Selinsgrove results 2005-05-21

SNYDER PULLS OFF HAT TRICK IN SELINSGROVE SPRINTS; PRO STOCK 20 $1,000 TO MILLER SELINSGROVE, Pa. -- Nate Snyder of Halifax pulled off the hat trick by winning his third sprint car race in a row at Selinsgrove Speedway Saturday night in the...


SELINSGROVE, Pa. -- Nate Snyder of Halifax pulled off the hat trick by winning his third sprint car race in a row at Selinsgrove Speedway Saturday night in the 25-lap main event.

Snyder was at the wheel of the Highland's Tire Service/H&H Chevrolet No. 3 for his seventh career win at the track on Modular Structures of PA, Inc. Night.

Troy Miller of Tower City was the winner of the fourth annual Ink Spot Printing Pro Stock 20. Miller collected $1,000 for his ninth career win at Selinsgrove. Last year's winner, Gary Beward of Mifflintown, was the fast qualifier with a lap time of 25.691.

Tony Adams of Sunbury won his first race of the season in the 25-lap main event for late models, while Brad Mitch of McClure won his third 12-lap roadrunner race of the season.

In the first sprint car heat, Kyle Bachman's No. 99 sprint car struck chief starter Randy Kline during a flip on the frontstretch. While Bachman escaped injury, Kline was transported to Evangelical Community Hospital in Lewisburg, where he was later released with no serious injuries.

Selinsgrove Speedway will present the 25th annual Jack Gunn Memorial for sprint cars this Saturday, May 28 at 7 p.m. The 30-lap sprint car feature will pay $1,500 to win and $200 to start. The late models, pro stocks and roadrunners will also be on the racing card.

At the start of the sprint car feature, Cale Reigle and Davie Franek collided in the second turn. Although Franek's car rolled over in the incident, he was able to rejoin the race.

When the race resumed, polesitter Rick Hench powered into the lead and was chased by second-place starter Larry Kelleher. On the third circuit, Kelleher took the lead from Hench with an outside pass on the backstretch.

On lap six, 11th-place starter Nate Snyder moved into third and set his sites on Hench and Kelleher. On the 13th lap, Snyder moved by Hench for second and began to reel in Kelleher.

Entering turn one on the 16th lap, Snyder made an inside pass by Kelleher for the lead. Once in front of the pack, Snyder pulled away from the field. TJ Stutts, who started deep in the pack in the 18th position, horsepowered his way into second on the 21st lap, when the event's final caution flag unfurled.

Stutts attempted to keep pace with Snyder on the restart but to no avail. Snyder was victorious by 2.53 seconds over Stutts, 12th-place starter Blane Heimbach, Kelleher and Bob Beidleman.

In the late model feature, second-place starter Chris Wilkinson took the lead at the start, with polesitter Bobby Stokes racing second for the first three laps.

Fifth-place starter Tony Adams advanced to second on the fourth lap, and drove by Wilkinson for the lead entering turn one on the 10th lap. Eight-place starter Jeff Rine followed Adams into the second position.

On lap 16, 12th-place starter Donnie Schick moved into the third position and made it a close three-car battle at the front of the pack. Schick passed Rine for second on the 19th lap and began to torment Adams for the lead.

Despite several late race caution flags, Adams held off any challenges for a mere .47 of a second victory over Schick, Rine, Stokes and Jim Yoder.

Fourth-place starter Gary Beward drove into the lead at the start of the Pro Stock 20 championship event. Beward was followed by polesitter Meade Hahn and third-place starter Todd Snook.

Troy Miller, who started seventh, advanced into the top five by lap four. For the duration of the event, the top five drivers raced bumper to bumper. On the 17th lap, Miller began to show some speed when he moved into third and then into second a lap later.

Beward appeared to have the field covered until a tire went flat on the final lap. Miller got the break he needed and went on to win the race over AJ Stroup, Dustin Hoffman, Matt Johnson and Jim Somers.

Brad Mitch started the roadrunner feature in the ninth position and dueled with seventh-place starter Cory Long and 10th-place starter Keith Bissinger during most the event. When Bissinger withdrew from the race on lap 10 after leading the previous two circuits, Mitch went on to win the event over Doug Minium, Brett Schadel, Tom Brunson and Matt Drum.

