Short Track Nationals news 2005-10-17

STN Field Takes Shape as Pre-Entry Deadline Approaches LITTLE ROCK, Ark. (October 17, 2005) -- With the pre-entry deadline for the 18th Annual Team Affiliated Short Track Nationals presented by Hoosier Tires just a couple of days ...

STN Field Takes Shape as Pre-Entry Deadline Approaches

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. (October 17, 2005) -- With the pre-entry deadline for the 18th Annual Team Affiliated Short Track Nationals presented by Hoosier Tires just a couple of days away, the field for the prestigious event to be contested atop I-30 Speedway's quarter-mile, clay oval October 27-29 begins to take shape.

Among the latest hotshoes to register for the Short Track Nationals are Kevin Swindell, Jason Johnson, Jake Peters, Jesse Hockett, Chris Shirek and former race winner Mike Ward, bringing the number of pre-entries to 45. That number will more than double over the next ten days, as close to 100 entries are expected.

Drivers have until Thursday, October 20, to pre-enter the event for just $150. Entries postmarked after October 20 will be $250.

A third-generation racer, 16-year-old Swindell from Bartlett, TN, made the STN championship feature starting grid in his first attempt in 2004. Johnson, the "Racin Cajun", joins forces with Lanny Row after spending a year competing with the Pennsylvania Posse. Eighteen-year-old Shirek of Thompson, ND, earned the 2005 Northern Outlaw Sprint Association (NOSA) championship as well as the track title at Nodak Speedway in Minot, ND.

>From Sioux Falls, SD, Peters not only picked up his second consecutive Knoxville Raceway track championship but scored the ESTS championship as well. Returning to the STN after a year's absence, Warsaw, Missouri's Jesse Hockett racked up 15 wins over the course of 2005, while 2000 STN king Mike Ward has enjoyed eleven trips to victory lane this season.

Other recent entries include Riverside Speedway ace A.G. Rains and fellow Arkansas racer Josh Lofton, along with Conroe, TX, racer Kent Lewis, Jr., Jimmy Hurley of Jacksonville, IL, Tennessee's Bennie Chesteen, Mississippi's Raymond Stull, Albuquerque's Scott Box and northern representatives Eric Lutz of Sioux Falls, SD, Dusty Ballenger of Harrisburg, SD, and Scott Winters of Butterfield, MN.

These drivers join previous entries including Razorback racers Pete Butler, Marshall Skinner, Joe Young, Scott Bolden and Kenny Taylor, Illinois shoe Robbie Standridge, Kansans Tony Bruce, Jr., and Chris Morgan, Mississippi siblings Dale, Jan and Josh Howard, Show-Me Staters Tim Montgomery, Joey Montgomery, Jerrod Hull, Brian Brown, Toby Brown, Eric Schrock and Hunter Schuerenberg, Sooner State reps Shane Stewart, Darren Stewart and Nick Smith, Pennsylvania's Bill Brian, Jr., South Dakota's Mitch Runge and Texans Travis Rilat, Kevin Ramey, Sam Hafertepe, Jr., Claud Estes, Jerry Bell and Shawn Sander.

Additional Short Track Nationals Information:

What: 18th Annual Team Affiliated Short Track Nationals presented by Hoosier Tires.

Where: I-30 Speedway (Little Rock, AR).

When: Thursday, Friday and Saturday, October 27-29, 2005. $15,000 to win the STN finale on October 29, with $1,800 to start the STN championship feature. Rain date is November 3-5.

Past Winners: Gary Wright (2004, 2003, 1999 and 1995), Paul McMahan (2002), Jason Sides (2001), Mike Ward (2000), Tim Crawley (1998), Wayne Johnson (1997), Pete Butler (1996), Terry Gray (1994), John Gerloff (1993), Steve Kinser (1991, '89 and '88) and Sammy Swindell (1990). 1992 finale was rained out.

Entry Info: Entries postmarked by Thursday, October 20, are just $150. Entries after the October 20 deadline are $250, with no exceptions.JEntry forms may be obtained at or by calling the track at 501-455-4567.

Current Entries: Thirteen different states are already represented among the early entries, including Arkansas, Illinois, Kansas, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Tennessee and Texas.

Past winners Mike Ward and Pete Butler have already entered, with other past winners expected to be in action including four-time and defending STN king Gary Wright, Jason Sides, Tim Crawley and Wayne Johnson.

Among the current entries, the most prolific 2005 winners have been Jesse Hockett (15), Jerrod Hull (14), Mike Ward and Joey Montgomery (11) and Travis Rilat, Brian Brown and Tim Montgomery (10).

qualifying races will be in place for all three nights of competition. Each night, Heat Races will be aligned according to the pre-race draw, with the passing points system in effect.

Each night, the top 40 in passing points from Heat Race competition will transfer directly into four, fully inverted Qualifying Races. The balance of the field will make up four Last Chance races, lined straight-up according to Heat Race passing points, with the top four finishers of each Last Chance race transferring to the tail of the respective Qualifying Races. Passing points only will be awarded in Last Chance races, with no finishing position points awarded.

With passing points in effect for the Qualifying Races as well, the Thursday and Friday preliminary features will be comprised of the top twenty in combined points from Heats, Qualifiers and Last Chance Races, with the top three feature finishers locked into Saturday's main event.

With six cars locked into Saturday's $15,000-to-win, $1,800-to-start main event, the top twelve drivers in combined passing points from Saturday's Heats, Qualifiers and Last Chance Races will fill positions seven through eighteen. The final two slots of the STN finale will be awarded to the two remaining drivers that have accumulated the most points through Heat, Qualifying and Last Chance racing action over the three nights of racing.

Drivers must compete in either Thursday's prelim or Friday's prelim to be eligible for passing points on Saturday. Drivers that show up for Saturday only will start tailback in their Heat Race and receive no passing points all night.

Another interesting twist to this year's Short Track Nationals will be the alignment of Saturday night's "Pack's Dash for Cash", which will include the top three finishers from both Thursday and Friday night. The Dash will be aligned by a pill draw conducted in "Cheater's Day" fashion. Thursday's winning driver will draw the first pill then give that pill to the driver of his choice. Friday's winner will draw the second pill and give that pill to one of the remaining drivers, and so on until the lineup is determined.

The finishing order of Saturday's "Pack's Dash for Cash" will then determine the starting lineup for the front three rows of the $15,000-to-win finale.

Trade Show: This year's rendition of the Short Track Nationals will include the inaugural Short Track Nationals Trade Show & Midway. Fans, drivers & crews will have the opportunity to visit vendor displays, which will be open from noon on Thursday, October 27, and from 9 a.m. on October 28-29.

Tickets: Advance tickets on sale until Wednesday, October 26, no advance sales after that. Advance tickets for Thursday (Oct. 27) and Friday (Oct. 28) are $10 per night. Advance tickets for Saturday (Oct. 29) are $20. Day of show prices are $12 on Thursday and Friday, and $25 on Saturday.Children's tickets are not sold in advance. Five and under are free, with ages 6-12 (accompanied by adult) $3 on Thursday and Friday and just $5 on Saturday.

For more information regarding the 18th Annual Short Track Nationals presented by Hoosier Tires, contact I-30 Speedway at 501-455-4567.


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Darren Stewart , Kevin Swindell , Steve Kinser , Sammy Swindell , Brian Brown , Jason Sides , Paul McMahan , Shane Stewart , Travis Rilat , Jesse Hockett , Nick Smith , Wayne Johnson , Hunter Schuerenberg , Kevin Ramey , Tim Crawley , Jason Johnson