1. Jake Martens, 2. Andy Shouse, 3. Tony Bruce, Jr., 4. George White, 5. Foster Landon, 6. Jeff Leep, 7. Joel Howard.

Third Heat (8 Laps): 1. Danny Wood, 2. Travis Scott, 3. Kerry McAlister, 4. Jimmy Taylor, 5. Preston Peebles II, 6. J.P. Bailey, 7. Nick Smith.

Fourth Heat (8 Laps): 1. Zach Chappell, 2. Brian McClelland, 3. Cody Branchcomb, 4. Gavin Punch, 5. Lee Jennings, 6. Joe Wood, Jr., 7. Koby Barksdale.

Fifth Heat (8 Laps): 1. Jason Martin, 2. Sean McClelland, 3. Sam Hafertepe, Jr., 4. Chris Burns, 5. Eric Baldaccini, 6. David Lee Lambert, 7. Josh Close.

First B Feature (10 Laps): 1. George White, 2. Chris Burns, 3. Keith Rauch, 4. Gavin Punch, 5. Foster Landon, 6. Josh Close, 7. Nick Smith, 8. Jimmy Taylor, 9. Joe Wood, Jr., 10. Jeff Leep. DNS: Eric Baldaccini.

Second B Feature (10 Laps): 1. Cody Branchcomb, 2. J.P. Bailey, 3. Preston Peebles II, 4. Earnest Jennings, 5. Lee Jennings, 6. David Lee Lambert, 7. Koby Barksdale, 8. Derek Cottrell, 9. Josh Fellows. DNS: Joel Howard.

A Feature (20 Laps): 1. Danny Wood, 2. Kevin Ramey, 3. Sean McClelland, 4. Jason Martin, 5. Jake Martens, 6. Zach Chappell, 7. Tony Bruce, Jr., 8. Danny Jennings, 9. Cody Branchcomb, 10. Andy Shouse, 11. Chris Burns, 12. Travis Scott, 13. Natalie Sather, 14. Sam Hafertepe, Jr., 15. Keith Rauch, 16. George White, 17. J.P. Bailey, 18. Preston Peebles II, 19. Kerry McAlister, 20. Brian McClelland.

American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region Points (Top Ten): 1. Sean McClelland 590, 2. Danny Jennings 576, 3. Cody Branchcomb 552, 4. Preston Peebles II 508, 5. Kerry McAlister 496, 6. Foster Landon 467, 7. Joel Howard 453, 8. Brian McClelland 451, 9. J.P. Bailey 449, 10. Danny Wood 410.


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers George White , Preston Peebles , Cody Branchcomb , Chris Burns , Nick Smith , Danny Jennings , Kevin Ramey , J.P. Bailey , Koby Barksdale , Andy Shouse , Sean McClelland