Sooner Region Lawton results 2004-09-11

LAWTON, Okla. (September 11, 2004) -- Danny Wood slipped around Nick Smith to take command on the seventh round en route to winning Saturday night's 30-lap American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region feature at Lawton Speedway. "I thought...

LAWTON, Okla. (September 11, 2004) -- Danny Wood slipped around Nick Smith to take command on the seventh round en route to winning Saturday night's 30-lap American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region feature at Lawton Speedway.

"I thought the race track was going to be heavy the way we started early in the night with all that water, but I guess he had it pretty hard and that wind and the sun just took it away," commented Wood after his fourth series victory of the season aboard Bill Harvill's Wells-powered Harvill Industries No. 44 Eagle. "You could go to the top in three and four, but one and two was marbles on top, if you got out there you were done."

While Wood led the feature field to the green flag with teammate Brian Harvill alongside, it was third-starter Smith dashing into the lead on the backstretch on the opening circuit. Smith withstood a pair of brief early cautions to pace the opening rounds in front of Wood, Foster Landon and Harvill.

Wood soon turned up the heat, challenging for the lead on the high side in turn four on the sixth round, then edging in front of Smith entering turn one on the seventh lap.

With Wood and Smith leading the way, Garry Lee Maier batted past Landon for third on the eleventh round. Landon would recapture the position twelve laps later however.

Smith's strong run came to a premature end when he suffered rear end problems on the 29th lap and rolled to a halt in turn three, bringing out the race's final caution.

Set for a two-lap dash to the checkered flag, a lapped car separated Wood from Landon on the restart. Wood took advantage to secure a ten car-length triumph over Landon.

Maier claimed the show position, with Harvill turning in a season-best fourth place finish. Current series point leader Kevin Ramey advanced from twelfth to round out the top five, extending his point lead to just 16 markers over sixth-place finisher Andy Shouse. Gary Owens crossed the stripe in seventh, with 16th-starter Danny Jennings, 18th-starter Derek Drown and 20th-starter Preston Peebles II completing the top ten.

Smith, Maier, Wood and Harvill topped heat race action for the 30-car field, with Tony Bruce, Jr., racing past rookie Shane Bangerter on the 11th lap en route to winning the 15-lap B Feature.

Michelle Decker took a hard flip after contact with Harvill in heat race action. Decker returned to finish sixth in the B Main.


First Heat: 1. Nick Smith, 2. Foster Landon, 3. Matt Clevenger, 4. Shane Bangerter, 5. Barry McCord, 6. Derek Drown, 7. Jeff Dodd, 8. David Lee Lambert.

Second Heat: 1. Garry Lee Maier, 2. J.P. Bailey, 3. Jerry Bell, 4. Sean McClelland, 5. Danny Jennings, 6. Tony Bruce, Jr., 7. Dex Eaton, 8. Mike Woodruff.

Third Heat:  1. Danny Wood, 2. Rawdy Hull, 3. Andy Shouse, 4. Preston
Peebles II, 5. Koby Barksdale, 6. Jack Wallace.  DNS: Dara Morrow.

Fourth Heat: 1. Brian Harvill, 2. Gary Owens, 3. Chris Sweeney, 4. Kevin Ramey, 5. James Fabian, 6. Kevin Pickard, 7. Michelle Decker.

B Feature (15 Laps): 1. Tony Bruce, Jr., 2. Derek Drown, 3. Shane Bangerter, 4. Preston Peebles II, 5. Mike Woodruff, 6. Michelle Decker, 7. Kevin Pickard, 8. Dex Eaton, 9. James Fabian, 10. Koby Barksdale, 11. Jeff Dodd, 12. Dara Morrow, 13. Jac Wallace. DNS: David Lee Lambert.

A Feature (30 Laps): 1. Danny Wood, 2. Foster Landon, 3. Garry Lee Maier, 4. Brian Harvill, 5. Kevin Ramey, 6. Andy Shouse, 7. Gary Owens, 8. Danny Jennings, 9. Derek Drown, 10. Preston Peebles II, 11. Sean McClelland, 12. Barry McCord, 13. Nick Smith, 14. Tony Bruce, Jr., 15. Rawdy Hull, 16. Matt Clevenger, 17. J.P. Bailey, 18. Chris Sweeney, 19. Shane Bangerter, 20. Jerry Bell.

American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region Points (Top Ten): 1. Kevin Ramey 2,084, 2. Andy Shouse 2,068, 3. Sean McClelland 2,018, 4. Tony Bruce, Jr. 2,006, 5. Preston Peebles II 1,930, 6. Foster Landon 1,910, 7. J.P. Bailey 1,765, 8. Barry McCord 1,454, 9. Danny Jennings 1,630, 10. Gary Owens 1,445.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Preston Peebles , Mike Woodruff , Michelle Decker , Nick Smith , Dex Eaton , Danny Jennings , Kevin Ramey , J.P. Bailey , Koby Barksdale , Andy Shouse , Sean McClelland