Sooner Region Cowtown results 2007-04-14

Ramey Rounds Up ASCS Sooner Region at Cowtown KENNEDALE, Tex. (April 14, 2007) -- Kevin Ramey felt right at home Saturday night by topping a field of 43 entries in the season-opening 30-lap feature for the American Bank of ...

Ramey Rounds Up ASCS Sooner Region at Cowtown

KENNEDALE, Tex. (April 14, 2007) -- Kevin Ramey felt right at home Saturday night by topping a field of 43 entries in the season-opening 30-lap feature for the American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region at Cowtown Speedway, a mere three miles from Ramey's home.

But the two-time ASCS Sooner Region champion had to get his elbows up for a 15th career series win, battling past Brian McClelland for the point in the early stages and then fighting off past ASCS National champion Travis Rilat over the final half of the race to score the win aboard Tom Willis' Wells-powered Commercial Music/Smoke Pit Bar-B-Que No. 7m Eagle on a chilly Texas night.

"These are some true race fans here," Ramey commented in victory lane. "It's so cold tonight, I wasn't even sure if I wanted to come out tonight. But I'm glad we did, it worked out pretty well."

After topping the Pole Dash, Ramey led the feature field to the green flag but it was front row outside starter McClelland muscling into the lead on the opening round. Ramey and McClelland dueled for the lead in the early stages, with McClelland holding the advantage when the race's first caution flew after four laps for Nick Smith, who bounced off the top of turn two.

McClelland bicycled entering turn one on the restart, opening a door that Ramey wasted no time charging through. A half-lap later, Johnny Miller raced past McClelland as well to take over second.

With Ramey setting the pace, seventh-starter Rilat was on the move as he climbed to third by the sixth lap. Rilat battled past Miller for second soon after lapped traffic came into play on the tenth round and wasted little time reeling in the leader.

Rilat made his first bid for the lead just past the midway point, but to no avail as Ramey held strong. The daring battle through lapped traffic in which Ramey precariously scraped the frontstretch wall on at least one occasion in a determined effort to fend off Rilat was soon interrupted when Ray Allen Kulhanek spun in turn two while battling Cody Branchcomb for fifth on the 17th round.

Rilat then pulled alongside Ramey two more times before a red flag flew with 22 laps in the books for Andy Shouse's tumble into turn one. After starting 18th, Shouse had charged all the way to fifth before being collected by a lapped car. Shouse walked away perturbed but otherwise unscathed.

After one final caution for a spin a lap later, Ramey and Rilat battled for the point in furious fashion over the final seven circuits. Rilat briefly edged ahead of Ramey on a pair of occasions exiting turn two, only to have Ramey surge back into the lead.

With lapped traffic back in play on the final two laps, Rilat made one last ditch effort on the final lap but came up just short at the checkered flag. "We tried, just didn't quite get 'er done tonight," Rilat commented.

After winning the evening's second "B" Main, Cowtown Speedway regular Brad Welborn zipped around the top side of the track to advance from 16th to sixth in the opening four laps. Welborn made his way up to third soon after the midway point then held the show position to the line despite top wing problems in the final rounds.

Miller crossed the stripe fourth, with Cody Branchcomb rounding out the top five. Kenneth Walker charged from 20th to sixth, with McClelland settling for seventh. Teen shoe Koby Barksdale snared a solid eighth-place run, with 17th-starter Foster Landon and Claud Estes completing the top ten.

McClelland, Kulhanek, Branchcomb, Miller and Jamie Will topped heat race action, with Landon and Welborn winning the twin 12-lap "B" Mains.

American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region Results from Cowtown Speedway:

Heat One (8 Laps): 1. 87-Brian McClelland, 2. 74e-Claud Estes, 3. 11F-Foster Landon, 4. 72-Sherman Davis, 5. 27-Andy Shouse, 6. 6-Mike Sanders, 7. 7J-Justin Zimmerman, 8. 69h-Larry Howery, 9. 85s-Forrest Sutherland.

