Sooner Region Cowtown results 2005-04-09

Mac Attacks ASCS Sooner Region Again! KENNEDALE, Tex. (April 9, 2005) -- Dissatisfied with the manner in which he claimed his first American Sprint Car Series triumph just a week ago, Sean McClelland left no room for doubt...

Mac Attacks ASCS Sooner Region Again!

KENNEDALE, Tex. (April 9, 2005) -- Dissatisfied with the manner in which he claimed his first American Sprint Car Series triumph just a week ago, Sean McClelland left no room for doubt this time as he romped to victory lane in Saturday night's 30-lap American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region feature at Cowtown Speedway.

After being awarded the victory in the series' season opener at Tulsa Speedway seven days ago when the apparent victor was disqualified for a rules violation, McClelland started from the pole and scorched the high-banked, quarter-mile Cowtown clay to make it two wins in a row aboard Kurt Temple's K&N Filters/Pro Shocks/Cloud Nine No. 1 J&J.

"We had one handed to us last week so I really wanted to win this one outright and we smoked 'em!" the enthused winner proclaimed to a fervent crowd in victory lane. "This track is so fast, I just love this place, it's a great track to race on."

McClelland earned the pole for the feature by charging from the sixth starting slot in the evening's fourth heat race to make a last-lap pass of Joel Howard to snare the victory. O'Reilly ASCS Brodix National Tour Rookie of the Year candidate Jake Martens lined up on McClelland's outside shoulder after coming from fourth to win the first heat race.

The initial two attempts to start the race were waved off for separate turn three incidents, the first of which saw Russ Fletcher tear out a significant portion of the turn three fencing after a wild ride that also eliminated Foster Landon. Turn three tripped Roy Larkin on the ensuing attempt with Kerry McAlister getting collected and turned over in the process. There were no injuries.

McClelland then outgunned Martens for the point while third-starter Claud Estes charged into second on the opening round. McClelland slipped away from the field, establishing more than a half straightaway lead by the time lapped traffic became a factor on the ninth round.

As McClelland cruised out front, 14th-starter Kevin Ramey was putting on show by moving up to sixth by the sixth round. By the 14th circuit, Ramey had advanced to third and was pressuring Estes for the runner-up slot.

A near straightway lead for McClelland would soon be erased when fifth-running George White looped his machine in turn four. Set for an eight-lap dash to the checkered flag, McClelland now had Estes and Ramey on his rear bumper.

McClelland took off on the restart however and stretched his lead as Estes and the rim-riding Ramey battled side-by-side for several laps until Ramey secured second on the 26th round. McClelland would charge to the checkered flag with nearly a straightaway advantage, while Ramey surrendered the runner-up slot on the final round with mechanical woes.

Estes took advantage of Ramey's misfortune to claim second, with Martens taking the show position. Sam Hafertepe, Jr., advanced from ninth to snare fourth, with Danny Jennings racing from 13th to round out the top five.

Picking up an extra $100 from The Sprint Car Exchange, Travis Rilat earned Hard Charger honors by racing from 16th to sixth. Skip Wilson crossed the stripe in seventh, with Cody Branchcomb, 17th-starter Brad Welborn and 18th-starter Preston Peebles II completing the top ten.

Martens, Estes, Landon and McClelland topped heat race action for the 29-car field, with Welborn winning the 15-lap B Main.

Sixteen-year-old Dex Eaton escaped injury in a wild tumble through turns one and two on the sixth lap of the B Main.

Action resumes for the American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region at Oklahoma Sports Park in Ada, OK, on April 23.


First Heat (10 Laps): 1. Jake Martens, 2. Skip Wilson, 3. Cody Branchcomb, 4. Kerry McAlister, 5. Preston Peebles II, 6. Tommy Bryant, 7. Landon Brown, 8. Sean Jones.

Second Heat (10 Laps): 1. Claud Estes, 2. Roy Larkin, 3. Danny Jennings, 4. Kevin Ramey, 5. Brad Welborn, 6. J.P. Bailey, 7. Johnny Miller.

Third Heat (10 Laps): 1. Foster Landon, 2. George White, 3. Sam Hafertepe, Jr., 4. Rawdy Hull, 5. Tony Bruce, Jr., 6. Koby Barksdale, 7. Dex Eaton.

Fourth Heat (10 Laps): 1. Sean McClelland, 2. Joel Howard, 3. Russ Fletcher, 4. Travis Rilat, 5. Robert Byrom, 6. Josh Close, 7. Brian McClelland.

B Feature (15 Laps): 1. Brad Welborn, 2. Preston Peebles II, 3. Tony Bruce, Jr., 4. Sean Jones, 5. Koby Barksdale, 6. Tommy Bryant, 7. Johnny Miller, 8. J.P. Bailey, 9. Josh Close, 10. Dex Eaton, 11. Robert Byrom, 12. Landon Brown. DNS: Brian McClelland.

A Feature (30 Laps): 1. Sean McClelland, 2. Claud Estes, 3. Jake Martens, 4. Sam Hafertepe, Jr., 5. Danny Jennings, 6. Travis Rilat, 7. Skip Wilson, 8. Cody Branchcomb, 9. Brad Welborn, 10. Preston Peebles II, 11. Tony Bruce, Jr., 12. Sean Jones, 13. George White, 14. Kevin Ramey, 15. Rawdy Hull, 16. Roy Larkin, 17. Kerry McAlister, 18. Joel Howard, 19. Foster Landon, 20. Russ Fletcher.

American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region Points (Top Ten): 1. Sean McClelland 300, 2. Danny Jennings 286, 3. Jake Martens 280, 4. Cody Branchcomb 268, 5. Preston Peebles II 252, 6. Foster Landon 250, 7. Roy Larkin 248, 8. Joel Howard 246, 9. Kerry McAlister 244, 10. J.P. Bailey 217.


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Johnny Miller , George White , Preston Peebles , Cody Branchcomb , Travis Rilat , Dex Eaton , Danny Jennings , Kevin Ramey , J.P. Bailey , Koby Barksdale , Sean McClelland