Selinsgrove results 2004-08-14

SELINSGROVE, Pa. -- Brian Powell of Columbus, NJ, drove to his first career win in Saturday night's 25-lap sprint car feature at Selinsgrove Speedway on Professional Building Systems Night. Powell, at the wheel of his Ely Pork Products sponsored...

SELINSGROVE, Pa. -- Brian Powell of Columbus, NJ, drove to his first career win in Saturday night's 25-lap sprint car feature at Selinsgrove Speedway on Professional Building Systems Night.

Powell, at the wheel of his Ely Pork Products sponsored No. 115, became the 14th different 358 sprint car feature winner of the 2004 season at the track.

Eric Hons of Benton won his third late model event of the season by inches over Bobby Croop of Nescopeck in the division's 25-lap main event.

Nate Kerstetter of Liverpool became the leading pro stock feature winner this season with his fifth victory in the 15-lap main event, while Keith Bissinger of Orangeville won his 11th roadrunner event of the year in the division's 15-lap championship event.

Selinsgrove Speedway returns to racing action this Wednesday, August 18th at 8 p.m. with the completion of the August 1st rain-delayed main events for 410 sprint cars, super sportsman and roadrunners.

The track will hold Kids Night V on Saturday, August 21 along with a racing program of 358 sprints, late models, pro stocks and roadrunners at 7 p.m. Track gates for Kids Night will open at 4 p.m. The late model feature will also serve as the Hub City Qualifier.

Rookie sprint car driver Kyle Bachman started second in the main event and powered into the lead at the start of the race with fourth-place starter Brian Powell in pursuit. Despite several restarts, Bachman was able to distance himself from the rest of the field.

Second-place point driver Davie Franek was involved in a hard crash on the 10th lap when his racer made an impact with the fourth turn guardrail. Franek was not injured. The race was then stopped on lap 12 when Bill Fannasy and Bobby Howard both flipped their sprint cars in turn two; both drivers escaped injury.

When the race resumed, Bachman continued to lead the pack. On the 23rd circuit, Bachman bobbled in the second turn in lapped traffic, which allowed Powell, eighth-place starter Larry Kelleher and 10th-place starter Blane Heimbach to drive by him.

With one lap remaining, while battling for the lead with Powell, Kelleher's car went up in smoke, setting up a chase to the checkered flag between Powell and Heimbach. Powell protected his lead on the bottom of the race track and posted a .50 second margin of victory over two-time winner Heimbach. Point leader Jason Shultz finished third, with Bachman and Dave Neuman completing the top five.

All-time career-leading late model feature winner Bobby Croop started on the pole and drove into the lead at the start of the late model feature. Croop appeared to be on his way to his 68th career victory until 11th-place starter Eric Hons reeled in Croop on the final lap and scored the victory by just inches at the start/finish line. Fourth-place starter Chris Wilkinson finished third.

Point leader Jeff Rine was involved in a lap three skirmish, but was able to rebound for a fourth-place finish. Likewise, Jeff Smith was involved in a lap four incident and came back for a top five finish.

Polesitter AJ Hoffman led the first lap of the pro stock main event. Fourth-place starter Jake Buck took command of the field on the second circuit. Nate Kerstter, who started 10th, powered into the runner up spot and began to pressure Buck for the lead. Lap after lap, Kerstetter tried to make a sweeping pass underneath Buck entering turn one.

With two laps to race, Kerstetter made a successful pass in turn one and went on to win the event by 1.41 seconds over point leader and 12th-place starter Troy Miller, Buck, AJ Stroup and Peanut Heintzelman.

Polesitter Matt Keister led the first three laps of the roadrunner championship event before eighth-place starter Keith Bissinger stormed around the top of the race track in turns one and two on the fourth circuit for the winning pass. Bissinger then streaked away from the field and posted a 1.69 second margin of victory over seventh-place starter Brad Mitch. Matt Drum, Nathan Marsico and BJ Bohner completed the top five.


Sprint Cars -- 27 Entries

25-Lap A-Main: 1) 115 Brian Powell 2) 12 Blane Heimbach 3) 2 Jason Shultz 4) 99 Kyle Bachman 5) 11 Dave Neuman 6) 11T TJ Stutts 7) 3 Dave Calaman 8) 4B Jake Raudabaugh 9) 21 Duane Mausteller 10) 8C Troy Long 11) 80R Dan Richcreek 12) 1A Cale Reigle 13) 71 Charlie Anderson 14) L70 Larry Kelleher 15) 7J Justin Zimmerman 16) 22 Mark Plummer 17) 6F Bill Fannasy 18) 49 Bobby Howard 19) 6 Jim Nace 20) 28F Davie Franek 21) 81X Steve Gettle 22) 81 Bob Beidleman 23) 34 Dar Shoener 24) DNS 10 Jeff Furlong 1st alternate

Heat Winners: Charlie Anderson, Troy Long, Jim Nace
Consolation Winner: Justin Zimmerman

Late Models -- 20 Entries

25-Lap A-Main: 1) 45 Eric Hons 2) 98 Bobby Croop 3) 33 Chris Wilkinson 4) 2J Jeff Rine 5) 32 Jeff Smith 6) 16 Brian Cochran 7) 4S Dave Shulski 8) 8 Dave Reed 9) 8H Glen Heddings 10) 5 Jeremy Ohl 11) 1S Harold Schick 12) 1M Scott Dorman 13) 90 Kyle Rhoads 14) 29 Dick Houtz 15) 77 Todd Kiger 16) 6B Blane Heimbach 17) 88 Tony Adams 18) 7 Nate Kerstetter 19) 6 Donnie Schick 20) 6M Harry Miller Heat Winners: Tony Adams, Jeff Rine, Brian Cochran Pro Stocks -- 22 Entries 15-Lap A-Main: 1) 77 Nate Kerstetter 2) 115 Troy Miller 3) 11 Jake Buck 4) 26 AJ Stroup 5) 99 Peanut Heintzelman 6) 38 Rob Baker 7) 8 Brad Trump 8) 10 Gerald Kratzer 9) 6 Dan Jensen 10) 54 Sammy Troup 11) 14 Bill Conrad 12) 711 Jim Jurasich 13) 4 Jim Payne 14) M1 Mark Benson 15) 06 Dave Newcomer 16) 44 Chris Berry 17) 21 AJ Hoffman 18) 70 Matt Johnson 19) 1 Bryan Bowersox 20) 74 Mark Aucker (DNS) 21) 21J Jason Bowersox (DNS) 22) 111 Daryl Naiman (DNS)

Heat Winners: Matt Johnson, Nate Kerstetter, AJ Stroup

Roadrunners -- 17 Entries

15-Lap A-Main: 1) 11 Keith Bissinger 2) 10M Brad Mitch 3) 48 Matt Drum 4) 1M Nathan Marsico 5) 24 BJ Bohner 6) 88 Brett Schadel 7) 010 Matt Keister 8) 43 Doug Minium 9) 11T Tom Wise 10) 10 Gary Kerstetter 11) 8 Lonnie Hile 12) 3 Tom Brunson 13) 5 Will Mitch 14) 111 Jim Naiman 15) 23 Jim Somers 16) 41D Dennis Conrad 17) 00 Cory Long (DNS)


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint , Stock car
Drivers Matthew Johnson , Mark Plummer , Jeff Smith