Series Kilgore, Little Rock pre-events notes

Lucas Oil Sprint Cars on Deck: Kilgore & Little Rock TULSA, Okla. (March 31, 2010) -- The chase for the 2010 Lucas Oil ASCS Sprint Cars presented by K&N Filters $60,000 championship got under way successfully at Devil's Bowl...

Lucas Oil Sprint Cars on Deck: Kilgore & Little Rock

TULSA, Okla. (March 31, 2010) -- The chase for the 2010 Lucas Oil ASCS Sprint Cars presented by K&N Filters $60,000 championship got under way successfully at Devil's Bowl Speedway less than two weeks ago, even if Mother Nature did her part in throwing a curve ball at the season opener.

Now, action resumes in earnest when the Lucas Oil Sprint Cars return to action with a pair of events next weekend in Texas and Arkansas, testing the mettle of the series title contenders with a pair of challenging dirt ovals.

On Friday night, April 9, the Lucas Oil Sprint Cars return to Lone Star Speedway in Kilgore, TX, for the first time since 2002. Then on Saturday night, it's a quick trip up to Little Rock's I-30 Speedway for the first of several tune-up opportunities for the always much-anticipated Short Track Nationals.

Friday's card at Lone Star Speedway will also be the opening points race of the year for the ASCS Lone Star Region.

After launching the 2010 season atop the 0x00bd-mile Devil's Bowl Speedway clay oval on March 19, the Lucas Oil Sprint Cars pick right back up on another slightly-bigger 0x00bd-mile in the form of Lone Star Speedway on April 9.

It will be a weekend of great transition however, as the teams go from Kilgore's fast half-mile on Friday night to the quick, 0x00bc-mile bullring at Little Rock's I-30 Speedway on Saturday night.

The Lucas Oil Sprint Cars kicked off the season with Sammy Swindell besting a field of 62 entries at the 37th Annual Devil's Bowl Speedway Spring Nationals on Friday night, March 19, with Mother Nature getting the nod on the scheduled Saturday portion of the event.

Swindell chased down early leader Sean McClelland on the sixth round and raced on to his third consecutive Lucas Oil ASCS National feature win in front of 18th-starter Wayne Johnson, 20-year-old Brady Bacon, three-time series points runner-up Danny Wood and two-time Short Track Nationals champion Tony Bruce, Jr.

With three consecutive series wins dating back to last November's Western World Championships preliminary and then the $15,000 WWC finale, Swindell has the opportunity to match Gary Wright's series record of five National wins in a row during next weekend's double.

But, with at least a couple of dozen drivers declaring title hopes in 2010 along with all variety of other top contenders, Swindell will have his work cut out for him with fields of approximately 50 entries expected for both the Lone Star Speedway and I-30 Speedway events.

Out to the early lead, Swindell is a likely Lucas Oil ASCS title contender along with a half dozen past champions including Shane Stewart, Jason Johnson, Gary Wright, Travis Rilat, Tim Crawley and Zach Chappell. Defending champion Stewart of Bixby, OK, salvaged a sixth-place finish in the Devil's Bowl opener after utilizing a provisional to start the main event in 23rd.

Also returning for another year of Lucas Oil ASCS National competition are Danny Wood, Tony Bruce, Jr., Jack Dover, Jesse Hockett, Sean McClelland, Kenneth Walker, Darren Long, Brady Bacon, Ricky Logan, Eric Baldaccini and Michael Dupuy.

The Brodix Rookie of the Year contingent is a stout one as well, with 17-year-old Austen Wheatley of Lake Stevens, WA, out to the early lead over 19-year-old Highlands, TX, shoe Channin Tankersley. Other rookie contenders include California's Justyn Cox and Kyle Hirst, New Mexico's Joshua Hodges, Oklahoma's Dustin Morgan and Matt Covington, Idaho's Joe Ramaker and Texas' Aaron Reutzel.

The ASCS Lone Star forces will be led into Friday's card at Lone Star Speedway by reigning champion Kevin Ramey, while the Saturday card at I-30 Speedway will be bolstered by an abundance of Memphis contenders and I-30 Speedway track regulars including reigning I-30 champion Justin Sturch.

-source: ascs

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Sammy Swindell , Shane Stewart , Travis Rilat , Jesse Hockett , Dustin Morgan , Wayne Johnson , Kevin Ramey , Tim Crawley , Kyle Hirst , Justyn Cox , Jason Johnson , Aaron Reutzel , Sean McClelland