Selinsgrove results 2005-04-09

HEIMBACH WINS SELINSGROVE 358 SPRINT OPENER; RINE DOMINATES IN LATE MODEL OPENER SELINSGROVE, Pa. -- Blane Heimbach of Selinsgrove made a late-race pass by TJ Stutts of Liverpool to win the 25-lap season opener for the Cindy Rowe Auto Glass 358...


SELINSGROVE, Pa. -- Blane Heimbach of Selinsgrove made a late-race pass by TJ Stutts of Liverpool to win the 25-lap season opener for the Cindy Rowe Auto Glass 358 sprint cars at Selinsgrove Speedway Saturday night.

For Heimbach, who turns 23 years old on Monday, the win was the ninth of his career at the speedway.

Defending champion Jeff Rine of Pillow led flag-to-flag for his 25th career win in the 25-lap late model season opener.

Peanut Heintzelman of Troxellville, who won on March 18, scored his second 15-lap pro stock feature of the season, while Brad Mitch of McClure was the winner of the 12-lap roadrunner main event.

Ryan Bohlke of Fredon, NJ, was transported to Geisinger Medical Center, Danville, following a violent flip out over turns 3-4 of the speedway in the sprint car feature. He was later released from the hospital with no reported injuries.

Selinsgrove Speedway will present a four division show of sprint cars, late models, pro stocks and roadrunners this Saturday, April 16 at 6 p.m. The late models will be featured in the 30-lap spring championship paying $2,000 to win. Gates will open at 4 p.m.

TJ Stutts was racing for his third opening day 358 sprint car win in five years when he started on the pole and powered into the lead. Stutts was chased by second-place starter Brian Buckwalter for the first lap before fourth-place starter Blane Heimbach advanced to second.

Stutts and Heimbach were in a high speed chase for the duration of the event, while eighth-place starter Bob Beidleman stormed into third on lap three.

On lap 15, the red flag unfurled for a five-car crash in turn one involving Buckwalter, Davie Franek, Brian Suchey, Justin Zimmerman and defending champion Jason Shultz. All drivers escaped injury.

When the race resumed, teenager Ryan Bohlke's sprint car flipped out over turns 3-4 of the speedway. Bohlke was transported to an area medical center for observation and later released.

The lap 17 restart saw Heimbach storm around the outside of Stutts in turns one and two for the lead. Once in front, Heimbach stretched his lead and posted a 1.88 second margin of victory over Stutts, Beidleman, Jeff Furlong and Cale Reigle.

Jeff Rine started third in the late model opener and took the lead at the onset. Behind Rhine, a battle for second unfolded between second-place starter Eric Hons and polesitter Donnie Schick. By the completion of lap five, 11th-place starter Tony Adams powered into the fourth position.

Adams advanced to third on lap 14 and appeared to have one of the fastest cars on the track until mechanical woes sidelined him on lap 18.

On each ensuing restart, Rine pulled away from the field and posted a convincing 7.28 second margin of victory over Hons, Schick, Randall Paxton and Dave Shulski.

Second-place starter Matt Johnson powered into the lead at the start of the pro stock feature. Johnson was trailed by defending champion Troy Miller for the first lap before Miller's racer developed mechanical problems.

Fifth-place starter Peanut Heintzelman inherited the runner up position at this point and raced in Johnson's shadow. On the 12th circuit, Heintzelman drove around Johnson in the second for the lead and went on to win his second straight pro stock feature.

Johnson settled for second, while Jake Buck, Dave Brouse Jr., and AJ Hoffman completed the top five.

Second-place starter Brad Mitch held off defending champion and seventh-place starter Keith Bissinger for his win in the roadrunner feature. Bissinger put in several bids for the front spot but was denied by Mitch.

Matt Keister, Tom Brunson and Matt Drum completed the top five.


Sprint Cars -- 27 Entries

25-Lap A-Main: 1) 12 Blane Heimbach 2) 11 TJ Stutts 3) 81 Bob Beildeman 4) 10 Jeff Furlong 5) 1A Cale Reigle 6) 63 Mike Walter 7) 21 Duane Mausteller 8) 6 Colby Womer 9) 99N Nyle Berkes 10) 12G Bryan Golden 11) 14 Matt Heimbach 12) 71 Charlie Anderson 13) 7J Justin Zimmerman 14) 18 Ryan Bohlke 15) 19 Davie Franek 16) 24 Brian Buckwalter 17) 2 Jason Shultz 18) 28 Brian Suchey 19) 1J Jake Raudabaugh 20) 54 John Wagner 21) 3 Danny Massey 22) 99 Kyle Bachman 23) 1 Rick Hench 24) L70 Larry Kelleher

Heat Winners: Duane Mausteller, Jason Shultz, Blane Heimbach
Consolation Winner: Kyle Bachman

Late Models -- 25 Entries

25-Lap A-Main: 1) 2J Jeff Rine 2) 45 Eric Hons 3) 6 Donnie Schick 4) 92 Randall Paxton 5) 4S Dave Shulski 6) 7 Dustin Hoffman 7) 215 Al Shawver, Jr. 8) 61T Kenny Trevitz 9) 32 Jeff Smith 10) 77 Nate Kerstetter 11) 8 Dave Reed 12) 1M Mike Mort 13) 78B Jason Baker 14) 88 Tony Adams 15) 27 Bobby Stokes 16) 12B Matt Bower 17) 27 Jim Yoder 18) 77 Todd Kiger 19) 5 Jim Farley 20) 1S Harold Schick 21) 78 Dale Schweikart 22) 90 Kyle Rhoads 23) 66 Scott Dorman 24) 98 Bob Croop (DNS) 25) 33W Chris Wilkinson (DNS)

Heat Winners: Dave Shulski, Bobby Stokes, Jeff Rine

Pro Stocks -- 25 Entries

A-Main: 1) 99 Peanut Heintzelman 2) 70 Matt Johnson 3) 11 Jake Buck 4) 14B Dave Brouse, Jr. 5) 21 AJ Hoffman 6) 14 Bill Conrad 7) 23 Jim Somers 8) 8C Chris Berry 9) 54 Sammy Troup 10) 6 Dan Jensen 11) 8B Harry Bell 12) 711 Jim Jurasich 13) 1 John Wert 14) 18 Roger Stoneroad 15) 8 Brad Trump 16) 66 Jason Phillips 17) 7 Meade Hahn 18) 26 AJ Stroup 19) 05 John Schmidt 20) 17 Bryan Bowersox 21) 70G Bill Glass III 22) 38 Rob Baker 23) 115 Troy Miller 24) 81 Todd Kiger (DNS) 25) 15 Don Scheib (DNS)

Heat Winners: Troy Miller, Peanut Heintzelman, Jason Phillips

Roadrunners -- 20 Entries

12-Lap A-Main: 1) 10M Brad Mitch 2) 23 Jim Somers, Sr. 3) 010 Matt Keister 4) 3 B Tom Brunson 5) 48 Matt Drum 6) 20 Gary Kerstetter 7) 11 Keith Bissinger 8) 1S Jeremy Brouse 9) 29 Ricky Bender 10) 12 Doug Minium 11) 9 Dave Camp 12) 23 John Glosek 13) 5 Will Mitch 14) 24 BJ Bohner 15) 22 Zack Lingle 16) 31 Bandon Shultz 17) 1M Josh Gipson 18) 41D Dennis Conrad 19) 27 Brett Schadel 20) 00 Cory Long

Heat Winners: Keith Bissinger, Matt Keister


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint , Stock car
Drivers Matthew Johnson , John Wagner , Jeff Smith