Heat Two (8 Laps): 1. 41k-Ray Allen Kulhanek, 2. 29-Travis Rilat, 3. 65-Skip Wilson, 4. 22-Koby Barksdale, 5. 2-Kenneth Walker, 6. 71-Channin Tankersley, 7. 31x-Matt Clevenger, 8. 14-Michael Lang, 9. 18-Lorne Wofford.

Heat Three (8 Laps): 1. 94-Cody Branchcomb, 2. 21T-Kent Lewis, Jr., 3. 13m-Kathryne Minter, 4. 15b-Michael Brown, 5. 26m-Shelly Ward, 6. b4-Eric Baldaccini, 7. 41-Brent Swift, 8. 1s-George White, 9. 1-Sean McClelland.

Heat Four (8 Laps): 1. 64J-Johnny Miller, 2. 45-J.P. Bailey, 3. 17w-Brad Welborn, 4. 81au-Gavin Punch, 5. 31-Marvin Lough, 6. 2x-Whit Gastineau, 7. 25-Derek Cottrell, 8. 35-Brad Best, 9. 11-Darrell Fletcher.

Heat Five (8 Laps): 1. 4J-Jamie Will, 2. 7m-Kevin Ramey, 3. 21-Nick Smith, 4. 55d-David Doyle, 5. 68-Andy Rea, 6. 24-Terry Lambert. DNS: 14b-Robert Byrom.

Pole Dash (5 Laps): 1. 7m-Kevin Ramey, 2. 87-Brian McClelland, 3. 64J-Johnny Miller, 4. 4J-Jamie Will, 5. 94-Cody Branchcomb, 6. 41k-Ray Allen Kulhanek.

First "B" Feature (12 Laps): 1. 11F-Foster Landon, 2. 21-Nick Smith, 3. 26m-Shelly Ward, 4. 65-Skip Wilson, 5. 7J-Justin Zimmerman, 6. 2x-Whit Gastineau, 7. 55d-David Doyle, 8. 85s-Forrest Sutherland, 9. 69h-Larry Howery, 10. 68-Andy Rea, 11. 41-Brent Swift, 12. 71-Channin Tankersley. DNS: 1s-George White, 1-Sean McClelland, 14b-Robert Byrom.

Second "B" Feature (12 Laps): 1. 17w-Brad Welborn, 2. 27-Andy Shouse, 3. 2-Kenneth Walker, 4. 81au-Gavin Punch, 5. b4-Eric Baldaccini, 6. 25-Derek Cottrell, 7. 31-Marvin Lough, 8. 31x-Matt Clevenger, 9. 35-Brad Best, 10. 14-Michael Lang, 11. 18-Lorne Wofford, 12. 6-Mike Sanders, 13. 11-Darrell Fletcher, 14. 24-Terry Lambert.

"A" Feature (30 Laps): 1. 7m-Kevin Ramey, 2. 29-Travis Rilat, 3. 17w-Brad Welborn, 4. 64J-Johnny Miller, 5. 94-Cody Branchcomb, 6. 2-Kenneth Walker, 7. 87-Brian McClelland, 8. 22-Koby Barksdale, 9. 11F-Foster Landon, 10. 74e-Claud Estes, 11. 72-Sherman Davis, 12. 4J-Jamie Will, 13. 26m-Shelly Ward, 14. 13m-Kathryne Minter, 15. 27-Andy Shouse, 16. 15b-Michael Brown, 17. 45-J.P. Bailey, 18. 41k-Ray Allen Kulhanek, 19. 21T-Kent Lewis, Jr., 20. 21-Nick Smith.

American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region Points (Top Ten): 1. Kevin Ramey 150, 2. Travis Rilat 146, 3. Brad Welborn 144, 4. Johnny Miller 142, 5. Cody Branchcomb 140, 6. Kenneth Walker 138, 7. Brian McClelland 136, 8. Koby Barksdale 134, 9. Foster Landon 132, 10. Claud Estes 130.

-credit: ascs

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Johnny Miller , George White , Cody Branchcomb , Travis Rilat , Nick Smith , Kevin Ramey , Larry Howery , Ray Allen Kulhanek , J.P. Bailey , Koby Barksdale , Andy Shouse , Sean McClelland