Selinsgrove Speedway results 2005-05-28

SHULTZ WINS SPRINT CAR GUNN MEMORIAL SELINSGROVE, Pa. -- Defending track champion Jason Shultz of Carlisle stormed to his first win of the season at Selinsgrove Speedway in Saturday night's 25th Annual Professional Building Systems Jack ...


SELINSGROVE, Pa. -- Defending track champion Jason Shultz of Carlisle stormed to his first win of the season at Selinsgrove Speedway in Saturday night's 25th Annual Professional Building Systems Jack Gunn Memorial for sprint cars.

Shultz, behind the wheel of the Martin's Refrigeration No. 2, collected $1,500 for his third career victory at the track. Shultz picked up a win earlier this season at Williams Grove Speedway.

Point leader Donnie Schick of Middleburg became the first repeat winner in late model competition in the division's 25-lap feature, while Troy Miller of Tower City led flag to flag for his third win of the year in the 15-lap pro stock main.

The 12-lap roadrunner event was postponed until next Saturday.

Selinsgrove Speedway will present a four division show of sprints, late models pro stocks and roadrunners on Sat., June 4 sponsored by Penn Lyon Homes of Selinsgrove. Track gates open at 5 p.m. with racing at 7 p.m.

Defending Gunn Memorial winner and polesitter Rick Hench powered into the lead at the start of the sprint car feature. Hench was chased by second-place starter Jake Raudabaugh and third-place starter Colby Womer for the first nine laps.

On lap nine, the red flag unfurled for a five car crash in turn four involving Adrian Shaffer, TJ Stutts, Jeff Furlong, Duane Mausteller and three-time winner in 2005 Nate Snyder.

When the race resumed, Hench maintained the lead with seventh-place starter Jason Shultz racing second. On the 12th circuit, Shultz made the winning pass using the inside lane in turn two. Meanwhile, eight-place starter Davie Franek raced into the top five and then moved into second on the 24th lap.

On the 27th lap, Franek's car lit up with flames on the frontstretch and stopped the race. When the green flag waved again, Shultz held off Raudabaugh and 12th-place starter Blane Heimbach for the win. Womer and Bob Beidleman completed the top five.

Following two multi-car pileups, second-place starter Nate Kerstetter led the first five laps of the late model feature. On the sixth lap, sixth-place starter Kenny Trevitz made an inside pass by Kerstetter in turn four for the lead.

Trevitz held the field at bay through the midway point of the race. On the 14th circuit, 12th-place starter Donnie Schick duplicated Trevitz's pass in turn four to take the front spot. Schick then drove away from the field and posted a 4.03 second margin of victory over Trevitz, Jim Yoder, Jeff Rine and Chris Wilkinson.

Fourth-place starter Troy Miller took the lead at the start of the pro stock feature and was able pull away from the field on each subsequent restart. Sixth-place starter Jake Buck trailed Miller for the first five laps before entering the pit area under caution.

Miller then had third-place starter Meade Hahn and eighth-place starter Bill Glass behind him. In the closing laps, seventh-place starter Matt Johnson powered into the second spot and finished 1.37 seconds behind Miller. AJ Stroup, Jim Somers and Hahn completed the top five.

Sprint Cars -- 24 Entries

30-Lap Jack Gunn Memorial: 1) 2 Jason Shultz 2) 1J Jake Raudabaugh 3) 12 Blane Heimbach 4) 6 Colby Womer 5) 81 Bob Beidleman 6) L70 Larry Kelleher 7) 20 Rick Hench 8) 18 Ryan Bohlke 9) 63 Mike Walter 10) 99 Kyle Bachman 11) 10 Jeff Furlong 12) 12G Bryan Golden 13) 71 Charlie Anderson 14) 3K Phil Walter 15) 0 John Miller 16) 48 Wes Irwin 17) 19 Davie Franek 18) 13P Phil Glatfelter 19) 80 Todd Reed 20) 13 Jen Yinger 21) 3 Nate Snyder 22) 4 Adrian Shaffer 23) 11 TJ Stutts 24) 21 Duane Mausteller
Heat Winners: Rick Hench, Colby Womer, Charlie Anderson

Late Models -- 25 Entries

25-Lap A-Main: 1) 6 Donnie Schick 2) 61T Kenny Trevitz 3) 27 Jim Yoder 4) 2J Jeff Rine 5) 33W Chris Wilkinson 6) 75 Terry Neitz 7) 7 Dustin Hoffman 8) 8T Troy Miller 9) 8 Dave Reed 10) 90 Kyle Rhoads 11) 12B Matt Bower 12) 14 Dave Brouse, Sr. 13) 88 Tony Adams 14) 1S Harold Schick 15) 77 Nate Kerstetter 16) 66 Scott Dorman 17) 32 Jeff Smith 18) 86 Bob Spahr 19) 4X Eric Hons 20) 21 Chris Shuey 21) 77K Todd Kiger 22) 4S Dave Shulski 23) 44 Tony Smith 24) 5 Jim Farley 25) 1M Mike Mort (DNS)
Heat Winners: Chris Wilkinson, Harold Schick, Jim Yoder

Pro Stocks -- 18 Entries

15-Lap A-Main: 1) 115 Troy Miller 2) 70 Matt Johnson 3) 26 AJ Stroup 4) 23 Jim Somers 5) 7 Meade Hahn 6) 14 Bill Conrad 7) 54 Sammy Troup 8) 66 Jason Phillips 9) 8 Lonnie Hile 10) 18 Roger Stoneroad 11) 6 Dan Jensen 12) 11 Jake Buck 13) 05 John Schmidt 14) 70G Bill Glass 15) 99 Peanut Heintzelman 16) 111 Daryl Naiman 17) 83 Ron Kauffman 18) 14B Dave Brouse, Jr. (DNS)
Heat Winners: Troy Miller, Jake Buck

Roadrunners -- 18 Entries

12-Lap A-Main: Postponed Until June 4
Heat Winners: Keith Bissinger, Brett Schadel


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint , Stock car
Drivers Matthew Johnson , Tony Smith , Jeff Smith
Teams Williams