Shippensburg results 2005-06-11

Walling and Defrieitas takes win ...

Walling and Defrieitas takes win #2

Shippensburg, PA. -- J.C. Walling from Hagerstown, MD. became a 'back to back" victor as he scored his second feature win of the season in the Micro 600 division. Walling purchased a brand new sprinter for the 2005 campain, and so far that has indeed proven to be winning combination. By viture of the inverted start, Walling started on the outside of the front row. He was able to outrun Drew Heistand to the first turn . Heistand was never more than four car lengths and several times was able to close to within a car length, but was unable to overtake Walling, and had to settle for second. Eddie Rice turned in another find finish to capture third, and Jimmy Dawson duplicated Rice's drive to come home fourth. Dustin Foust completed the top five. Sixth thru tenth were Tom Lynch, Bo Gordon, Todd Campbell, Gary Cramer, and Patrick Milikowski. Heats were won by Rice and Foust.

In the 270 event, it was Mt. Airey Md's Marcus Defrieitas and Duncannon Pa's Mike Holley providing another thrilling finish. Defrieitas, who started the feature in second assumed command on lap three from early pace setter Kyle Moody. Holley, who started fifth was busy battling Baltimore Md's Bo Gordon for the runner up spot. Gordon got caught up in lap traffic and Holley was able to shoot by on the outside on lap 11. From there, he began to reel in Defrieitas, and caught him by lap 15. From there until the checkered Holley was able to apply heavy pressure and even pull alongside Defrieitas in turn three on the last lap to setup another exciting finish. Defrieitas was able to hang on and win by a half a car length over Holley, who once again settled for second. Coming home third was Bo Gordon, while Patrick Milikowski was fourth and Kyle Moody had a fine drive to capture a top five finish. Rounding out the field was John Baker, Michael Dougas, Jesse Howell, and Ben Jones. The 270 heat was won by Holley.

Keith Armolt made another visit to victory lane by capturing the thunder car feature. The local driver started third and was able to assume command by lap four. From there Armolt was able to pull away from the field. Several cautions would wipe out his lead, but Armolt was not to be denied. the really great battle was for the runner up spot as both R.T. Bulger and Lyle Barnes would swap that spot numerous times. A caution would wave on lap 16 for Barnes that would close up the field, but Armolt simply sped away on the restart, and won going away. Coming home a stron second was R.T. Bulger, while Russ Clavey had another good drive to take third. Fourth place went to Chris Smith while Terry Smith had his best finish to capture fifth. Sixth thru tenth were Donnie Stine, Lyle Barnes, Carl Rowe, Jason Jumper, and Rusty Neil. The heats were won by Armolt and Bulger.

In Mini Stock action, it was Annville Pa's Ronnie Buck returning to victor lane. The very popular driver started the feature in fifth spot, drove a steady race and was able to move thru the traffic and into the runner up spot on lap 8. Buck caught race leader Dave Edwards by lap 10 and was able to take the lead by lap 12. From there it was all Buck as he steadly increased his lead and won by 8 car lengths. Jeremy Ott also worked his was thru traffic and into the runner up spot by lap 16 but was unable to close on the speeding Buck and had to settle for second. Edwards had a fine night and came home third, while last weeks feature Tony Linn grabbed fourth, and Mike Kershner also had a fine drive to complete the top five. Sixth thru tenth were Charles Wengerd, Dennis Adams, Ed Halter, Gary Newell, and William Piley. Several new drivers making the initial appearance this year included Adams, along with Mike Borrows, and William Piley. Heats were won by Borrows and Buck.

In Modified Lite action, it was Carlisle Pa's Josh Sigman making it two in a row. Sigman, who started on the pole immediately assumed the lead. Gary Funck would settle into second and remain there until lap 15 when Todd Rahley was able to move by and take over the runner up spot. Rahley would close up on Sigman and by lap 19 moved to within a car length, but was unable to get around Sigman and had to settle for second. Funck would hang on for third, while his team mate Eddie Benedict would come home fourth, and Chuch Grimm and Dennie Kaylor would complete the finish order.

Next week the Thunder Front joins the action and give the Modified Lites the night off. Included will be a "Big Wheel" race for all youngsters 7 and under at intermission. Racing begins next Saturday nite at 6:00 PM.

Finish Order:

Micro 600:
1) J.C. Walling, 2) Drew Heistand, 3) Eddie Rice, 4) Jimmy Dawson. 5) Dustin Foust, 6) Tom Lynch, 7) Bo Gordon, 8) Todd Campbell, 9) Gary Cramer, 10) Patrick Milikowski, 11) Randolph Reid, 12) Jim Horwat

Micro 270:
1) Marcus Defrieitas, 2) Mike Holley, 3) Bo Gordon, 4) Patrick Milikowski, 5) Kyle Moody, 6) John Baker, 7) Michael Dougas, 8) Jesse Howell, 9) Ben Jones

Keith Armolt, 2) R.T. Bulger, 3) Russ Clavey, 4) Chris Smith, 5) Terry Smith, 6) Donny Stine, 7) Lyle Barnes, 8) Carl Rowe, 9) Jason Jumper, 10) Rusty Neil, 11) Chris Edwards, 12) Jason Armolt, 13) Donald Stoudt, 14) Kyle Martin, 15) Rocky Payne

Mini Stock:
1) Ronnie Buck, 2) Jeremy Ott, 3) Dave Edwards, 4) Tony Linn,5) Mike Kershner, 6) Charles Wengerd, 7) Dennis Adams, 8) Ed Halter, 9) Gary Newell, 10) William Piley, 11) Michael Borrows, 12) Howard Silvers, 13) Bryan Neff, 14) Joe Linn, 15) Rich Newcomer, 16) Billy Bass

Modifed Lite:
1) Josh Sigman, 2) Todd Rahley, 3) Gary Funck, 4) Eddie Benedict, 5) Chuch Grimm, 6) Dennie Kaylor


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint , Stock car
Drivers Dave Edwards , Chris Smith , John Baker