Sooner Region Caney results

Wayne Johnson Wows 'Em in ASCS Sooner Region Opener at Caney CANEY, Kan. (April 3, 2004) -- Wayne Johnson charged past Jesse Hockett and early leader Kevin Ramey on the fifth round, then put on a driving clinic through lapped traffic in the ...

Wayne Johnson Wows 'Em in ASCS Sooner Region Opener at Caney

CANEY, Kan. (April 3, 2004) -- Wayne Johnson charged past Jesse Hockett and early leader Kevin Ramey on the fifth round, then put on a driving clinic through lapped traffic in the latter stages to win Saturday night's season-opening 30-lap American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region feature at Caney Valley Speedway.

"That car was perfect," Johnson said regarding his Wells-powered Harvill Industries No. 44 Eagle. "I could run it anywhere I needed to go and it just worked great. I didn't really know if anyone was close to me or not, so we just kept picking off lapped cars one at a time."

Defending American Sprint Car Series Sooner Region champion Kevin Ramey led the field to the green flag after racing from seventh to win the evening's fourth heat race, with Missouri's Jesse Hockett alongside.

Ramey jumped into the lead in the early going, with Hockett challenging on the high side. Fourth-starter Johnson stalked the battling leaders for three rounds before joining the fray for the point. Johnson slipped underneath Hockett exiting turn two on the fifth round, then squeezed underneath Ramey exiting turn four to take command.

Johnson led the way in front of Hockett, ninth-starter Jason Martin and eleventh-starter Tony Bruce, Jr., as Ramey slipped back after suffering a damaged nose-wing in the battle for the lead. Johnson encountered lapped traffic on the ninth round, but held steady until the caution flew after 13 rounds for Loyd Clevenger's disabled mount in turn four.

With a pair of lapped cars separating Johnson from Hockett on the restart, Johnson quickly took off while Hockett wasted little time disposing of lapped traffic. Johnson gradually established nearly a straightaway advantage over Hockett until lapped traffic once again came into play on the 20th circuit.

With Johnson briefly mired behind a pair of lapped machines, Hockett closed to within five car length and was poised to challenge when Johnson began slicing through traffic masterfully. Johnson put on a driving clinic over the final rounds, taking the checkered flag on the bumper of seventh place finisher Billy Alley.

Hockett settled for a strong runner-up finish aboard the Wesmar-powered VKCC Motorsports Maxim, with Martin in the show position. Sean McClelland charged from 13th to take the checkered in fourth, with Andy Shouse holding off Bruce and Alley to round out the top five.

One lap down, Foster Landon claimed eighth, with 17th-starter Danny Jennings and Ramey completing the top ten.

Joel Howard, Johnson, Landon and Ramey topped heat race action for the 30-car field, with Jennings winning the 15-lap B Feature.

Rex Combs' night came to an early end after a first heat flip, while Derek Drown took a turn one tumble in the fourth heat after contact with Sam Hafertepe, Jr. Drown was able to make repairs and finished 14th after utilizing a provisional starting position for the main event.


First Heat (10 Laps): 1. Joel Howard, 2. Loyd Clevenger, 3. Andy Shouse, 4. Tony Bruce, Jr., 5. Roy Larkin, 6. Nigel Calvert, 7. Barry McCord, 8. Rex Combs.

Second Heat (10 Laps): 1. Wayne Johnson, 2. Jason Martin, 3. Kerry Grabill, 4. Preston Peebles II, 5. J.D. Johnson, 6. Natalie Sather, 7. Rawdy Hull, 8. Brett Thompson.

Third Heat (10 Laps): 1. Foster Landon, 2. Jesse Hockett, 3. Sean McClelland, 4. Danny Jennings, 5. Brian Harvill, 6. J.P. Bailey, 7. Jon Freeman.

Fourth Heat (10 Laps): 1. Kevin Ramey, 2. Toby Brown, 3. Luke Cranston, 4. Billy Alley, 5. Jeff Leep, 6. Derek Drown, 7. Sam Hafertepe, Jr.

B Feature (15 Laps): 1. Danny Jennings, 2. Brian Harvill, 3. J.P. Bailey, 4. Roy Larkin, 5. Derek Drown, 6. Jeff Leep, 7. Natalie Sather, 8. Jon Freeman, 9. Brett Thompson, 10. Rawdy Hull, 11. Sam Hafertepe, Jr., 12. Nigel Calvert. DNS: Barry McCord, Rex Combs.

A Feature (30 Laps): 1. Wayne Johnson, 2. Jesse Hockett, 3. Jason Martin, 4. Sean McClelland, 5. Andy Shouse, 6. Tony Bruce, Jr., 7. Billy Alley, 8. Foster Landon, 9. Danny Jennings, 10. Kevin Ramey, 11. Kerry Grabill, 12. Toby Brown, 13. Luke Cranston, 14. Derek Drown, 15. J.P. Bailey, 16. Brian Harvill, 17. Preston Peebles II, 18. Roy Larkin, 19. Loyd Clevenger, 20. J.D. Johnson, 21. Joel Howard.

American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region Points (Top Ten): 1. Wayne Johnson 150, 2. Jesse Hockett 146, 3. Jason Martin 144, 4. Sean McClelland 142, 5. Andy Shouse 140, 6. Tony Bruce, Jr. 138, 7. Billy Alley 136, 8. Foster Landon 134, 9. Danny Jennings 132, 10. Kevin Ramey 130.


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Brett Thompson , Preston Peebles , Jesse Hockett , Danny Jennings , Wayne Johnson , Kevin Ramey , J.P. Bailey , Andy Shouse , Sean McClelland