Sprint Cars -- 26 Entries

25-Lap A-Main: 1) 3 Nate Snyder 2) 11 TJ Stutts 3) 12 Blane Heimbach 4) 70 Larry Kelleher 5) 81 Bob Beidleman 6) 18 Ryan Bohlke 7) 4 Adrian Shaffer 8) 63 Mike Walter 9) 10 Jeff Furlong 10) 115 Brian Powell 11) 19 Davie Franek 12) 2 Jason Shultz 13) 3K Phil Walter 14) 71 Charlie Anderson 15) 0 John Miller 16) 48 Wes Irwin 17) 29 Chris Weiss 18) 1H Rick Hench 19) 13 Phil Glatfelter 20) 1J Jake Raudabaugh 21) 21 Duane Mausteller 22) 6 Colby Womer 23) 12G Bryan Golden 24) 1A Cale Reigle

Heat Winners: Jake Raudabaugh, Larry Kelleher, Ryan Bohlke

Late Models -- 28 Entries

25-Lap A-Main: 1) 88 Tony Adams 2) 6 Donnie Schick 3) 2J Jeff Rine 4) 27S Bobby Stokes 5) 27 Jim Yoder 6) 32 Jeff Smith 7) 75 Terry Neitz 8) 215 Al Shawver, Jr. 9) 8 Dave Reed 10) 90 Kyle Rhoads 11) 7 Duston Hoffman 12) 14 Dave Brouse, Sr. 13) 33W Chris Wilkinson 14) 44 Tony Smith 15) 6M Harry Miller 16) 21 Chris Shuey 17) 92 Randall Paxton 18) 1S Harold Schick 19) 4S Dave Shulski 20) 77 Nate Kerstetter 21) 45 Eric Hons 22) 98 Bobby Croop 23) 12 Matt Bower 24) 8T Troy Miller

Heat Winners: Chris Wilkinson, Jeff Rine, Donnie Schick
Consolation Winner: Dave Reed

Pro Stocks -- 38 Entries

Time Trials (Top 10): 1) Gary Beward 25.691 2) Todd Snook 25.788 3) Jim Somers, Jr. 25.842 4) Meade Hahn 25.914 5) Jason Phillips 26.124 6) AJ Stroup 26.165 7) Troy Miller 26.254 8) Gerald Kratzer 26.306 9) Jake Buck 26.339 10) Matt Johnson 26.393

B-Main Winner: Tim Krape

Pro Stock 20: 1) 115 Troy Miller $1,000 2) 26 AJ Stroup 3) 19X Dustin Hoffman 4) 70 Matt Johnson 5) 23J Jim Somers 6) 7 Meade Hahn 7) 88 Jason Davis 8) 10 Gerald Kratzer 9) 66 Jason Phillips 10) 111 Daryl Naiman 11) 97 Alex Frey 12) 05 John Schmidt 13) 54 Sammy Troup 14) 18 Roger Stoneroad 15) 19 Gary Beward 16) 8 Brad Trump 17) 6 Dan Jensen 18) 12K Cory Kepner 19) 11 Jake Buck 20) 99 Peanut Heintzelman 21) 81 Todd Kiger 22) 23 Todd Snook 23) 30 Tim Krape 24) 14B Dave Brouse, Jr.

Roadrunners -- 21 Entries

12-Lap A-Main: 1) 10M Brad Mitch 2) 12 Doug Minium 3) 27 Brett Schadel 4) 3 Tom Brunson 5) 48 Matt Drum 6) 23G John Glosek 7) 010 Matt Keister 8) 24 BJ Bohner 9) 5 Will Mitch 10) 9 Dave Kamp 11) 31 Brandon Shultz 12) 00 Cory Long 13) 1S Jeremy Brouse 14) 69 Tim Campbell 15) 13 Jim Collier 16) 23 Jim Somers, Sr. 17) 11B Keith Bissinger 18) ½ Wendy Swartz 19) 22 Zack Lingle 20) 32 William Dutter 21) 41D Dennis Conrad


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint , Stock car
Drivers Matthew Johnson , Chris Weiss , Jeff Smith