Selinsgrove results 2004-08-07

SELINSGROVE, Pa. - Blane Heimbach of Selinsgrove drove to a convincing win in the 30-lap 358-360 sprint car challenge event Saturday night at Selinsgrove Speedway. Heimbach's second win of the season at the track was worth $2,004. The win also...

SELINSGROVE, Pa. - Blane Heimbach of Selinsgrove drove to a convincing win in the 30-lap 358-360 sprint car challenge event Saturday night at Selinsgrove Speedway. Heimbach's second win of the season at the track was worth $2,004.

The win also marked the seventh of Heimbach's career at the Snyder County oval at the wheel of the Creasy Signs No. 12.

Rookie Al Shawver, Jr. of Hampstead, MD, who returned following two month's absence due to motor woes, won his first career late model race in the division's 25-lap main event.

Bill Glass of Middleburg made it two wins in a row in the 15-lap pro stock feature, while Brad Mitch of McClure won his fifth event of the season in the 12-lap roadrunner race.

Selinsgrove Speedway returns to racing action on Saturday, August 14 with a program of sprint cars, late models, pro stocks and roadrunners at 7 p.m. Gates open at 5 p.m.

A three-car tangle on the backstretch occurred on the first lap of the sprint car feature. When the race resumed, polesitter Mark Freeland checked out from the field with second-place starter Gary Gollub racing second.

Blane Heimbach, who started 12th, stormed into the top five by lap three. On the 14th circuit, Heimbach powered by Gollub for second and began to reel in Freeland. The race was slowed again on lap 17 when Rick Hench's racer developed mechanical problems.

On the lap 18 restart, Dave Calaman drifted into the first turn guardrail and flipped over several times. Calaman escaped injury.

Freeland held the field at bay on the restart while seventh-place starter Adrian Shaffer charged into fourth. Then Richie Carnathan brought out the caution flag on lap 22 when his car made a hard impact with the fourth turn wall.

Freeland and Heimbach dueled for the lead on the restart. On the 25th lap, Heimbach made an inside pass by Freeland entering turn one. Heimbach then held a comfortable lead over Freeland and Shaffer. The race was stopped again on lap 26 when Brian Nornhold took a violent flip on the frontstretch. Nornhold escaped injury.

When the race resumed, Heimbach stormed to the victory by 1.43 seconds over Freeland, Shaffer, Nate Snyder and Gollub.

Second-place starter Al Shawver, Jr. powered into the lead at the start of the late model feature. Shawver was chased by fourth-place starter Chris Wilkinson for the first ten laps before sixth-place starter Jeff Smith stormed into second.

Point leader Jeff Rine withdrew from the race on lap ten, when he and Harrold Schick brought out the caution flag. On the restart, Shawver continued to lead the way while being pressured by Smith and eighth-place starter Eric Hons.

At the finish, Shawver was victorious by 1.21 seconds over Smith. Tenth-place starter Donnie Schick advanced to third at the finish, with Tony Adams and Hons completing the top five.

Polesitter AJ Hoffman led the first seven laps of the pro stock feature until he difted out of the groove and allowed seventh-place starter Matt Johnson to take command of the field. Johnson held off Glass until the 11th circuit, when Glass made an inside pass for the lead in turn four.

For the final laps, Glass maintained a comfortable lead and posted the win over Matt Johnson. Jake Buck, Troy Miller and Gerald Kratzer completed the top five.

Second-place starter Matt Keister led the first two laps of the roadrunner feature. Gary Kerstetter, who started third, led laps three through seven. The final laps were led by sixth-place starter Brad Mitch, who posted the win over Jim Somers (later penalized for not reporting to the scales), Keith Bissinger, Doug Minium and Gary Kerstetter.


Sprint Cars - 36 Entries
30-Lap 358-360 A-Main: 1) 12 Blane Heimbach $2,004 2) 4R Mark Freeland 3) 4B Adrian Shaffer 4) 56 Nate Snyder 5) 6G Gary Gollub 6) 2 Jason Shultz 7) 6 Jim Nace 8) L70 Larry Kelleher 9) 28F Davie Franek 10) 81 Bob Beidleman 11) 13JR Kyle Purks 12) 71 Charlie Anderson 13) 99 Kyle Bachman 14) 55 Brian Eichelberger 15) 1N Brian Nornhold 16) 13X Cliff Brian 17) 64 Richie Carnathan 18) 3 Dave Calaman 19) 20 Rick Hench 20) 7J Justin Zimmerman 21) 16 Bill Brian 22) 45 Kevin Nagy 23) 66 Nate Hammaker 24) 10 Jeff Furlong

Heat Winners: Blane Heimbach, Nate Snyder, Cliff Brian, Charlie Anderson
B-Main: Jason Shultz (NTR 10 Laps: 3:07.81)

Late Models - 23 Entries
25-Lap A-Main: 1) 215 Al Shawver, Jr. 2) 32 Jeff Smith 3) 6 Donnie Schick 4) 88 Tony Adams 5) 45 Eric Hons 6) 16 Brian Cochran 7) 33 Chris Wilkinson 8) 92 Randall Paxton 9) 8H Glen Heddings 10) 10 Gene Wrightstone 11) 1M Scott Dorman 12) 7 Nate Kerstetter 13) 8 Dave Reed 14) 7B Travis Ayres 15) 18 Len Stroud 16) 90 Kyle Rhoads 17) 1S Harold Schick 18) 4S Dave Shulski 19) 2J Jeff Rine 20) 71 Bill Sube 21) 31 Tony Reggie 22) 17 Erick Metzger 23) 29 Dick Houtz

Heat Winners: Donnie Schick, Al Shawver, Jr., Jeff Smith

Pro Stocks - 25 Entries
15-Lap A-Main: 1) 70G Bill Glass 2) 70 Matt Johnson 3) 11 Jake Buck 4) 115 Troy Miller 5) 10 Gerald Kratzer 6) 99 Peanut Heintzelman 7) 14 Bill Conrad 8) 74 Mark Aucker 9) 38 Rob Baker 10) M1 Mark Benson 11) 18 Roger Stoneroad 12) 711 Jim Jurasich 13) 77 Nate Kerstetter 14) 54 Sammy Troup 15) 8 Brad Trump 16) 21 AJ Hoffman 17) 26 AJ Stroup 18) 15 Don Scheib 19) 6 Dan Jensen 20) 21J Jason Bowersox 21) 06 Dave Newcomer 22) 1M Brian Maurer 23) 111 Daryl Naiman 24) 17 Bryan Bowersox

Heat Winners: Mark Benson, Bill Glass, Peanut Heintzelman

Roadrunners - 13 Entries
12-Lap A-Main: 1) 10M Brad Mitch 2) 11 Keith Bissinger 3) 43 Doug Minium 4) 10 Gary Kerstetter 5) 41D Dennis Conrad 6) 1 Nathan Marsci 7) 5 Will Mitch 8) 8 Lonnie Hile 9) 23 Jim Somers (penalized) 10) 28 Jason Zook 11) 3 Tom Brunson 12) 010 Matt Keister 13) 00 Cory Long


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint , Stock car
Drivers Matthew Johnson , Jeff Smith