Shippensburg results 2005-05-07

Heistand captures a 600 thiller Holley takes the 270 event Shippensburg, PA. -- Ask any racer and they will tell you the one thing that can change a race outcome is traffic, and that was never more evident than Saturday night as Drew Heistand...

Heistand captures a 600 thiller
Holley takes the 270 event

Shippensburg, PA. -- Ask any racer and they will tell you the one thing that can change a race outcome is traffic, and that was never more evident than Saturday night as Drew Heistand used that to his advantage to nip young Alex Bright at the line by several feet to capture his first 600 feature ever at the speedway.

Bright who hails from Collegeville, PA. started on the pole jumped in front on the opening lap and began to set a torrid pace and by lap 6 had opened up a 15 car length lead. Heistand who is from Wrightsville, PA. had started fourth and had to battle Jimmy Dawson for the runnerup spot for a number of laps before taking over that spot on lap 7. Once in second, Heistand began to reel in Bright and by lap 12 with the help of lap traffic had caught Bright. A caution flag on lap 13 would give Bright a clear field in front and it looked like Heistand would have to settle for second as Bright again opened up a 8 car length lead. However, by the white flag lap, Heistand had again caught Bright with lap traffic in front. Coming out of turn four Bright got caught up in lap traffic and Heistand dove to the outside to nip Bright at the finish. Dawson would come home third, while Dustin Foust would take fourth and Patrick Milikowski completed the top five. Sixth thru tenth were Eddie Rice, Rick Brehm, Dustin Sheffield, Richard Gilmore, and Bo Gordon. Heats were won by Heistand and Rice.

In a caution filled 270 event, Mike Holley from Duncannon PA. won his second straight feature of the young season. The race was shortened by several laps due to the time limit for the event had expired. Holley, who started on the point assumed command by lap two. From there he was able to withstand the numerous cautions that keep the field close. The battle for the runner up spot became a three way battle as Patrick Milikowski, Lin Bowie, and Marcus Defreitas ran under a blanket for much of the race. The race was red flag on lap 15 for Bob Maxwell who flipped several times after contacting a tire coming out of turn two. Maxwell went to the Speedway medical facility for the staff to examine his right shoulder area. After the restart another caution came out and brought the race to its end. Milikowski hung on for his best finish of the year in the runner up spot. Bowie came home third, while Defreitas settle for fourth and Todd Miller finished fifth. Sixth thru tenth were Ken Poff, Bo Gordon, Jason Stahl, Michael Dougas, and John Baker. Heats were won by Milikowski and Eric Walls.

In Thunder car action it was Mike Brindle from Fayetteville, PA. being declared the winner following a post race inspection of the top three finishers. This was Brindle's first ever Thunder car feature win. Jeremy Ott from Shippensburg jumped in front and appeared to have his third race win of season but after post race inspection Ott was awarded last place and the win went to Brindle. Brindle who started the main event in fourth battled R. T. Bulger for much of the event before taking over second on lap 13. The drive of the night however went to Chris Smith who started 16th and had to work his way up thru the field to overtake Bulger for second on lap 19. Bulger settled for third while Donny Stine and Keith Armolt completed the top five. Sixth thru tenth went to Donald Stoudt, Carl Rowe, Jason Armolt, Russ Clavey, and Chris Edwards. Thunder heats were won by Stoudt and Jason Jumper.

In the caution filled Mini Stock event, it was Bryan Michael of Jonestown, PA. winning his first of the year. Michael who started on the point quickly assumed command and was declared the winner after the time limit expired after only completing a little more than half of the event. Former feature winner Ronnie Buck who started fifth had moved into the runner up spot but was unable to mount a threat before the feature was declared offical. Coming home third was Bryan Neff in his best finish so far this season. Fourth went to Charles Wengard, while Gary Newell completed the top five. Sixth thru tenth went to Troy Eckinrode, Jeff Mangel, Mike Kershner, Mike Crate, and Tony Linn. Heats went to Michael and Mark Lenker.

In Modified Lite action it was Josh Sigman of Carlisle PA grabbing his first win of the season. Former feature winn Todd Rahley grabbed the lead and appeared to have things well in hand. By lap 15, the motor in Rahley's car began to develop problems and Sigman quickly closed in and took over the lead. At the line it was Sigman by five car lenghts over Eddie Benedict. Rahley was able to nurse his car to come home third, while Denny Kaylor finished fourth and Michael Derr. Rounding out the field was Chuck Grimm and Gary Funk. Sigman also won the Modified Lite heat event.

Finish Order

Micro 600:
1) Drew Heistand, 2) Alex Bright, 3) Jim Dawson, 4) Dustin Foust, 5) Patrick Milikowski 6) Eddie Rice, 7) Rick Brehm, 8) Dustin Sheffield, 9) Richard Gilmore, 10) Bo Gordon 11) Zachary Newlin, 12) Charlie Harach, 13) Gary Cramer, 14) Brenden Bright 15) Jason Heckert

Wingless 270 Micro:
1) Mike Holley, 2) Patrick Milikowski, 3) Lin Bowie, 4) Marcus Defrietas, 5) Todd Miller 6) Ken Poff, 7) Bo Gordon, 8) Jason Stahl, 9) Michael Dougas, 10) John Baker 11) Kyle Moody, 12) Adam Warner, 13) Scott Watkins, 14) Michael Jones, 15) Ben Jones 16) Robert Maxwell, 17) Jason Klinger, 18) Eric Walls, 19) B.J. Brehm, 20) Rick Brehm 21) Tom Smith

1) Mike Brindle, 2) Chris Smith, 3) R.T. Bulger, 4) Donny Stine, 5) Keith Armolt 6) Donald Stoudt, 7) Carl Rowe, 8) Jason Armolt, 9) Russ Clavey, 10) Chris Edwards 11) Anthony Adams, 12) Rusty Neil, 13) Kyle Martin, 14) Leslie Steward, 15) Shawn Updegraff 16) Jason Jumper, 17) Tina Ingram, 18) Jermey Ott

Mini Stock:
1) Bryan Michael, 2) Ronnie Buck, 3) Bryan Neff, 4) Charles Wengard, 5) Gary Newell 6) Troy Eckinrode, 7) Jeff Mangel, 8) Mike Kershner, 9) Mike Crate, 10) Tony Linn 11) Howard Silvers, 12) Tim Mangel, 13) JR Fogelsonger, 14) Ed Halter, 15) David Thomas 16) Mark Lenker, 17) Joe Linn, 18) Bill Bass, 19) Dave Edwards

Modifed Lite:
1)Josh Sigman, 2) Eddie Benedict, 3) Todd Rahley, 4) Denny Kaylor, 5) Michael Derr 6) Chuck Grimm, 7) Gary Funk


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint , Stock car
Drivers Dave Edwards , Chris Smith , Tom Smith , John Baker , Mike Jones