Selinsgrove results 2005-05-07

SNYDER, SCHICK, MILLER & MITCH WIN ON PACK THE TRACK NIGHT SELINSGROVE, Pa. -- Nate Snyder of Halifax made a late-race charge to win his second race in a row in Saturday's 25-lap 358 sprint car feature at Selinsgrove Speedway. Snyder was...


SELINSGROVE, Pa. -- Nate Snyder of Halifax made a late-race charge to win his second race in a row in Saturday's 25-lap 358 sprint car feature at Selinsgrove Speedway.

Snyder was behind the wheel of the Highland's Tire Service/H&H Chevrolet No. 3 for his sixth career win at Selinsgrove Speedway on "Pack the Track" night sponsored by Paul Stine Chevrolet and Cindy Rowe Auto Glass.

Donnie Schick of Middleburg drove to his first win of the season in the 25-lap late model main event, while defending champion Troy Miller of Tower City was the winner of the 15-lap pro stock race. Brad Mitch of McClure won his second 12-lap roadrunner event of the year.

Selinsgrove Speedway will present the third annual Ink Spot Printing Pro Stock 20 on Sat., May 14, plus sprint cars, late models and roadrunners at 7 p.m. The pro stock championship event will pay $1,000 to win and $100 to start. Gates open at 5 p.m.

A multi-car incident in turn four occurred at the start of the sprint car feature. On the restart, polesitter Ryan Bolhke powered into the lead. Bolhke was trailed by second-place starter Charlie Anderson for the first two laps before sixth-place starter Davie Franek moved into second.

By lap six, eighth-place starter Nate Snyder stormed into third. It was on the eighth circuit when Franek passed Bolhke for the lead in turn two and began to drive away from the field.

On the 10th lap, Snyder drive into second and set his sites on Franek. Defending champion Jason Shultz started seventh and raced into third on the 11th lap. During the second half of the event, Snyder began to reel in Franek for the lead and made the winning pass using the outside lane on the backstretch on the 21st lap.

At the finish, Snyder was victorious by just .72 of a second over Franek, Shultz, 20th-place starter Adrian Shaffer and Bolhke.

Polesitter Bobby Stokes put his No. 27 into the lead at the start of the late model feature. Second-place starter Chris Wilkinson trailed Stokes for the first four laps before fourth-place starter Jim Yoder advanced to second.

Yoder took the lead on the seventh lap with an inside pass in turn four. At the halfway point, fifth-place starter Dustin Hoffman advanced to second. On the 17th lap, Yoder was involved in a turn two tangle with two other cars and Hoffman inherited the lead at this point.

Tenth-place starter Donnie Schick raced in second and passed Hoffman exiting the second turn for the lead on the 24th lap. Hoffman then lost control of his car and brought out the caution flag.

Jeff Rine, who started 19th, restarted behind Schick with two laps remaining. When Rine put in a bid for the lead on the restart, he lost control and collected several other cars in turn one. The final two laps saw Schick race to victory by 1.59 seconds over Jeff Smith, Chris Shuey, Terry Neitz and Dave Shulski.

Polesitter Troy Miller led flag to flag for his win in the pro stock feature. A torrid battle took place behind him for second between Bill Glass, Peanut Heintzelman and Jake Buck. At the checkered flag, Miller was able to hold off any challenges to win by 1.46 seconds over Glass, Heintzelman, Buck and Gerald Kratzer.

The roadrunner feature saw sixth-place starter Brad Mitch power into the lead and go wire to wire for the win. Fifth-place starter Cory Long chased Mitch for the lead for the entire event and settled for second over Brett Schadel, Keith Bissinger and Gary Kerstetter.

Sprint Cars -- 25 Entries

25-Lap A-Main: 1) 3 Nate Snyder 2) 19 Davie Franek 3) 2 Jason Shultz 4) 4B Adrian Shaffer 5) 18 Ryan Bolhke 6) 12 Blane Heimbach 7) 11 TJ Stutts 8) 10 Jeff Furlong 9) 81 Bob Beidleman 10) 71 Charlie Anderson 11) 12G Bryan Golden 12) 6 Colby Womer 13) 63 Mike Walter 14) 21 Duane Mausteller 15) 99 Kyle Bachman 16) 115 Brian Powell 17) 98 Jamie Schwartz 18) 13 Jen Yinger 19) 1J Jake Raudabaugh 20) 70 Larry Kelleher 21) 13P Phil Glatfelter 22) 1A Cale Reigle 23) 28A Brian Suchy 24) 7J Justin Zimmerman 25) 4C Steve Gettle (DNS)

Heat Winners: Jeff Furlong, Ryan Bolhke, Charlie Anderson

Late Models -- 29 Entries
25-Lap A-Main: 1) 6 Donnie Schick 2) 32 Jeff Smith 3) 21 Chris Shuey 4) 75T Terry Neitz 5) 4S Dave Shulski 6) 45 Eric Hons 7) 8 Dave Reed 8) 7 Dustin Hoffman 9) 215 Al Shawver, Jr. 10) 98 Bobby Croop 11) 12 Matt Bower 12) 27S Bobby Stokes 13) 68 Tom Fogelman 14) 2J Jeff Rine 15) 88 Tony Adams 16) 33 Chris Wilkinson 17) 92 Randall Paxton 18) 27 Jim Yoder 19) 77 Nate Kerstetter 20) 1S Harold Schick 21) 44 Tony Smith 22) 61T Kenny Trevitz 23) 8 Troy Miller 24) 90 Kyle Rhoads

Heat Winners: Jim Yoder, Bobby Croop, Bobby Stokes
Consolation: Jeff Rine

Pro Stocks -- 29 Entries
15-Lap A-Main: 1) 115 Troy Miller 2) 70G Bill Glass 3) 99 Peanut Heintzleman 4) 11 Jake Buck 5) 10 Gerald Kratzer 6) 23 Todd Snook 7) 7 Meade Hahn 8) 70 Matt Johnson 9) 23JR Jim Somers 10) 38 Rob Baker 11) 54 Sammy Troup 12) 14 Bill Conrad 13) 30 Tim Krape 14) 1W John Wert 15) USA1 Lon Savage, Jr. 16) 711 Jim Jurasich 17) 8B Harry Bell 18) 66 Jason Phillips 19) 14B Dave Brouse, Jr. 20) 6 Dan Jensen 21) 4 Jim Payne 22) 111 Daryl Naiman 23) 7 Meade Hahn 24) 26 AJ Stroup

Heat Winners: Troy Miller, AJ Stroup, Dave Brouse, Jr.
Consolation Winner: Dan Jensen

Roadrunners -- 22 Entries
12-Lap A-Main: 1) 10M Brad Mitch 2) 00 Cory Long 3) 27 Brett Schadel 4) 11 Keith Bissinger 5) 20 Gary Kerstetter 6) 010 Matt Keister 7) 32 William Dutter 8) 1S Jeremy Brouse 9) 22 Zack Lingle 10) 41 Dennis Conrad 11) 9 Dave Kamp 12) 5 Will Mitch 13) 48 Matt Drum 14) 13 Jim Collier 15) 31 Brandon Shultz 16) 3 Tom Brunson 17) ½ Wendy Swartz 18) 23G John Glosek (DNS) 19) 1M Josh Gipson (DNS) 20) 23 Jim Somers Sr. (DNS) 21) 24 BJ Bohner (DNS) 22) 010 Matt Keister (DNS)

Heat Winner: Matt Drum, Corey Long


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint , Stock car
Drivers Matthew Johnson , Tony Smith , Jeff Smith